I bought a 120hz HDR monitor less than RM 400

terradrive
post May 24 2025, 09:27 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ May 24 2025, 08:14 AM)
Gaming > 60hz feels so smooth especially racing games.  drool.gif

Key features
120Hz refresh rate
Static contrast ratio 1500:1
HDR Ready
300 nits brightness
99% sRGB color
1x HDMI 2.0 , 1x DP  (1.4a), 1x D-Sub (VGA)

it works on my Mac as well.  brows.gif

https://my-store.msi.com/products/msi-pro-m...ye-care-monitor
exactly the one I'm using now, paid rm359 (pcimage admitted they put wrong price tag and honor me the price)

still waiting my monitor from asus, exactly 1 month liao sent for warranty.
terradrive
post May 24 2025, 12:29 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ May 24 2025, 11:03 AM)
izzit the best bang for buck?  laugh.gif
it is, i'll sell this monitor when i get my monitor back, already have buyer lel
terradrive
post May 24 2025, 12:33 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(T.Alvin @ May 24 2025, 11:27 AM)
once u go more then 120hz screen, anything 60hz feels laggy.
honestly 120hz also feels slow for me, already used to 240hz heh
but 60hz is really really tiring to use lol
terradrive
post May 24 2025, 01:46 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(T.Alvin @ May 24 2025, 01:45 PM)
then u must be suffering watch any movie, they all only 24 FPS haha
watching no need to deal with input lag and they have natural camera motion blur ma
terradrive
post May 24 2025, 03:40 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ May 24 2025, 03:27 PM)
the reason why windows display information show like that is because windows read ur display EDID (Extended Display Identification Data)

vendors can put whatever info into their monitors' EDID and let windows read it. this also means that ur display will be able to receive HDR input. but, ur display cannot, and will never output proper HDR, hence it is not capable of HDR and it's not HDR ready, and it's HDR ready only because vendors like to deceive ppl. this behaves the same as my old LG 27GL850, a HDR400 monitor, but can never output proper HDR.
also seems like ur display's 6-bit+FRC manage to fool windows into thinking it's a 10-bit monitor thru EDID.

anyhow u bought the monitor, regardless if u want to believe it can do HDR or learn that it can't, best just enjoy it since it's a bargain
QUOTE(roarus @ May 24 2025, 03:29 PM)
300 nits

hdr

hahaha
Really need good oled panels to enjoy proper HDR

but high nits is not the issue for cheap HDR monitors, it's the dark area's quality. HDR400 on games already hurts my eyes on some scenes because it's quite bright when the monitor is used inside the house and not outside with direct sunlight... But dark areas still really sux on HDR400 IPS monitors (the contrast ratio)
terradrive
post May 24 2025, 10:18 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ May 24 2025, 04:13 PM)
I feel it's so much brighter... brows.gif
I tried LG hdr sample video, this monitor's bright areas lost quite some detail, the sky doesn't looked like well displayed compared to my asus in my memory, I should try again when i get my asus back
terradrive
post May 25 2025, 08:03 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ May 25 2025, 06:01 AM)
give me the link of the LG hdr sample video.
https://4kmedia.org/lg-new-york-hdr-uhd-4k-demo/

the download link is there, you can go to the homepage of the website for more samples
terradrive
post May 25 2025, 10:05 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ May 25 2025, 08:39 AM)
which scene are u referring to?

I can see the white cloud moving from top right to left at 0.26 secs,  most bright areas are full of detail.  hmm.gif
nevermind, seems like vlc problem the highlights are overblown. Using windows player it looks fine now.
terradrive
post May 25 2025, 01:46 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ May 25 2025, 12:04 PM)
this model -> MSI Pro MP251L E2 does NOT have Display Port.  laugh.gif

u have to look for without "L" version.  brows.gif
yeah, get the one with displayport since that is important to use freesync or gsync. HDMI 2.1 only have support for it and this monitor only has HDMI 2.0 iinm.

0.0158sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:42 AM