How long does LHDN audit documents?

TSAvangelice
post May 26 2025, 01:00 PM, updated 7 months ago

5,272 posts

Last week received love letter from LHDN asking proof for tax relief claims which I have all the back ups for. Only mistake I made was my sspn where i opened the account under my own name and not my kid. Was honest in my email saying I made that mistake in that year and will pay the penalty.

How long does LHDN get back after an audit as I have a Japan trip coming in two months time. Don't want later they didn't contact me but I kena sekat pulak
haturaya
post May 26 2025, 01:27 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 26 2025, 01:00 PM)
Last week received love letter from LHDN asking proof for tax relief claims which I have all the back ups for. Only mistake I made was my sspn where i opened the account under my own name and not my kid. Was honest in my email saying I made that mistake in that year and will pay the penalty.

How long does LHDN get back after an audit as I have a Japan trip coming in two months time. Don't want later they didn't contact me but I kena sekat pulak
I was audited early this year. If the documents in order and they are satisfied with it, it won't be long. Less than a week already received the 'case closed' letter from them.

Good luck thumbsup.gif
TSAvangelice
post May 26 2025, 01:41 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ May 26 2025, 01:27 PM)
I was audited early this year. If the documents in order and they are satisfied with it, it won't be long. Less than a week already received the 'case closed' letter from them.

Good luck  :thumbsup:
Thank you. Lucky I didn't kuat apply all tax relief and had all the back ups
haturaya
post May 26 2025, 01:42 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 26 2025, 01:41 PM)
Should be okay then. Just 'entertain' all their requirements. You'll be off hook in no time. biggrin.gif
killdavid
post May 26 2025, 01:43 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 26 2025, 01:41 PM)
How far back do they ask for receipts ?
Current year claim or many years back ?
JohnL77
post May 26 2025, 01:47 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(killdavid @ May 26 2025, 01:43 PM)
His first time kena audit, bro. You should ask haturaya.
God Grid
post May 26 2025, 01:48 PM

35 posts

LHDN will only audit up to 7 years before right?

like now 2025, they can only audit year 2018 the oldest? is it like that?
poweredbydiscuz
post May 26 2025, 01:49 PM

3,835 posts

Remember to do blacklist status checking on immigration website before departure.
JasonthegreatTWO
post May 26 2025, 01:50 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ May 26 2025, 01:49 PM)
Remember to do blacklist status checking on immigration website before departure.
So long back dated meh? i see in LHDN website under my acc, they say done audit for 2023. Though i never submitted any doc
DarkAeon
post May 26 2025, 01:52 PM

774 posts

they audit by year. so if u kena for a particular year they will ask u the receipt for that year

generally they can go as far as 7 years back, so u shud keep all your receipts in digital form as far as 7 years

This post has been edited by DarkAeon: May 26 2025, 01:52 PM
anakkk
post May 26 2025, 01:52 PM

2,115 posts

last time I kena, less than 1 hour, depends on how many years they want to check.
DarkAeon
post May 26 2025, 01:53 PM

774 posts

QUOTE(JasonthegreatTWO @ May 26 2025, 01:50 PM)
So long back dated meh? i see in LHDN website under my acc, they say done audit for 2023. Though i never submitted any doc
not all audit involves contacting u. if they don't need u to prove claims then they no contact u. if they do they will ask u to submit
TSAvangelice
post May 26 2025, 01:55 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ May 26 2025, 01:52 PM)
they audit by year. so if u kena for a particular year they will ask u the receipt for that year

generally they can go as far as 7 years back, so u shud keep all your receipts in digital form as far as 7 years
2021, 22 & 23 bros.

All three years they asked
TSAvangelice

5,272 posts

QUOTE(anakkk @ May 26 2025, 01:52 PM)
last time I kena, less than 1 hour, depends on how many years they want to check.
That was fast!
LDP

632 posts

From yr explanation above, sounds like no big deal...just pay the penalty and all is ok..dont think u will get blacklisted unless u refuse to pay....I also think the amount wont be significant...
billylks
post May 26 2025, 01:59 PM

180 posts

My experience those who kena audited will get a flag in the system. For few years they will properly audit your file -- your claim will be approved later than others usually.

So be careful submitting claims coming years.

motion_sickness
post May 26 2025, 02:06 PM

86 posts

just curious how much did u claim until kena love letter

ayam a bit scared now haha my filing all over the place

if they come for me i just pay the penalty too much work to korek all the receipt and stuff
TSAvangelice
post May 26 2025, 02:23 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(motion_sickness @ May 26 2025, 02:06 PM)
just curious how much did u claim until kena love letter

ayam a bit scared now haha my filing all over the place

if they come for me i just pay the penalty too much work to korek all the receipt and stuff
I claim whatever that is "acceptable" and those which receipts are easily found with a log in or in my email

SSPN
EPF
Lifestyle
Insurance life and medical

I bought iPad and phones but didn't even claim it because it's under Zerolution maxis. Heng heng I couldn't find the receipts for the purrchases.

Tldr only claim reliefs if the receipts can be downloaded from a website
anakkk
post May 26 2025, 02:57 PM

2,115 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 26 2025, 01:55 PM)
That was fast!
ya, that time buy house, straighaway kena, other than taking number and wait for my turn, the office check one year only, then the discrepency either pay there or make instalment :X
wong_86
post May 26 2025, 03:02 PM

DUDE
565 posts

really depend how you submit the tax, if your income vs tax relief doesn't make sense to them..sure kena audit one.

so pandai pandai, u apply tax relieft, make sure got proof.
haturaya
post May 26 2025, 03:22 PM

2,554 posts

Depends on them. Up to 7 years prior. In their audit letter, they are very specific on what they want from you.

As for mine, I 'kena' because I keep claiming 3 kids in uni for many years. They specifically asked for my kids uni offer letter and their birth cert. For other claim, they don't touch. thumbup.gif

As for my boss - they asked for his kid's disable status from Kebajikan Masyarakat or something... Can't remember the detail. sweat.gif

So, everybody will face LHDN differently. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by haturaya: May 26 2025, 03:24 PM
TSAvangelice
post May 26 2025, 03:27 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ May 26 2025, 03:22 PM)
Depends on them. Up to 7 years prior. In their audit letter, they are very specific on what they want from you.

As for mine, I 'kena' because I keep claiming 3 kids in uni for many years. They specifically asked for my kids uni offer letter and their birth cert.  For other claim, they don't touch.  thumbup.gif

As for my boss - they asked for his kid's disable status from Kebajikan Masyarakat or something... Can't remember the detail.  sweat.gif

So, everybody will face LHDN differently.  whistling.gif

This is how they asked for my receipts from 23.

haturaya
post May 26 2025, 03:28 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 26 2025, 03:27 PM)

Wah they ask a lot from you. No need to worry if you have all. EZPZ. thumbsup.gif

2023 already they audit... that was recent one. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by haturaya: May 26 2025, 03:29 PM
TSAvangelice
post May 26 2025, 03:29 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ May 26 2025, 03:28 PM)
Wah they ask a lot from you. No need to worry if you have all. EZPZ.  :thumbsup:
Yeah only problem was 21. Others all got back up
lj0000
post May 26 2025, 03:31 PM

2,204 posts

7 years
haturaya
post May 26 2025, 03:31 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 26 2025, 03:29 PM)
Yeah only problem was 21. Others all got back up
Give what you have first... can always ask for extension if needed. thumbsup.gif
TSAvangelice
post May 26 2025, 03:32 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ May 26 2025, 03:31 PM)
Give what you have first... can always ask for extension if needed.  :thumbsup:
Nah. Memang Salah already. Sspn I put under my own name instead of my son. Stupid noob mistake that I found out when sspn contacted me
COOLPINK
post May 26 2025, 03:32 PM

3,665 posts

I saw that i got audited in 2014 at LHDN webpage when i logged in.
Back then they didnt cal me up though.....
em_on
post May 26 2025, 03:41 PM

On My Way
612 posts

I wonder what is the common criteria that trigger the audit?
claim too much/too frequent on uncommon/special relief?
or, randomly pick to ensure compliance though the latter part might not be the case
TSAvangelice
post May 26 2025, 03:43 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(em_on @ May 26 2025, 03:41 PM)
or, randomly pick to ensure compliance though the latter part might not be the case
I know mine is my son for sure. My tax had a suddenly drop when I had him.
haturaya
post May 26 2025, 03:44 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 26 2025, 03:32 PM)
Nah. Memang Salah already. Sspn I put under my own name instead of my son. Stupid noob mistake that I found out when sspn contacted me
Admit the mistake and hopefully they don't recalculate your tax return.
fantasy1989
post May 26 2025, 03:47 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(em_on @ May 26 2025, 03:41 PM)
mine last time kena audit because i claim postgrad

which i really study

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: May 26 2025, 03:47 PM
poweredbydiscuz
post May 26 2025, 03:53 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 26 2025, 03:27 PM)

Hmm for no.2, what if the doctor didn't issue any surat pengesahan? Only have the official receipts.

This post has been edited by poweredbydiscuz: May 26 2025, 03:53 PM
em_on
post May 26 2025, 03:54 PM

On My Way
612 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ May 26 2025, 03:53 PM)
Hmm for no.2, what if the doctor didn't issue any surat pengesahan? Only have the official receipts.
go back to the same dr and seek his/her help or cooperation to issue for the sake of lhdn
TSAvangelice
post May 26 2025, 03:56 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ May 26 2025, 03:53 PM)
QUOTE(em_on @ May 26 2025, 03:54 PM)
go back to the same dr and seek his/her help or cooperation to issue for the sake of lhdn
I used my wife's histology report from subang medical Centre. With detailed report on the nature of her cancer. Lucky I didn't crazy claim max 10k but only 1k.

I'll report in if lhdn didn't accept the histology report
Schumacher
post May 26 2025, 04:02 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ May 26 2025, 03:02 PM)
really depend how you submit the tax, if your income vs tax relief doesn't make sense to them..sure kena audit one.

so pandai pandai, u apply tax relieft, make sure got proof.
Mind explain what mean not make sense? U mean if relief too high or what?
TSAvangelice
post May 26 2025, 04:04 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Schumacher @ May 26 2025, 04:02 PM)
Mind explain what mean not make sense? U mean if relief too high or what?
Meaning one year you make say 60k.

But your tax relief you max everything.

Lhdn will be asking how the hell this guy can afford max sspn, max life insurance, max epf, max medical insurance, max parents bill, max kindi bills. On top of changing phone every year?

Sure kena flag

em_on
post May 26 2025, 04:13 PM

On My Way
612 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 26 2025, 04:04 PM)
Meaning one year you make say 60k.

But your tax relief you max everything.

Lhdn will be asking how the hell this guy can afford max sspn, max life insurance, max epf, max medical insurance, max parents bill, max kindi bills. On top of changing phone every year?

Sure kena flag
example, you go to claim max tadika's fee whatnots
TSAvangelice
post May 26 2025, 04:20 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(em_on @ May 26 2025, 04:13 PM)
example, you go to claim max tadika's fee whatnots
Tadika max 3k nia.

My son one month fee 750. Can't even cover more than 4 months.
em_on
post May 26 2025, 04:26 PM

On My Way
612 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ May 26 2025, 04:20 PM)
Tadika max 3k nia.

My son one month fee 750. Can't even cover more than 4 months.
typo: i meant claim tadika every year (exmple)
TSAvangelice
post Jun 9 2025, 01:24 PM

5,272 posts

Update been three weeks still no sound from lhdn. Check mytax, doesn't show any update
netflix2019
post Jun 9 2025, 01:39 PM

416 posts

mine after 1 year.

But i received the letter during MCO. no office, only correspond through emails.

I gave them all documents then after 1 year only receive physical letter stating how much i need to pay.
zhou.xingxing
post Jun 9 2025, 01:41 PM

:3
1,863 posts

QUOTE(God Grid @ May 26 2025, 01:48 PM)
LHDN will only audit up to 7 years before right?

like now 2025, they can only audit year 2018 the oldest? is it like that?
5. anything is timebarred. unless u in grey industry and tax evasion suspect then no time bar applciable
TSAvangelice
post Jun 9 2025, 01:46 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Jun 9 2025, 01:39 PM)
mine after 1 year.

But i received the letter during MCO. no office, only correspond through emails.

I gave them all documents then after 1 year only receive physical letter stating how much i need to pay.
Damn. I hate having this feeling of waiting eventhough I did right except made a mistake with the 2021 sspn relief. It's a me problem.
SourLemons
post Jun 9 2025, 01:48 PM

223 posts

aint honest if u admit after they start auditing u

0.0196sec    0.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:44 PM