The MEX mess

aurora97
post May 26 2025, 03:08 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

raised 1.3b and left around 22 mil. This one, someone inside kuat makan, think can complete the highway with 22 mil left. Children the lesson here is simple, you can curi but make sure project complete.
aurora97
post May 26 2025, 04:04 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ May 26 2025, 03:29 PM)
so how now? The raise fund from selling of bond?
now bankrupt liao.... how to pay the coupon and the bond ? GG la

govement backed ? then means tax payer are footing this bill loh.
PLUS wanted to takeover but told the bondholders, you guys take a 50% haircut. Bondholder told PLUS to FK off, we rather go broke. PLUS said okay, over to you GOMEN.

GOMEN said oh shyet, ball back in my court. I dont think the GOMEN is keen on footing the bill but most likely will give a longer concession to whoever willing to pick up the tab.

My best guess is, i think they will go after the trustee of the bond or maybe the lead arranger CImb Investment bank?? (not sure if they can), assuming they didn't check properly and release payment to MEX 2 without verifying? sure they will go after the one with money.
aurora97
post May 26 2025, 04:12 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(Silfer @ May 26 2025, 04:08 PM)
yeah.. some ppl dont get the memo. mau makan also cerdik sikit lah. this makan until terang like this also bodo one kind.
You always have one or two greedy ones lar. The smart one makan sikit sikit, lama menjadi bukit than you have the ones that cant wait, satu kali RM 40b, apa nama that fella jibai or something?

The old days people want to songlap, they set up a lot of ghost company, proxy, nominee, so many layer, you dont even know who is in control, but of coz have to pay the middle man but nowadays young ppl impatient, dah jadi PM, want to be Finance Minister and chairman of the entity.

So you see mentality very different.
aurora97
post May 26 2025, 04:34 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ May 26 2025, 04:22 PM)
bondholders won't take the hair cut, problem now the MEX 2 is not bankruptcy status and hanging there. Only government can step in and solve the issue.

Ini Maju Holding boss Abu Sahid dulu lagi mau take over PLUS during year 2019, sendiri punya MEX also run like shit.
My viewlar, GOMEN should compulsorily acquire MEX and confiscate personal property/asset/cash to compensate MEX2 Bondholders, its attributed by the mismanagement in the company that this shit is stinking up the entire KL.

After that the difference, will be absorb by the white knight with some haircut if needed but not 50%lar, come on... rclxub.gif

Yalar, all this Alibaba talk cock and blow air only, their strategy no different from PE company actually. Go in the company and strip the company all of its assets and run it to the group. Classic case of American Red Lobster chain, business not doing well, PE company come in. Most of their property they buy, so what happen is the PE company make Red Lobster to sell all their property to PE company on a "sale-leaseback" arrangement. The rental alone to the PE company is nuts. In the end they ran it to the ground.
aurora97
post May 26 2025, 04:36 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ May 26 2025, 04:34 PM)
means purchase 100, get back Rm 50?

damn...we thought bond is secure. couldnt be more wrong.
the coupon rate is probably 2-3 % higher than FD. not worth the risk man
50% haircut was just example, cause the Edge article said more than 50%... so you are on point but it could be purchase 100 and get back RM 20. sweat.gif Somehow people say bonds are safe but after MEX2 and Credit Suisee, I probably would risk it with stocks.

"The abandoned MEX II project had been on the government’s radar for more than a year. Several existing toll road concessionaires were approached to assess the incomplete project, with PLUS Malaysia Bhd believed to be among them. Sources indicate that PLUS was willing to take over MEX II, but only if bondholders agreed to a significant haircut.

“The offer on the table required bondholders to take a haircut of more than 50%. This did not go down well with the bondholders,” says a bondholder. “They felt that taking a ‘haircut’ on their debts would not solve the problems as long as there was no change in the people responsible for completing the highway. The bondholders turned the pressure on R&M to come up with a solution.”

Source:https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/754944
aurora97
post May 26 2025, 05:02 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ May 26 2025, 04:53 PM)
Bond is just priority creditor if company in distress/bankruptcy. But this time i'm surprise the bondholder didn't drag in Maju Holding boss as guarantor since it is not listed company.
Macam different entity from what i've read on the edge

MEX - Under MEX Sdn Bhd
MEX 2 - Under MEX 2 Sdn Bhd

Unless the bondholder who lend money for MEX 2 request for guarantor using MEX Sdn Bhd, then they can confiscate MEX to recover.

Most likely Amanat Lebuhraya Rakyat (ALR) will take over this MEX and MEX 2, issue bond using government as guarantor, finish up the highway, clean up the mess and give a longer concessionaire to recoup the losses.
Agree with you, is different entity that issued the bonds.

What I am saying is extreme circumstance, if they decide to lift the corporate veil, it all leads back to one person. Millions disappeared, you mean us a the major shareholder and chairman, he has no idea what is happening in his own company, then i am a bit worried.

Either way MEX 2 is royally fcked. Now one is going to touch this toxic shet and it will remain idle. I don't think the GOMEN is in a hurry to revive it as well.
aurora97
post May 26 2025, 05:28 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ May 26 2025, 05:27 PM)
wait MACC investigate and recoup all the loses because of songlap, this will take at least few year. A bit same like 1MDB case.
Sad but true.

0.0173sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:58 PM