What do you think?

This post has been edited by guest54321: May 26 2025, 05:03 PM
guest54321
post May 26 2025, 05:11 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 26 2025, 05:09 PM)
No lah.

In Shopee I see ori SAnden compressor 1k but the OEM compressor is only around 350 average. So, whether TS got ori or OEM, then I don't know. If the workshop say ori then has to take it as ori, unless want to cheat customer. I believe the workshop normally honest one.

Baik sangka  smile.gif
Did you see the invoice or not? It is written there CHINA
guest54321
post May 26 2025, 05:50 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ May 26 2025, 05:15 PM)
Iq level kesian
QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 26 2025, 05:36 PM)
if shopee sell sanden for 900++ thn shops are gonna priced it at around RM1.5-1.6k

same as what i encounter
because you're not getting JUST the compressor bro
Isn't it illegal to combine part and labor cost into one? Especially with E invoicing now?

If you go to a SC surely you will see them itemized

This post has been edited by guest54321: May 26 2025, 05:51 PM
guest54321
post May 27 2025, 04:04 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(conan1 @ May 27 2025, 03:56 PM)
just food for thought
system ac if already black'd, need to change whole system.
need, must, need, must.

otherwise, it will be never ending story. even full flushing wont guarentee it.
Yes. flushing is another big scam because you literally can't flush metal gunk out of those tiny, brittle fins and tubes in the coils. in the course of flushing, you are just clogging or making the coils leak instead. This is also why you go service AC, they never dare to give you any warranty. Money suckers.

That's why people would rather spend 2k just replace the whole system rather than do double triple work.

guest54321
post May 27 2025, 09:47 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(novblaze @ May 27 2025, 05:15 PM)
replace whole system 2k can get meh?
compressor already 900
conddnsor lagi
cooling coil lagi
pipes Lagi
gas lagi
Oklah standby 3-4k. Different cars different pricing. Most expensive is the compressor. The rest you can agak agak around 300 per item.
guest54321
post May 27 2025, 10:38 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ May 27 2025, 10:15 PM)
Actual cooling coil is the most expensive when you factor in the labor. Some cars to dismantle the dashboard is a nightmare
My estimation is assuming labor to be separated from parts. hence, 3-4k.

This post has been edited by guest54321: May 27 2025, 10:38 PM
guest54321
post May 28 2025, 10:20 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ May 28 2025, 08:36 AM)
Most car aircond I have seen have a pressure switch to to cut the compressor if refrigerant aka gas pressure is too low aka no gas/leaking.

But some smarty pants due to no bajet or just plain ignorant chose to temporarily bypass the pressure switch coz thinking still can pakai ma.... aircond shops welcome these people with warm hands

Also about the dissing of aircond flush technique in this forum. No wonder Msia cannot move ahead. It is supposedly a preventive maintenance, to change out the PAG according to maintenance schedule. But as with things here, the tech/shop fook it up by not having correct system (gas quatity and quality, PAG type) spec. Also with every flush, you're supposed to change out the filter/drier module as it would have accumulated enough dirts/moisture etc to warrant a change.

I have kept my aircond systems in 3 of my cars in excess of 400k km without a compressor change by doing aircond system flush through the years.
Like most preventive maintenance routines, the idea behind AC flushing is sound in theory. However, in practice, it's often done with equipment that hasn’t been properly maintained. If the flushing machine is contaminated, it can introduce debris into an otherwise clean system—doing more harm than good. This is why some people would rather not take the risk. You never know how often workshops maintain their equipment.

Also, if the system is already dirty, that’s a red flag. The A/C system is sealed, so contamination usually points to a deeper issue, such as compressor failure. It's worth considering: you don’t routinely change the oil in your refrigerator or home air conditioner, because those systems remain sealed and clean under normal conditions.

guest54321
post May 29 2025, 10:03 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(novblaze @ May 28 2025, 06:30 PM)
Can you teach me how should I do the flush? How frequent? What need to do? How I tell the mechanic?
Ask yourself this question. Your fridge at home has been on since day 1 and the compressor keeps working until the end of time but why no company is telling you to service it by flushing the oil?
guest54321
post May 29 2025, 04:50 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ May 29 2025, 02:05 PM)
theres a few differences btw car ac and fridge/house aircon

the car ones use o-rings for all the joints, while fridge and house aircond copper pipe are soldered together. so while both are supposedly sealed systems, the car one is less sealed and will leak gas/oil slowly over time. most important is that the o-rings harden and age with time so this is a bigger problem with old cars.

also the conditions a car compressor runs in are far harsher than a house fridge or aircon, sitting inside a hot engine bay and been exposed to road conditions.

how does PAG oil flush help with this? not very sure, but perhaps car compressor oil breakdown faster than household fridge. most important is I guess when you bring to do a system flush the machines also does a full vacuum, recharge and topup of your system oil and thats what really helps keeping the compressor in shape.
Leaking and topping up gas isn’t a big issue. But like I mentioned earlier. if there’s a leak, you’ll already notice a drop in A/C performance. That’s the time to replace the O-rings or affected parts and not get sidetracked doing unnecessary flushes. This is exactly why some people complain their A/C stops being cold again just a few months after servicing because the root cause (like a leaking seal) wasn’t fixed.

Yes, car A/C systems operate in harsher conditions, but let’s not forget: your fridge compressor runs 24/7, non-stop. Most cars are driven just an hour or two a day. My old fridge is over 15 years old and still working fine.

In the end, as long as the system is sealed and properly maintained, the PAG oil inside can easily outlast the car. The so-called "oil degradation" usually only happens because the compressor is already wearing out due to age or high mileage — not because the oil randomly breaks down.

guest54321
post May 29 2025, 05:03 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ May 29 2025, 02:12 PM)
so dont do flushing? but should we change the compressor oil?
if you ask me, if ac still cold, no funny humming noises just leave it alone. But always good to check for leaks in the system.

flushing or changing compressor oil requires the machine and sometimes on a busy weekend i see a long queue of cars going through the same machine. Do i want that machine to go anywhere near my ac system? Probably not.

This post has been edited by guest54321: May 29 2025, 05:16 PM
guest54321
post May 29 2025, 07:33 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ May 29 2025, 02:12 PM)
Normal wear and tear kot? Mine also leaked around that mileage.
Probably hit a stone while driving. Condenser fins are very very thin and fragile.

That's why old honest mechanic always say ac no issue dont kacau. Because in this case, you will need to open up the AC system to replace the condenser, then you need to do a compulsory round of flush/vacuum/recharge. Then you realized all that money you spent for flushing before is pointless.
guest54321
post May 29 2025, 08:27 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(6942nole @ May 29 2025, 08:19 PM)
need to attend to abnormal noise from magnetic clutch.
if it is slipping, it will overheated and spoil the compressor shaft seal and caused leaking.

car ac problem always starts with leaking + poor workmanship.

if lines is containminated with black powder from compressor, flushing the whole system before fitting with new compressor is necesssary.

flushing also make sure oil is correctly metered.
my compressor no clutch one. if there's any noise, i guess a new compressor replacement.

yes, once system is opened need to do all that.

0.0166sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:04 PM