Anyone else getting charity request via Whatsapp?

9m2w
post May 26 2025, 12:45 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(rassel @ May 26 2025, 12:24 PM)
**Ops, this should be in "Serious /K section**

I was contacted by a charity foundation based in Selangor via WhatsApp asking for donations. I did some basic checks, looked them up online, confirmed they had a physical location, and that their bank account matched the organization’s name. Everything seemed legit, so I started donating monthly on and off.

I paused donations for a month or two due to personal finances, but they continued sending me monthly updates with the “amount needed” for their upcoming expenses. I didn’t always pay close attention to those messages.

Then, out of nowhere, another charity foundation from Johor contacted me via WhatsApp asking for donations. I didn't question much at this point and started donating to both (Selangor and Johor). After a few months, I stopped again for financial reasons. But they kept messaging me on and off about their usual expenses, which I didnt response to it.

Again, yet another charity from Selangor reached out. This one called me and followed up with WhatsApp messages.

Now I’m starting to wonder:

- How did the first charity get my contact in the first place?
- How did my number end up being passed around to other charity foundations even as far as Johor?
-Is there some kind of contact-sharing going on behind the scenes?

Has anyone else experienced something similar? Did your contact info get passed between different foundations?

Would like to know if this is a common thing or if I’ve somehow been flagged on some charity donor list.

Please don’t respond with stuff like: “Just block them” / “Don’t donate if you don’t want to” / “If it’s from the heart, it doesn’t matter.”

I’m not asking whether I should donate. I’m asking if others have had this kind of chain of unsolicited requests and what your take on it is.

Thanks in advance.
Yeah i kena. Donated to one a few more come

I believe they pass the numbers among each other. I've gotten Penang/Perak and Selangor ones. Thus far nothing down south lar

And also i can share something of what i found out. Hopefully it will help you with whatever decision you choose to take when solicited down the line

I got suspicious with some when they use the same script and the same empty fridge pictures to solicit donations. Usually end of the month come pay day. And they almost always never update the actual condition of the ppl living in such homes. My wife donates to an orphanage through an actual alumni of the place. She always updates the status of their kids, school progress, vaccination and those who have graduated and will be leaving as they enter the work force. Those i get never do that. Always how tough it is and how they wont survive next month without yor help

So one day i decided to visit one of these homes in PJ. It was for disabled folk. I spoke to the care taker and shared the picture and contact of the person who solicited on her behalf. I asked if he was a volunteer. She doesnt even recognise him but she says hes probably from those organisations that solicit on their behalf.

Basically there are groups that solicit on behalf of such homes and they take a cut of up to 30%. Basically they will reconcile donations from their channel at the end of the month and take their cut. The reference will be receipts issued through them. If you notice some of these guys if you ask if they can mail the receipts to your home they find all sorts of excused not to? They rather scan an online copy for you. They dont want you to go direct to the homes or the homes to approach you personally

Anyway after that i just blocked all the fellas and donated direct to the home and pass the details to the actual caretaker.

9m2w
post May 26 2025, 12:48 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(quebix @ May 26 2025, 12:39 PM)
this doesnt make them legit.
A home with the ROS registration, proper not personal bank account and a premise is more or less ok la

The issue is if there is a grifters/middleman acting as an in between taking a cut

Cut those fellas out. No better than panhandlers

0.0130sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:18 AM