All High-End GPUs Mandatory with Location Tracking, US Is Implementing This Silently?

vhs
post May 18 2025, 03:02 PM

90 posts

How is this going to be useful when China has Great Firewall to block all traffic going to the monitoring server? And if the machine is disconnect from the rest of the internet, it is not going to be detected. Any wireless technology can be easily defeated by jamming tech within the building.

Ah I see it now. They will keep a database of all locations of all units. And those units are required to be contactable via internet. When the units do not phone home, then it is a violation from the sites which are supposed to have them already. I guess this will mean if any unit break down or decommissioned will also need to be reported to USA and send back to USA to confirm the decommissioning of such units.

This post has been edited by vhs: May 18 2025, 03:06 PM
vhs
post May 18 2025, 03:06 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ May 18 2025, 03:05 PM)
Encryption and data collection proxy servers within China itself.

TESLA and many other foreign companies have been doing it for their own internal data collection which they call for product improvement purposes.
Ah I see it now. They will keep a database of all locations of all units. And those units are required to be contactable via internet. When the units do not phone home, then it is a violation from the sites which are supposed to have them already. I guess this will mean if any unit break down or decommissioned will also need to be reported to USA and send back to USA to confirm the decommissioning of such units.
vhs
post May 18 2025, 03:35 PM

90 posts

All communication equipment using ip has a MAC address that is unique. So all equipment potentially can already be tracked. Spoofing is the only way to fake it. But if the detection mechanism already keep tracks of known locations and expect the equipment to acknowledge its location from time to time, then spoofing won't work.

On the other hand, by mandating such communication equipment also means the controlling countries can disable the unit at any point of time. So you have to know you are only renting the units in essence and the owner can anytime prevent you from using them at their own discretion. So if you are using it for military and defense purpose, then you know you will have to forever remain allied with the owner nation or don't count on your defense is going to be effective.

This post has been edited by vhs: May 18 2025, 03:36 PM
vhs
post May 18 2025, 03:49 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ May 18 2025, 03:45 PM)
gg so if offline too long cannot play games using your ultra expensive gpu liao wtf
Most likely cannot be implemented on gamer's grade GPU for this reason. But if really the top end of the gamer's GPU are forced to implement such feature, then it is likely very few people will buy it and the company will just end up not making and selling such GPU anymore.

0.0160sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:42 PM