Problematic Tenant

TS6996
post May 15 2025, 07:08 PM, updated 7 months ago

403 posts

Hi all,

I know this topic comes out every now and then, but I would like some advice from home owners or lawyers who have dealt with situations like these before.

Before we actually signed the TA, this tenant promised me that she was a good paymaster and that she is a good person who will take care of the house.

As it was my first time being a landlord, I was naive and took her word for it and even lowered RM100 for the rental payment for her.

Low and behold after being my tenant, all the patterns have finally come out.

Always need to remind and chase for payment on the 7th and always finding faults with the condo and the management.

Other issues:

Just 2 weeks ago, one of her cats caused some problems with the neighbours. (Initially she did tell me that she has a cat and I told her that it's fine with me as long as it doesn't disturb anyone and that it be kept indoors.)

But when my agent (who is helping me with handling this tenant) went to the condo to fix the aircond, he found out she has more 5 cats in the vicinity and called me to informed me.

She got furious that the agent told me about it and complained to me, that the agent was harassing her and her privacy.

I told her again that I'm fine with it as long as it doesn't disturb anyone.

And to no one's surprised, I received a call from one of the neighbors while at work. Saying that my tenant's cat has been peeing in someone's house and even stole someone's fish and was a nuisance. Thankfully, the management has worked it out between the tenant and the people who have been affected and has also told me that this will be her final warning; if it happens again they will take action; which I agreed and also told the tenant.

But the tenant kept denying that it was her cat who did it, but the management has told me that they have CCTV footage but since its been dealt with. I just warned her again.

Recent issue:

After all the fiasco with her, I've decided to not be in contact with her anymore and let the communication go through between me and my agent.

Of course, I have told her this in the message before I decided to go no contact.

Now she has decided to not pay for the electricity bill and the water bill, just today when I asked my agent to contact her (as the TNB is still under my name, as she keeps on delaying to change to her name). She decided to scold my agent and saying that he keeps harassing her. When in fact, I was just asking him to ask her to pay for the bills as it was the due date.

We have reminded her for the utility bills earlier this month but she said it was not the due date yet and she will not pay, but today when we asked her for it. She scolded my agent back instead and said that she already has paid for rent.

I'm afraid that she may take advantage of paying late rental but not paying the utility bills, so that we are not able to do anything to her since she would argue that she is still paying rent.

I've gone through the TA and it is stated that the tenant is responsible for paying the utility bills and she has actually breached one of it already, so I wanted to ask for some advice on what should I do?

As based on her previous pattern, she is problematic and I don't want to only take action when it is too late. Since she has already shown the real side, I want to avoid any further complications before it becoming worse.

This post has been edited by 6996: May 15 2025, 07:09 PM
desmond2020
post May 15 2025, 07:12 PM

910 posts

cut the electric and water supply

bar access card,

evict that piece of garbage
Enjoise
post May 15 2025, 07:14 PM

462 posts

kasi lod
TS6996
post May 15 2025, 07:22 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Enjoise @ May 15 2025, 07:14 PM)
kasi lod
This one need lawyer to draft? Can I draft it by myself?
sakuraboo
post May 15 2025, 07:22 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

Idk but pets damage a lot of the property

Lesson learnt, don't take tenant with pets
TS6996
post May 15 2025, 07:23 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ May 15 2025, 07:12 PM)

bar access card,

Ya I'm thinking of doing that if she still decides to not pay the water bill (air selangor) next week

And really smart of her to already piss her neighbors off, so if I asked the management to bar her access card - it should not be much of an issue
TS6996
post May 15 2025, 07:24 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ May 15 2025, 07:22 PM)

She told me one at first and I'm okay

But now its quite a lot and it already disturbed the neighbors
sakuraboo
post May 15 2025, 07:25 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 15 2025, 07:24 PM)

Yeah anyway seems to go downhill

It's just going to get worse from here I'd imagine
TS6996
post May 15 2025, 07:27 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ May 15 2025, 07:25 PM)
Yeah anyway seems to go downhill

It's just going to get worse from here I'd imagine
Any advice?

I actually would like to evict her, and I'm okay with giving back the deposit

Just don't want her to cause anymore problems
Femsroot
post May 15 2025, 07:28 PM

299 posts

i got know 1 fella with gf bela corgi. corgi everyday bite the door frame and all wood skirting at home. when wan leave the house they ask contractor to touch up back. but u think la - door frame 1 set nice nice u but the bottom just touch up to return ppl. u think fair onot. all this tenant thingy not worth doing anymore. not like last time. now better sell and stay 1 house. too much trouble

This post has been edited by Femsroot: May 15 2025, 07:35 PM
TS6996
post May 15 2025, 07:45 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(Femsroot @ May 15 2025, 07:28 PM)
i got know 1 fella with gf bela corgi. corgi everyday bite the door frame and all wood skirting at home. when wan leave the house they ask contractor to touch up back. but u think la - door frame 1 set nice nice u but the bottom just touch up to return ppl. u think fair onot. all this tenant thingy not worth doing anymore. not like last time. now better sell and stay 1 house. too much trouble
Ya it’s pretty sad, Sommore can always see people blaming the landlord

But when people are being nice then people like this come and ruin it

Really not worth renting
knwong
post May 15 2025, 08:55 PM

3,563 posts

Race and age of tenant?
AdisonMak
post May 15 2025, 09:11 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ May 15 2025, 07:12 PM)

bar access card,

This is best course of action. since the lectricity & water still under your account, easy to conduct.... if under hers & gg if tak bayar, & account forever stuck under his/her name on that parcel... you lagi sakit kepala coz you cannot change it back to you if not mistaken... unless tnb/syabas changed their rules in recent.
TS6996
post May 15 2025, 09:12 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 15 2025, 08:55 PM)
Race and age of tenant?
Middle age

The ones where most landlord’s tend to avoid

Decide to give it a chance since she was being really friendly at first
TS6996
post May 15 2025, 09:13 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(AdisonMak @ May 15 2025, 09:11 PM)
This is best course of action. since the lectricity & water still under your account, easy to conduct.... if under hers & gg if tak bayar, & account forever stuck under his/her name on that parcel... you lagi sakit kepala coz you cannot change it back to you if not mistaken... unless tnb/syabas changed their rules in recent.
Thanks I will do that next week most likely

Will ask my agent to give her a warning first
sakuraboo
post May 15 2025, 09:35 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 15 2025, 07:27 PM)
Any advice?

Pretty much like what the other posters have done

That's what exactly my relative said

Not worth it

I think back then booming any prop also go into profit

But not easy nowadays

Edit: though that said, mostly applies to Malaysian market

This post has been edited by sakuraboo: May 15 2025, 09:36 PM
xtreme_paranoid
post May 15 2025, 10:35 PM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

You will be lucky enuff if she willing to out without any issue to the house
TS6996
post May 15 2025, 10:49 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ May 15 2025, 10:35 PM)
You will be lucky enuff if she willing to out without any issue to the house
Any advice on protecting my property?
B0ss_ku
post May 16 2025, 02:57 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 15 2025, 09:12 PM)
Middle age

Double whammy

You got the worse race,age,and gender of tenant you can get
lfw
post May 16 2025, 06:37 AM

405 posts

so what do you learn from this tenant situation?

1. if more than 3 times of late rental payment, can start to evict them

2. if more than 3 months of non-payment for utilities bills, can start to evict them

3. if breach of contract (disrupting the harmony of neighbors in any action), can start to evict them

in any incident reported, please document it well with evidence (if that's possible)

of course, now you can get the agent to execute the above

hope you meet with a better future tenant soon

mini orchard
post May 16 2025, 07:15 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 15 2025, 10:49 PM)
No, if you have a bad tenant. Not even with your 2 months deposit.
Singh_Kalan
post May 16 2025, 07:36 AM

2,033 posts

This kind of tenant is hardcore type. Need court order to evict them. Take 6-12 month to get 1
JimbeamofNRT
post May 16 2025, 08:10 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 15 2025, 09:13 PM)
Thanks I will do that next week most likely

Will ask my agent to give her a warning first
QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ May 16 2025, 07:36 AM)
This kind of tenant is hardcore type.  Need court order to evict them.  Take 6-12 month to get 1

“Can I kick him out by taking steps such as changing the padlocks, cutting electricity, throwing his stuff out?”

Legally, no. The law says that you can only evict your tenant by getting a court order. Otherwise, your tenant may sue you back instead.

“I sent him all these. The last date I gave him has passed. He still refuses to move. How do I get him out, legally?”

With the letter and notice to quit stated above, appoint a law firm to help you get a court order. Do not try to break in (although it’s your own house, I know).

Blofeld
post May 16 2025, 08:13 AM

4,703 posts

Middle age

in the workplace is the same thing....

interview time very nice

when it's time to deliver actual work, start to pusing2 already
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 08:14 AM

403 posts

Just an update:

I have sent a message to let her know that she has not paid the electricity bill (since the due date was yesterday) and that I will be taking further action.

I also gave her 2 options, one is to move out by June and I will return her deposit or if she continue to stay, make sure that she pay the bills and rental on time without any reminders before the 7th.

I think either way she will try to argue but I have re-blocked her after sending the notice.

Also my agent has informed me that the tenant called him yesterday and threatened him that she reported him to his agency and the MIEA.

Next course of action is to legally evict her (as my agent wants to go the legal route) and have consulted a lawyer for the next course of action.
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 08:14 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ May 16 2025, 08:13 AM)

interview time very nice

Learned my lesson

No more next time
KenM
post May 16 2025, 08:19 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 16 2025, 07:14 AM)
Learned my lesson

No more next time
always ask for a reference or two… follow the western way… if you can verify and confirm, at least it’s a positive step… that’s why job applications have these too..
AbbyCom
post May 16 2025, 08:20 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 16 2025, 08:14 AM)
Just an update:
Also my agent has informed me that the tenant called him yesterday and threatened him that she reported him to his agency and the MIEA.

Two can play the game, can go and contact her employer/company HR and report her for harassing property agent and being an ass? Bring disrepute to the company, can ar?
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 08:26 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ May 16 2025, 08:20 AM)
Two can play the game, can go and contact her employer/company HR and report her for harassing property agent and being an ass? Bring disrepute to the company, can ar?
She macam everyday at home one

Only the son goes and work

TS6996
post May 16 2025, 08:27 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(KenM @ May 16 2025, 08:19 AM)
always ask for a reference or two… follow the western way… if you can verify and confirm, at least it’s a positive step… that’s why job applications have these too..
Ya sadly, I’ll have to be more strict next time

Thanks for your tip 👍🏻
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 08:39 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(lfw @ May 16 2025, 06:37 AM)
so what do you learn from this tenant situation?

1. if more than 3 times of late rental payment, can start to evict them

2. if more than 3 months of non-payment for utilities bills, can start to evict them

3. if breach of contract (disrupting the harmony of neighbors in any action), can start to evict them

in any incident reported, please document it well with evidence (if that's possible)

of course, now you can get the agent to execute the above

hope you meet with a better future tenant soon
Thank you for your tips 🙏🏻
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 08:40 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 16 2025, 08:10 AM)

“Can I kick him out by taking steps such as changing the padlocks, cutting electricity, throwing his stuff out?”

Legally, no. The law says that you can only evict your tenant by getting a court order. Otherwise, your tenant may sue you back instead.

“I sent him all these. The last date I gave him has passed. He still refuses to move. How do I get him out, legally?”

With the letter and notice to quit stated above, appoint a law firm to help you get a court order. Do not try to break in (although it’s your own house, I know).

Thanks, may I know roughly how long it will take to get a court order?

The letter and notice to quit is valid once the tenant has breached the TA right?
a13solut3
post May 16 2025, 08:41 AM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 15 2025, 07:24 PM)

you better evict her fast. cat and furniture mean habis lah all jadi scratching post.
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 08:44 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ May 16 2025, 08:41 AM)
you better evict her fast. cat and furniture mean habis lah all jadi scratching post.
Luckily not my furniture 😅 cause not furnished unit lol
gashout
post May 16 2025, 08:47 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Any advice?

dont say this too early

later furniture full of pee and poop stain. wall needs to be repainted. curtains need to change... bills not paid...

you are NOT doing charity. wake up!

This post has been edited by gashout: May 16 2025, 08:47 AM
mini orchard
post May 16 2025, 08:53 AM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 16 2025, 08:44 AM)
But the wooden doors all yours 😂
WongTheThief
post May 16 2025, 09:00 AM

216 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 16 2025, 09:44 AM)
What kind of cats does she have? Is it like the premium type of cats = persians kind of, or just some average joe you usually see on the streets?
JimbeamofNRT
post May 16 2025, 09:18 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 16 2025, 08:40 AM)
Thanks, may I know roughly how long it will take to get a court order?

The letter and notice to quit is valid once the tenant has breached the TA right?
You need to engage with a lawyer on that, they will tell you in details

BUT

the best way is for you to communicate direct with the tenant, I believe 2 ways commutation is better than going to the court ( which is of course time consuming, not to mentioned $$$ involved )

All the best
JimbeamofNRT
post May 16 2025, 09:21 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ May 16 2025, 08:20 AM)

The tenant can sue her back for harassing her at the workplace. This is a civil matter.
submergedx
post May 16 2025, 09:24 AM

1,132 posts

Any advice?

No. Until you checked all the damages, only then return the final balance.
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 09:49 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ May 16 2025, 08:47 AM)
dont say this too early

later furniture full of pee and poop stain. wall needs to be repainted. curtains need to change... bills not paid...

you are NOT doing charity. wake up!
QUOTE(submergedx @ May 16 2025, 09:24 AM)
No. Until you checked all the damages, only then return the final balance.
Thank you both

Ya, I've decided to just send a Letter of Eviction

Better cut the cancer fast before it becomes worst.

Will keep the deposit first.
darkmusses
post May 16 2025, 09:56 AM

595 posts

The utility and all other initial deposit is to ensure things like this happend can cover ..

Do remember to get assistance from the MO to address the water and electricity matter (you know what I mean) before the cost eat up all the initial deposits paid.
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 10:11 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(darkmusses @ May 16 2025, 09:56 AM)
The utility and all other initial deposit is to ensure things like this happend can cover ..

Do remember to get assistance from the MO to address the water and electricity matter (you know what I mean) before the cost eat up all the initial deposits paid.
Thank you 🙏🏻
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 10:12 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ May 16 2025, 08:53 AM)
But the wooden doors all yours 😂
My first mistake was accepting her

Now just doing damage control and cut it early
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 10:26 AM

403 posts

Is it so hard to just pay rental and your utility bills on time?

Isn’t that just the standard responsibility of anyone who is living in a place?

I wonder what will happen if they have a home loan with a bank.
gashout
post May 16 2025, 11:53 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 16 2025, 10:26 AM)

her behaviors are encouraged by you... people only do so because other people allow delay and give chance, and believe their lies.

CUT HER OFF will do you good.

even if you need to throw away her stuff. she has right to sue... i bet she wont have money to sue you.
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 12:07 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ May 16 2025, 11:53 AM)
her behaviors are encouraged by you... people only do so because other people allow delay and give chance, and believe their lies.

CUT HER OFF will do you good.

even if you need to throw away her stuff. she has right to sue... i bet she wont have money to sue you.
Trust me I never give her the right

Will always chase her but chase until due date only want to pay

Now suddenly paid the electricity bill, but too late

I have sent the Notice of Eviction and her pleads will not be heard
gashout
post May 16 2025, 12:27 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 16 2025, 12:07 PM)
Trust me I never give her the right

Will always chase her but chase until due date only want to pay

Now suddenly paid the electricity bill, but too late

I have sent the Notice of Eviction and her pleads will not be heard
yes, dont go soft on her.

once you are kind, these people will bite you back...
mini orchard
post May 16 2025, 12:37 PM

14,511 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 16 2025, 10:26 AM)

Is not difficult to pay rental and utility bills on time but both are NOT in top tier priority for some tenants.

Tenants would prioritized car instalment over rental payment. Similar with petrol, food on the table and holidays rather than paying rental.

In short, if debtors can prolonged paying a debt, they will do it.

This post has been edited by mini orchard: May 16 2025, 12:38 PM
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 01:13 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(mini orchard @ May 16 2025, 12:37 PM)
Is not difficult to pay rental and utility bills on time but both are NOT in top tier priority for some tenants.

Tenants would prioritized car instalment over rental payment. Similar with petrol, food on the table and holidays rather than paying rental.

In short, if debtors can prolonged paying a debt, they will do it.
Imagine that, prioritising cars over a roof over your head

Something is really wrong with this mentality
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 01:41 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ May 16 2025, 09:00 AM)
What kind of cats does she have? Is it like the premium type of cats = persians kind of, or just some average joe you usually see on the streets?
Looks like typical street cats
Pip_X
post May 16 2025, 02:01 PM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

interview time very nice

Got probation period, no pass probation can just sack.

Rent no probation period.
Pip_X
post May 16 2025, 02:02 PM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

Learned my lesson

No more next time
Next time sign 1 year enuf.
If tenant very teruk, max max also u tahan 1 year only, then once contract tamat, suruh dia belah.
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 02:31 PM

403 posts

Update:

After sending a Notice of Eviction

She suddenly paid for the outstanding bill for the electricity

But my Notice of Eviction for her is still valid right? As the due date has already passed and then after the Notice was issued, only she paid

P/S
After informing her this morning, instead of paying the bills immediately. She was sending a bunch of verbal abuse to my agent.

After Notice was issued then suddenly paid.
WongTheThief
post May 16 2025, 02:41 PM

216 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 16 2025, 02:41 PM)
Looks like typical street cats
I was expecting some luxury cats but guess not.

If she has the money to pay for cat food to feed the cats, then by right she should have the money to pay your rent and utilities on time. Like the rests of the users already mentioned above, if already gave plenty of notice and warnings on overdue but kept delaying then don't give chance, everything means business now.
ernie ball
post May 16 2025, 02:46 PM

459 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 16 2025, 02:31 PM)
Update:

After sending a Notice of Eviction

She suddenly paid for the outstanding bill for the electricity

But my Notice of Eviction for her is still valid right? As the due date has already passed and then after the Notice was issued, only she paid

P/S
After informing her this morning, instead of paying the bills immediately. She was sending a bunch of verbal abuse to my agent.

After Notice was issued then suddenly paid.
Good luck TS. You learn your lesson, that's how you grow up.

Just be polite, firm and do not give in to pity.

Stereotypes exist for a reason.
I never liked to deal with them, they make all sorts of excuses, lies and stories. Had a few experiences with them which definitely validated the things people say here.

I hope she's not single? Single cat woman is always a super red flag yo. Add the certain race then you have a ultimate combo.
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 03:15 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ May 16 2025, 02:41 PM)
I was expecting some luxury cats but guess not.

If she has the money to pay for cat food to feed the cats, then by right she should have the money to pay your rent and utilities on time. Like the rests of the users already mentioned above, if already gave plenty of notice and warnings on overdue but kept delaying then don't give chance, everything means business now.
She has the money, but just loves to give excuses and talk about unnecessary things

I will keep all this in mind 🙏🏻
TS6996
post May 16 2025, 03:16 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(ernie ball @ May 16 2025, 02:46 PM)
Good luck TS. You learn your lesson, that's how you grow up.

Just be polite, firm and do not give in to pity.

Stereotypes exist for a reason.
I never liked to deal with them, they make all sorts of excuses, lies and stories. Had a few experiences with them which definitely validated the things people say here.

I hope she's not single? Single cat woman is always a super red flag yo. Add the certain race then you have a ultimate combo.
She has kids but don’t know where the husband is

Ya, initially I was hoping that it will be different but hate to say it, will not accept anymore 😅
hoonanoo
post May 17 2025, 11:09 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 15 2025, 07:08 PM)
Hi all,

I know this topic comes out every now and then, but I would like some advice from home owners or lawyers who have dealt with situations like these before.

Before we actually signed the TA, this tenant promised me that she was a good paymaster and that she is a good person who will take care of the house.

As it was my first time being a landlord, I was naive and took her word for it and even lowered RM100 for the rental payment for her.

Low and behold after being my tenant, all the patterns have finally come out.

Always need to remind and chase for payment on the 7th and always finding faults with the condo and the management.

Other issues:

Just 2 weeks ago, one of her cats caused some problems with the neighbours. (Initially she did tell me that she has a cat and I told her that it's fine with me as long as it doesn't disturb anyone and that it be kept indoors.)

But when my agent (who is helping me with handling this tenant) went to the condo to fix the aircond, he found out she has more 5 cats in the vicinity and called me to informed me.

She got furious that the agent told me about it and complained to me, that the agent was harassing her and her privacy.

I told her again that I'm fine with it as long as it doesn't disturb anyone.

And to no one's surprised, I received a call from one of the neighbors while at work. Saying that my tenant's cat has been peeing in someone's house and even stole someone's fish and was a nuisance. Thankfully, the management has worked it out between the tenant and the people who have been affected and has also told me that this will be her final warning; if it happens again they will take action; which I agreed and also told the tenant.

But the tenant kept denying that it was her cat who did it, but the management has told me that they have CCTV footage but since its been dealt with. I just warned her again.

Recent issue:

After all the fiasco with her, I've decided to not be in contact with her anymore and let the communication go through between me and my agent.

Of course, I have told her this in the message before I decided to go no contact.

Now she has decided to not pay for the electricity bill and the water bill, just today when I asked my agent to contact her (as the TNB is still under my name, as she keeps on delaying to change to her name). She decided to scold my agent and saying that he keeps harassing her. When in fact, I was just asking him to ask her to pay for the bills as it was the due date.

We have reminded her for the utility bills earlier this month but she said it was not the due date yet and she will not pay, but today when we asked her for it. She scolded my agent back instead and said that she already has paid for rent.

I'm afraid that she may take advantage of paying late rental but not paying the utility bills, so that we are not able to do anything to her since she would argue that she is still paying rent.

I've gone through the TA and it is stated that the tenant is responsible for paying the utility bills and she has actually breached one of it already, so I wanted to ask for some advice on what should I do?

As based on her previous pattern, she is problematic and I don't want to only take action when it is too late. Since she has already shown the real side, I want to avoid any further complications before it becoming worse.
Its a condo right? I hope high rise. You do have some options if this is so. The access card is the key to control her. Other than that, we landlords are pretty screwed; because tenancy law here is full of shit.

Basically if tenant want to be an asshole, not pay rent they can do so, if they are skilled to know about it. The laws side them, if you want to evict them you need to take court order and that's expensive.

Our parliament everyday Madani tepuk dada success and PN everyday tepuk dada on RnR issues, nobody cares about scam, consumer protection and tenancy issues anymore.

You tell her off, she is living in your premises, then your agent has every right to talk to her, and that is not called harassing. If she has issues with that, move the fark out, such an entitled oranges.

Pay rent in time is very important, make sure your agent enforce that.

If she even late 1 month, make sure you cut off her access card, give ample warning first.

hoonanoo
post May 17 2025, 11:13 AM

1,782 posts

Just an update:

I have sent a message to let her know that she has not paid the electricity bill (since the due date was yesterday) and that I will be taking further action.

I also gave her 2 options, one is to move out by June and I will return her deposit or if she continue to stay, make sure that she pay the bills and rental on time without any reminders before the 7th.

I think either way she will try to argue but I have re-blocked her after sending the notice.

Next course of action is to legally evict her (as my agent wants to go the legal route) and have consulted a lawyer for the next course of action.
next time when new tenant come in, ask them for profile.

evidence where they work, payslip, etc.

macam CV.

ask agent to help obtain.

if possible check their CTOS

you can still block her access card, how high is the unit she is living in?

if high rise she is screwed.

Still access card can be cloned.
TS6996
post May 17 2025, 12:42 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ May 17 2025, 11:09 AM)
Its a condo right? I hope high rise. You do have some options if this is so. The access card is the key to control her. Other than that, we landlords are pretty screwed; because tenancy law here is full of shit.

Basically if tenant want to be an asshole, not pay rent they can do so, if they are skilled to know about it. The laws side them, if you want to evict them you need to take court order and that's expensive.

Our parliament everyday Madani tepuk dada success and PN everyday tepuk dada on RnR issues, nobody cares about scam, consumer protection and tenancy issues anymore.

You tell her off, she is living in your premises, then your agent has every right to talk to her, and that is not called harassing. If she has issues with that, move the fark out, such an entitled oranges.

Pay rent in time is very important, make sure your agent enforce that.

If she even late 1 month, make sure you cut off her access card, give ample warning first.
Thank you.

I have already sent a Notice of Eviction yesterday.

After she got it, straight paid up the electricity bills.

I gave her until the first week of June to leave my premises.
TS6996
post May 17 2025, 12:46 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ May 17 2025, 11:13 AM)
next time when new tenant come in, ask them for profile.

evidence where they work, payslip, etc.

macam CV.

ask agent to help obtain.

if possible check their CTOS

you can still block her access card, how high is the unit she is living in?

if high rise she is screwed.

Still access card can be cloned.
It’s a condo but my unit is in the walk up block.

No worries, I’ve already informed the management of the eviction notice and have asked them to help me keep an eye on her.

It’s a low density condo so the residents and management is pretty close.

If she decides to overstay after the Notice of Eviction, I will make it very hard for her to stay there.
xtreme_paranoid
post May 18 2025, 07:00 PM

UNKNOWN
1,427 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 15 2025, 10:49 PM)
Maybe someone else got their way
Mine.. Jual that rumah. Im not fit enuff to be landlord. Haha
hoonanoo
post May 18 2025, 08:11 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 17 2025, 12:46 PM)
It’s a condo but my unit is in the walk up block.

No worries, I’ve already informed the management of the eviction notice and have asked them to help me keep an eye on her.

It’s a low density condo so the residents and management is pretty close.

If she decides to overstay after the Notice of Eviction, I will make it very hard for her to stay there.
curious, how much is the notice of eviction and process?

or you just get a lawyer friend or relative to write a lawyer letter?

I think a cheaper process would be to warn her many times to settle her rental in time, if > 1 mth, quickly block access card. don't put it in white n black.

just verbal warn.

the access card block will force her to pay.

scorgio
post May 18 2025, 08:36 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ May 15 2025, 07:22 PM)

This is true.

Brother's apartment, the sofa cover & queen size mattress all got scratched by the tenant's cat.

But since my bro promised the new tenant a new mattress, so the old one would be discarded anyway. Tenant compensated RM300 for the sofa cover, but when I took it to the cushion shop to get it rewrap, got quoted RM600.

Then there's another time when a couple rented my mom's house in PD, they said they have 2 puppies. After they moved in, they've got 5 dogs big & small running in & out of the house. Kicked them out after 1 month.
TS6996
post May 18 2025, 09:44 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ May 18 2025, 08:11 PM)
curious, how much is the notice of eviction and process?

or you just get a lawyer friend or relative to write a lawyer letter?

I think a cheaper process would be to warn her many times to settle her rental in time, if > 1 mth, quickly block access card. don't put it in white n black.

just verbal warn.

the access card block will force her to pay.
Got my agent’s lawyer to check our Notice of Eviction (Drafted by our own as we consulted the lawyer and she has checked it and said it was fine)

It was valid as she has breached a number of clauses in the TA and has been hell to her neighbours and management

It’s only after if she doesn’t move that we need to involve the court then it might take some money, but for now not yet

I’ve pretty much had it with the tenant so I would rather her leave, can’t be chasing her for payment every month

For rent, water bill and electricity bills. And every time my agent reminds her she will scold him and give a bunch of nonsense.

Better to just get her the hell out.
TS6996
post May 18 2025, 09:46 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(xtreme_paranoid @ May 18 2025, 07:00 PM)
Maybe someone else got their way
Mine.. Jual that rumah. Im not fit enuff to be landlord. Haha
For me it’s fine, I think it’s pretty common to encounter people like this especially when I’m just starting out.

Just need to learn from it and not be too nice.
TS6996
post May 18 2025, 09:49 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ May 18 2025, 08:36 PM)
This is true.

Brother's apartment, the sofa cover & queen size mattress all got scratched by the tenant's cat.

But since my bro promised the new tenant a new mattress, so the old one would be discarded anyway. Tenant compensated RM300 for the sofa cover, but when I took it to the cushion shop to get it rewrap, got quoted RM600.

Then there's another time when a couple rented my mom's house in PD, they said they have 2 puppies. After they moved in, they've got 5 dogs big & small running in & out of the house. Kicked them out after 1 month.
Was it hard for you to kick out the couple who misled you with the number of dogs?
scorgio
post May 18 2025, 11:03 PM

4,694 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 18 2025, 09:49 PM)
Was it hard for you to kick out the couple who misled you with the number of dogs?
Tough.

These pet lovers all treat their pets like child. When u despise their child, the wife called & cry father cry mother.

Meanwhile we just cite having 5 dogs in a house is against Majlis by-laws.

If they don't move, if a neighbor lodged complaint, Majlis would come & eventually dogs without license would be put to sleep.

TS6996
post May 18 2025, 11:08 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ May 18 2025, 11:03 PM)
Tough.

These pet lovers all treat their pets like child. When u despise their child, the wife called & cry father cry mother.

Meanwhile we just cite having 5 dogs in a house is against Majlis by-laws.

If they don't move, if a neighbor lodged complaint, Majlis would come & eventually dogs without license would be put to sleep.
Thank you for this.

I think I know how to deal with my tenant by rewording certain terms to use for my advantage should she try to challenge me after the deadline for eviction ends.

But if not, she at one time brought in 10 cats in my unit. I wasn’t sure if it’s for her pet boarding business or for what reason and thankfully my agent has snapped a pic for me.

And the cats have actually broke in to the neighbours units, so I can use the neighbours who were affected as witnesses too.

Thank you again.

This post has been edited by 6996: May 18 2025, 11:10 PM
cedyy
post May 18 2025, 11:14 PM

1,404 posts

your tenancy agreement has no clause stipulating no pets permitted??
AbbyCom
post May 18 2025, 11:16 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 18 2025, 09:44 PM)
Got my agent’s lawyer to check our Notice of Eviction (Drafted by our own as we consulted the lawyer and she has checked it and said it was fine)

It was valid as she has breached a number of clauses in the TA and has been hell to her neighbours and management

It’s only after if she doesn’t move that we need to involve the court then it might take some money, but for now not yet

I’ve pretty much had it with the tenant so I would rather her leave, can’t be chasing her for payment every month

For rent, water bill and electricity bills. And every time my agent reminds her she will scold him and give a bunch of nonsense.

Hmmm... in all my years of renting out properties, I have not had a notice of eviction clause, learnt something new. Is it a single clause which lists out the conditions where a notice of eviction can be issued or as grounds for termination of tenancy.
TS6996
post May 18 2025, 11:18 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ May 18 2025, 11:14 PM)
your tenancy agreement has no clause stipulating no pets permitted??
No, as generally I’m okay with one or two if it doesn’t disturb the neighbours
TS6996
post May 18 2025, 11:20 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ May 18 2025, 11:16 PM)
Hmmm... in all my years of renting out properties, I have not had a notice of eviction clause, learnt something new. Is it a single clause which lists out the conditions where a notice of eviction can be issued or as grounds for termination of tenancy.
For my case, we consulted with a lawyer before sending out any notice

Since the tenant has basically breached more than one clause, I have the right to terminate the TA with the tenant.

The notice is just for her to have some time before she needs to move out.

Of course, if you need a Writ of Distress or anything like that, then you’ll need to go through the court
cedyy
post May 18 2025, 11:22 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 18 2025, 11:18 PM)
No, as generally I’m okay with one or two if it doesn’t disturb the neighbours
make sure this clause is written for future tenancy agreement. it's not worth having tenant with pets such as hairy cats and dogs.
TS6996
post May 18 2025, 11:24 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(cedyy @ May 18 2025, 11:22 PM)
make sure this clause is written for future tenancy agreement. it's not worth having tenant with pets such as hairy cats and dogs.
Noted with and thanks
BaboonZ
post May 19 2025, 02:37 AM

131 posts

interview time very nice

Same thing happened in my workplace too. biggrin.gif

There are good and bad, but the chances of encountering a "snake" is just too high. It doesn't matter if they are Christians or Hindus. Sadly the good ones become the victim of this bad rep.
hoonanoo
post May 19 2025, 08:19 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 18 2025, 09:44 PM)

Notice of eviction has to be registered with the court?

how much it costs?

I think got cheaper ways, like threaten to ban her access card if late payment.

but do it verbally.

TS6996
post May 19 2025, 09:21 AM

403 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ May 19 2025, 08:19 AM)

how much it costs?

but do it verbally.
No, don’t need involve with court first
TS6996
post May 19 2025, 10:11 AM

403 posts

I have heard from management that the tenant went and harassed another neighbour after she got the notice

She is picking on this particular neighbour as she was the one who reported and was affected by the tenant’s cat

Now even management is scared of the tenant since she keeps on harassing her (management is just a small Malay lady)

With this case I can also take it as a criminal case already right? For intimidation and harassment
Daylight_walker
post May 19 2025, 11:32 AM

155 posts

after saw all the reply, i have to say i m lucky enough because i only transfer my money to my wife, my wife tapao everything for me including all the bills and payment. without her, i might not be so easy life now

cheer~
JimbeamofNRT
post May 20 2025, 03:16 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ May 19 2025, 08:19 AM)

how much it costs?

but do it verbally.
QUOTE(6996 @ May 19 2025, 09:21 AM)
No, don’t need involve with court first
of course the lawyer have to file the case with the court. otherwise how lah the magistrate gonna issue the eviction?

you should concern about the fees to the lawyer, who is gonna foot the bill?
JimbeamofNRT
post May 20 2025, 03:19 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(6996 @ May 19 2025, 10:11 AM)
I have heard from management that the tenant went and harassed another neighbour after she got the notice

She is picking on this particular neighbour as she was the one who reported and was affected by the tenant’s cat

Now even management is scared of the tenant since she keeps on harassing her (management is just a small Malay lady)

With this case I can also take it as a criminal case already right? For intimidation and harassment

the one who kana harassed should make the police report , not you. even if you made police report also the Sergeant will ask you back, on what ground? furthermore this is a civil case, police wont be bothered to step in unless the tenant did something severe like attacking others with something dangerous.

if harassing using mouth the one who kana intimidate should file a restraining order from the Court, not the police.

If I were you, I will arrange a meeting with the tenant, sometimes use diplomacy is better than involving third party.

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: May 20 2025, 03:22 PM
anakkk
post May 20 2025, 03:24 PM

2,116 posts

my condo also got one house rare more than 10 cats, the smell is really bad, until the PBT came also cannot solve, the resident is just too stubborn.

I have given up owning property, buy REIT better :X
hoonanoo
post May 20 2025, 03:28 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 20 2025, 03:16 PM)
of course the lawyer have to file the case with the court. otherwise how lah the magistrate gonna issue the eviction?

so its just a lawyer letter

not an official eviction.

lucky the tenant not knowledgeable.
hoonanoo
post May 20 2025, 03:30 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Daylight_walker @ May 19 2025, 11:32 AM)
after saw all the reply, i have to say i m lucky enough because i only transfer my money to my wife, my wife tapao everything for me including all the bills and payment. without her, i might not be so easy life now

cheer~
aiyo macam ini, you cannot eat other chicken outside lor.

JimbeamofNRT
post May 20 2025, 03:31 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ May 20 2025, 03:28 PM)
so its just a lawyer letter

not an official eviction.

lucky the tenant not knowledgeable.
that letter from loyar also cost hundreds RM already

real one liddis ( from the Court )

example

hoonanoo
post May 20 2025, 03:32 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 20 2025, 03:31 PM)
that letter from loyar also cost hundreds RM already

real one liddis ( from the Court )

example

how much a notice of eviction and other related cost ?

about 6k ?
TS6996
post May 20 2025, 03:33 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 20 2025, 03:16 PM)

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 20 2025, 03:19 PM)
the one who kana harassed should make the police report , not you. even if you made police report also the Sergeant will ask you back, on what ground? furthermore this is a civil case, police wont be bothered to step in unless the tenant did something severe like attacking others with something dangerous.

if harassing using mouth the one who kana intimidate should file a restraining order from the Court, not the police.

If I were you, I will arrange a meeting with the tenant, sometimes use diplomacy is better than involving third party.
Noted with and thank you for the feedback
JimbeamofNRT
post May 20 2025, 03:35 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ May 20 2025, 03:32 PM)
how much a notice of eviction and other related cost ?

about 6k ?
diff firm, diff charges cool2.gif

this one operate like private hospital too

---

like I said to TS, go discuss peacefully with the tenant first lah, see how

worse case the tenant might vandalized the house and then MIA
hoonanoo
post May 21 2025, 08:47 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ May 20 2025, 03:35 PM)
diff firm, diff charges  cool2.gif

this one operate like private hospital too

---

like I said to TS, go discuss peacefully with the tenant first lah, see how

worse case the tenant might vandalized the house and then MIA
a more subtle way after chasing, is to temp suspend the access card.

being landlord is a pretty tiring job.

I have to make many cold calls and watsapp messages to chase tenants to pay rent in time.

David900924
post May 21 2025, 10:48 AM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

next time in Tenancy agreement, have better terms that can kick person out if missed out payment, usually 2 months deposit to cover the rent and utilities rite, change the lock n kick her out once bleached out the clause.
netflix2019
post May 21 2025, 12:14 PM

416 posts

I don't think this tenant will move out peacefully. TS need pray hard
Porkycorgi5588
post May 21 2025, 12:25 PM

250 posts

dont insult corgi.
aku terasa cry.gif cry.gif

owner bodo no give chew toy to dog and no train.
if it were me, i whack the dog silly already
kopiride
post May 21 2025, 12:36 PM

784 posts

Middle age

Lol .. that's their pattern.. at first act good and that. When start rental, GG. Kena once, never again.
BL98
post May 21 2025, 06:21 PM

743 posts

If electricity bill and water still under your name, just proceed to cut the electricity. Then use her deposit to cover the bills
TS6996
post May 21 2025, 07:19 PM

403 posts

Thanks all for the tips 🙏🏻
KitZhai
post May 22 2025, 01:50 AM

381 posts

QUOTE(David900924 @ May 21 2025, 11:48 AM)
next time in Tenancy agreement, have better terms that can kick person out if missed out payment, usually 2 months deposit to cover the rent and utilities rite, change the lock n kick her out once bleached out the clause.
Problem is this clause does not align with the Specific Relist Act 1950.

It's like a loophole here. Although it has been agreed. But if it does not align with the Malaysia Law, it won't really able to take affect. End up if go up to court, tenant still can win coz it's illegal according to the law.

It's like we have a drug trading written agreement. But it won't take effect if it's against the law.
SUS*lightbringer*
post May 22 2025, 09:37 AM

259 posts

Sorry to hear that, but sometime u have to be racist for your own good. I'm not saying that particular race is bad, but if there are too many bad stories associated with one particular race, and the stories came from various other races, some part of it must be true.

I rented my property to them, never again.
Femsroot
post May 22 2025, 12:03 PM

299 posts

its always the person. i rented my place via agent to china family. they rent for afternn put kids and nap. night got own house further away. agent taken comm, rent was good, then come covid. return me. i saw burner damage cabinet damage. stick all door with transparent tape causing cabinets door cacat. then in the end i just haiz u go la. i call agent. no pick up anymore. most useless profession in this world zero reliability and responsibility. just $$$ only.

i rent it next to popiah with no deposit taken. for me same only give to sum1 i know and tidy rather than give unknown aso waste my money on comm and in the end contra rent cabut but all shit i need take care.

i go see the house once a while. popiah very tidy house nice and wangi. make me leong cha sumore. ask me wan eat mee onot. i say no la. just come to make good leaking then chow. hopefully continue like this
David900924
post May 22 2025, 12:58 PM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

yea hit and miss, people can change overtime

0.0339sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:31 PM