Only 1 Country Globally Is Self Food Sufficient, Malaysia Is Among Lowest Ranked

SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 24 2025, 11:31 PM, updated 7 months ago

1,030 posts

Only One Country In The World Produces All the Food Its Population Needs, Study Finds
-The others are vulnerable to the effects of war, natural disasters and trade disputes on their food supply

https://www.sciencefocus.com/news/only-one-...self-sufficient

Out of 186 countries, only Guyana produces enough food to self-sufficiently feed all its citizens without foreign imports, according to new research.

The study, published in Nature Food, investigated how well each country could feed their populations in seven food groups: fruits, vegetables, dairy, fish, meat, plant-based protein and starchy staples.

Worldwide, the study found that 65 per cent of countries were overproducing meat and dairy, compared to their own population’s dietary needs.

It also found that Guyana, located in South America, was the only country that could boast total self-sufficiency, while China and Vietnam were close behind, being able to produced enough food in six out of seven food groups.

Just one in seven of the tested countries were judged self-sufficient in five or more categories.

At the same time, there was a global shortfall in nutrient-dense plants, with less than half of countries involved in the study producing enough plant-based protein – such as beans, chickpeas, lentils, nuts and seeds – or starchy carbs, and only 24 per cent growing enough vegetables.

Europe and South America were generally closer to being self-sufficient than other countries. But small island states, countries on the Arabian Peninsula and low-income countries were more likely to rely on foreign imports for food.

And six countries – Afghanistan, United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Macao, Qatar and Yemen – did not produce enough of any food group to be considered self-sufficient in that category.

“Low self-sufficiency is not inherently bad,” Dr Jonas Stehl – researcher at Göttingen and first author of the study – told BBC Science Focus. “There are valid and often beneficial reasons why a country may not produce the majority of the food it needs.”

For instance, a country might not have enough rain, good-quality soil or stable temperatures to grow enough food for its population.

Stehl said it could be cost-effective, too, to import food from regions better suited to producing it.

“However, low levels of self-sufficiency can reduce a country’s capability to respond to sudden global food supply shocks such as droughts, wars or export bans,” he said.

To find this out, a team at the University of Göttingen, Germany and the University of Edinburgh, UK measured how much food each country produced.

Then they compared this to what was needed to meet their citizens’ nutritional requirements, according to the World Wildlife Fund’s Livewell diet.

The Livewell diet describes itself as “a flexible diet that involves rebalancing our protein consumption toward plants, eating more vegetables, pulses and wholegrains, and fewer foods high in fat, salt and sugar.”

Debates about the advantages of self-sufficiency have risen in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic or the onset of the Russia-Ukraine war – when instability disrupted the reliable supply of food to importing countries.

Stehl added that the “resurgence in interest” in national food self-sufficiency might also reflect broader political shifts, “including growing nationalism and a desire among some to reduce dependence on foreign countries.”

Stehl said: “Building resilient food supply chains is imperative for ensuring public health.”

Top 3: French-Guyana, China and Vietnam

This post has been edited by petpenyubobo: May 24 2025, 11:33 PM
fu'house
post May 24 2025, 11:33 PM

553 posts

We survived harsh years makan ubi and finding food in the forest.

Plus rice rations makan watery bubur nasi kurang.
Hobbez
post May 24 2025, 11:37 PM

1,235 posts

We produce the global supply of top tier Musang King.
fu'house
post May 24 2025, 11:39 PM

553 posts

QUOTE(Hobbez @ May 24 2025, 11:37 PM)
We produce the global supply of top tier Musang King.
Many kena chopped down suda.
PowerSlide
post May 24 2025, 11:40 PM

----------
6,035 posts

Negara kicik senaag urus
Hobbez
post May 24 2025, 11:42 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(fu'house @ May 24 2025, 11:39 PM)
Many kena chopped down suda.
No worries la. Got bigger ones to replace those.

Knnbuccb
post May 24 2025, 11:46 PM

118 posts

i heard last time pipu from tongsan came and planted beansprouts within 5 days already can tuai

i wonder how last time ppl come then got ppl give them beans to grow the beansprout....
SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 24 2025, 11:46 PM

1,030 posts

Australia, China, Vietnam, Russia, Kazakhstan, Brazil, Peru, Argentina, Spain, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan and Oman can survive without needing to import foods from outside their own country.
knwong
post May 24 2025, 11:51 PM

3,562 posts

Singapore?
delphine.88
post May 24 2025, 11:55 PM

143 posts

Self sufficient food is important.
Reduce import and keep food price under control
SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 24 2025, 11:56 PM

1,030 posts

Population also counts as overpopulated countries needs to feed more mouths.

Least sufficient countries by region(Red/Pink):

Europe:
UK, Austria and Switzerland

Asia
Malaysia, Cambodia & Japan

Americas
Cuba, Haiti and Honduras

Middle East
Iraq, Yemen and UAE

SUSpetpenyubobo
post May 25 2025, 12:00 AM

1,030 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ May 24 2025, 11:55 PM)
Most ex-Communist and war torn countries such as Russia, China and Vietnam who experienced famine in the past know the importance of food security for its citizens.

Many of them place food supply as among the top priority of their country's reserves.
JohnL77
post May 25 2025, 12:09 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(fu'house @ May 24 2025, 11:33 PM)
We survived harsh years makan ubi and finding food in the forest.
Plus rice rations makan watery bubur nasi kurang.
So you call that food security?
trusol
post May 25 2025, 01:22 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(delphine.88 @ May 24 2025, 11:55 PM)
We also export a lot of food. What do you think that is? If we can export food, we can also import food.

This post has been edited by trusol: May 25 2025, 01:22 AM
vhs
post May 25 2025, 01:26 AM

90 posts

We never experienced famine so awareness is low.
netmatrix
post May 25 2025, 02:19 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

QUOTE(trusol @ May 25 2025, 01:22 AM)
We also export a lot of food. What do you think that is? If we can export food, we can also import food.
We export processed foods. We do not export unprocessed foods. Palm oil is not food. Fruits does not count as it is seasonal.

Good example is rice. Local rice is not enough if we did not import from Thailand, Vietnam & India. Crazy isn't it?

We even import bananas which is not seasonal. Coconuts isn't suitable to be primary food. And it is also expensive here.

We do have a lot of sugar. And it shows with the high amount of diabetics in the country. Even then it is slowly replaced with synthetic sugar as it is cheaper.

When i was 2" i remember reading we have enough rice, cocoa, rubber and palm oil. Rubber and cocoa is gone. Rice is not enough to be exported anymore. Palm is only for money and not for the people.
Shanks747
post May 25 2025, 02:24 AM

198 posts

malaysia useless thats all....no secret about it
trusol
post May 25 2025, 02:54 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 25 2025, 02:19 AM)
We export processed foods. We do not export unprocessed foods. Palm oil is not food. Fruits does not count as it is seasonal.

Good example is rice. Local rice is not enough if we did not import from Thailand, Vietnam & India. Crazy isn't it?

We even import bananas which is not seasonal. Coconuts isn't suitable to be primary food. And it is also expensive here.

We do have a lot of sugar. And it shows with the high amount of diabetics in the country. Even then it is slowly replaced with synthetic sugar as it is cheaper.

When i was 2" i remember reading we have enough rice, cocoa, rubber and palm oil. Rubber and cocoa is gone. Rice is not enough to be exported anymore. Palm is only for money and not for the people.
PALM OIL IS NOT FOOD!!!!!!! HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! BIGGEST JOKE I HAVE EVER HEARD FOR A VERY LONG TIME.
jibpek
post May 25 2025, 05:12 AM

708 posts

QUOTE(trusol @ May 25 2025, 02:54 AM)
PALM OIL IS NOT FOOD!!!!!!! HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! BIGGEST JOKE I HAVE EVER HEARD FOR A VERY LONG TIME.
Palm oil itself isn’t a staple food, but it is a widely used food ingredient.

You can survive by eating rice alone but can't survive by eating palm oil.
kimochi ii
post May 25 2025, 05:16 AM

19 posts

You are very end of the world apocalyptic type of person

Y2K ish reminds me of your persona

enjoy life its to short anyways

0.0180sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:21 PM