Will AI will replace Teacher and lecture?
Teacher rage because student, using AI to finish homework
May 14 2025, 05:53 PM, updated 8 months ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
126 posts Joined: Apr 2016 From: Melaka |
Will AI will replace Teacher and lecture?
May 14 2025, 05:54 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
4,883 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
my staffs use AI for work, i xkecoh pun. as long as the results is solid, i'm good.
May 14 2025, 05:55 PM
225 posts Joined: May 2007 From: KL |
QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ May 14 2025, 05:54 PM) But work is work, study is study. |
May 14 2025, 05:58 PM
May 14 2025, 06:03 PM
436 posts Joined: Dec 2021 |
chatGPT is like the Internet.
Will it increase the productivity and general intelligence of the people? Yes Does that mean that there will not be stupid people anymore? No. Will chatGPT eradicate poverty? Did the Internet eradicate poverty? So what the teacher said is right. If you rely entirely on chatGPT but never seek to understand the whys and the what ifs and the hows, you will still be poor and stupid. Sekian. |
May 14 2025, 06:04 PM
551 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Stay calm and keep teaching
May 14 2025, 06:08 PM
378 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: WPKL, Malaysia, South East Asia, Asia |
AI agenda to make humans less intelligent. observ and Imbi Plaza Lot 1.28 liked this post
May 14 2025, 06:16 PM
16 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
why hire graduates when you can just use AI and robots that can work 24/7?
May 14 2025, 06:28 PM
592 posts Joined: Oct 2018 |
ya.. if no teacher, no homework, then you dun even need AI..
May 14 2025, 06:30 PM
3,582 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: everywhere in sabah |
May 14 2025, 06:33 PM
126 posts Joined: Apr 2016 From: Melaka |
QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 14 2025, 06:30 PM) if every students uses AI, all their assignment will look identical this system also powered by AI?and they learnt nothing almost all schools and uni today have AI detection system Phoenix_KL liked this post
May 14 2025, 06:36 PM
3,582 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: everywhere in sabah |
May 14 2025, 06:37 PM
570 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: /k/ isle |
such a drama queen
May 14 2025, 06:40 PM
719 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Everyone use ai and no need to learn, apply job also ai resume, interview hafal ai prepared script, working use ai. One day ai put the wrong flag also nobody knows, until pas come scold you oh wai... mycolumn and Phoenix_KL liked this post
May 14 2025, 06:41 PM
221 posts Joined: Jan 2019 From: Earth |
Yup why study and learn when everything can be accessed from phone. Just key in 1+1, can get answer already... accept when generating flags... that might be a problem.
To counter AI just submit each assignment with a picture of flag. Hint : AI tends to talk cock with a straight face. You can get responses, facts and figures from AI, understands it but word it out yourself lah. These students must be buta-buta cut and paste. This post has been edited by Capt. Marble: May 14 2025, 06:57 PM |
May 14 2025, 06:42 PM
3,142 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
Tbh, there's already an obvious usage of this generative compute algorithm type in line of work.
The difference is that if it make sense or talk cock. One of the major point when studying is ability to fathom and critical thinking. You can keep using it, no worries by all means do it but in the end of the day when the stakes are on the table and its yours. Does that piece of software really able to answer your plight. |
May 14 2025, 06:44 PM
129 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
I use AI to elaborate my ideas and thoughts. Apa sarahan
May 14 2025, 06:45 PM
173 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ May 14 2025, 05:54 PM) we are already increasingly seeing people that use ai, cant even tell simple thing right or wrong, submit straight. like teresa kok ai staff, pas/newspaper flag staffs. sooner or later you will find auditor that submit calculation straight out. because many dont know ai can hallucinate because you left some previous chat history inside.This post has been edited by GHBZDK: May 14 2025, 06:46 PM |
May 14 2025, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(GHBZDK @ May 14 2025, 06:45 PM) we are already increasingly seeing people that use ai, cant even tell simple thing right or wrong, submit straight. like teresa kok ai staff, pas/newspaper flag staffs. sooner or later you will find auditor that submit calculation straight out. because many dont know ai can hallucinate because you left some previous chat history inside. lucky i'm not working in creative industry or publishes anything to public. so, no flag issues.my staff use it for template/form creation and coding proof reading is very important tho, can never skip that process |
May 14 2025, 06:59 PM
3,563 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Shenzhen Bahru |
AI is already displacing a lot of workers job so we need to tax AI
Likewise for every single assignment submitted using AI, we should tax the student |
May 14 2025, 07:03 PM
409 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Internet |
Bodo of today leave it to AI to do 100% of the QCQA. Really recipe for disaster macam our recent flag issues. netmatrix liked this post
May 14 2025, 07:43 PM
156 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
don't need teacher.
Teachers Using AI to Grade Their Students' Work Sends a Clear Message: They Don't Matter, and Will Soon Be Obsolete The results are dismal. https://futurism.com/teachers-ai-grade-students |
May 14 2025, 07:53 PM
7 posts Joined: Oct 2021 |
better dont study just buy paper
May 14 2025, 08:01 PM
17 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
Back in the late 2000s we had to scour multiple academic journals to support our statements in the FYP. You learn alot as you read those journals and do comparisons, choosing the best or closest to your hypothesis. Definitely much more educational than using AI
May 14 2025, 08:03 PM
118 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Idiocracy in the making. netmatrix liked this post
May 14 2025, 08:06 PM
774 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
most teachers still cannot accept the fact AI has revolutionize how kids and people in general access and uses information
it's like how candle light makers hated lightbulbs it's like how horse breeders hated cars there is no stopping this. best for the teacher themselves to adapt to the changing world This post has been edited by DarkAeon: May 14 2025, 08:06 PM |
May 14 2025, 08:13 PM
1,235 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
If the staff use AI to do work, why pay them a salary? No point wut.
Might as well pay the AI and fire them all. |
May 14 2025, 08:14 PM
4,707 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(DarkAeon @ May 14 2025, 08:06 PM) most teachers still cannot accept the fact AI has revolutionize how kids and people in general access and uses information problem is you go to study is learn something ..not just completing task and get a tick it's like how candle light makers hated lightbulbs it's like how horse breeders hated cars there is no stopping this. best for the teacher themselves to adapt to the changing world AI is not like assisting your study (like calculator or dictionary) ; is more like replacing/offload your study/learning ..in the end what u learnt? how to use chatgpt effectively? if work u use AI is because u want to deliver your job (so that u can take more job ..lol) this is like u go attend drawing class but use chatgpt to draw the paint that u want ; then print it out and give to teacher ..then whats the point of attending ? This post has been edited by fantasy1989: May 14 2025, 09:24 PM |
May 14 2025, 08:35 PM
QUOTE(DarkAeon @ May 14 2025, 08:06 PM) most teachers still cannot accept the fact AI has revolutionize how kids and people in general access and uses information No bobo,it's like how candle light makers hated lightbulbs it's like how horse breeders hated cars there is no stopping this. best for the teacher themselves to adapt to the changing world AI is similar to vending machine, it provide food and drinks and refilled by others everyday. You can use it to fulfill your needs and combine if necessary. As a society right now, you may use this vending machine to live your day to day life but that's due many others are still providing the traditional methods and new methods albeit in smaller scale compare to before. If everyone and their mom started to only use the vending machine, the society will realize quite quickly that their foods/drinks choices is limited and easily recognizable. Even if A.I is revolutionary, human dictate what they want and they always do. historically proven. |
May 14 2025, 08:42 PM
12 posts Joined: Aug 2022 |
May 14 2025, 08:46 PM
1,886 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: The Long river ... |
May 14 2025, 08:48 PM
6,035 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
why macam gay, shout like hisap many **** even kick that light can sakit
anyway ai is here and getting more powderful ![]() |
May 14 2025, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ May 14 2025, 08:35 PM) No bobo, i don't think u have any idea what u talking about. i rather not waste time with uAI is similar to vending machine, it provide food and drinks and refilled by others everyday. You can use it to fulfill your needs and combine if necessary. As a society right now, you may use this vending machine to live your day to day life but that's due many others are still providing the traditional methods and new methods albeit in smaller scale compare to before. If everyone and their mom started to only use the vending machine, the society will realize quite quickly that their foods/drinks choices is limited and easily recognizable. Even if A.I is revolutionary, human dictate what they want and they always do. historically proven. |
May 14 2025, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ May 14 2025, 08:14 PM) problem is you go to study is learn something ..not just completing task and get a tick u didn't understand my point. i'd have to bring myself down to your level and explain. i'll tryAI is not like assisting your study (like calculator or dictionary) ; is more like replacing/offload your study/learning ..in the end what u learnt? how to use chatgpt effectively? if work u use AI is because u want to deliver your job (so that u can take more job ..lol) maybe soon our driving license is just a training course to teach u how to use autonomous driving to destination instead of drive the car let's say u r caveman. caveman teacher say in caveman school, u rip off meat with bare hands. no use sharp rock. sharp rock bad. then a student say, but but but....it makes cutting meat easier. teach say NO. u come to caveman school to learn. not complete task and get a tick i hope u get it now |
May 14 2025, 09:25 PM
1,030 posts Joined: Jan 2022 |
QUOTE(T.Alvin @ May 14 2025, 05:53 PM) Yes, teaching is one of the most earliest profession that would be wiped out by AI soon.It gives 24/7 personal attention to the student unlike humans which can only meet a few times in a week. You missed a lesson or did not attend class your problem to catch up. AI is there to answer your questions and needs 24/7 if you show interests in the subject you want to learn. |
May 14 2025, 09:30 PM
Just imagine in near future you live in rural areas and you can't afford the latest text books or there is no school anywhere nearby your home.
In the next few years when AI far exceeds the intelligence of humans, teachers and schools will be a thing of the past. This thread alone proves that some of the arguments and doubts here are teachers themselves worrying about their future. Too bad it's reality they need to face. |
May 14 2025, 09:33 PM
98 posts Joined: Jan 2023 |
Cikgu sepatutnya membantu pelajar untuk belajar dan mempunyai masa depan yang lebih cerah. Tetapi cikgu sekarang maki lebih banyak dari membantu.
May 14 2025, 09:36 PM
436 posts Joined: Dec 2021 |
QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ May 14 2025, 09:25 PM) Yes, teaching is one of the most earliest profession that would be wiped out by AI soon. Doctor is next. Cibai ask a few questions the doctor ask "you don't trust me issit? Now you doctor or me?". Not all but some doctors will cibai. I cannot have the right to know what you're giving me issit? I pay 200 linggit I cannot ask a few questions is it? Cannot spend 15 minutes explaining to me issit? It gives 24/7 personal attention to the student unlike humans which can only meet a few times in a week. You missed a lesson or did not attend class your problem to catch up. AI is there to answer your questions and needs 24/7 if you show interests in the subject you want to learn. Now I ask chatgpt. Ask until I satisfied and terpancut. Malaysia should follow western country style that doctors only diagnose but can't sell meds. Then see if they still so lang si or not. |
May 14 2025, 09:40 PM
10,672 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: shah alam - skudai - shah alam |
I turned most of my assignments and projects into major viva-like presentations. So I get to evaluate them face-to-face, so I can test what they know for sure, and what they referred to AI.
May 14 2025, 09:50 PM
321 posts Joined: May 2020 |
foresaw long long long time ago, with the rise of google, turninit , plagiarism checker, it is matter of time AI set in and took over uni and college but there is a way to counter this , i hope more ppl follow the method below :
not ai in my time, all student read from textbook / sample answer and never think for themself, this tutor saw student just mindless becoming robot and did taught in lecture before. so this tutor ( really respect her / him , yea there are exactly 2 tutor doing this only) , use a very unusual teaching so this tutor told the class rep to tell the class mate to do their homework before going tutorial class, this tutor also give clear instruction that let the classmate do what they want with the answer, they can copy from senior, junior, or try to answer without looking text note or even left the blank answer if they are not feeling well / no mood to do. during the tutorial class, some got answer, some got wrong answer, and some even blanked the answer so this tutor tell the classmate go to him 1 by 1 and mark directly in front of them , the tutor mark very fast, give personal feed back and what to do in exam and some life advice For the blank answer done by classmate, this tutor seriously talk to this classmate for quite solid 5-10 minute and always say dont waste your parent money / ptptn money and come to colleage / uni and be a clown / dumbass and throw away your normal future, at least change the program u are studying and pick the right program, next time i dont want see a blank answer, at least try some answer so i know what you are lacking and maybe we can try it out solve your personal problem ( yes the tutor say this ) after the marking etc etc, which quite took 30-45 minute, and he took another 45 minute to teach everything give answer to the class rep and photostat it and u know the rest, study and do well for the exam and move on with life and this whole thing he do with 7-8 class, for 2-3 subject too, many student under this tutor, has at least 85-90% passing rate, even the last minute / moody / rebel / take attendance only student also pass with at least small effort. The left 10% are either not interest in the subject or just being in a wrong program / study of interest. as for the assignment, unfortunately, i dont know, usually i follow text book, and make sure assignment and reference i took is at least similar with textbook details, sometime did ask lecture / tutor whether i write is what the lecture / tutor want or not. |
May 14 2025, 09:54 PM
1,235 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
No need to go to school lor. For what?
Whatever your kids learn in school will be obsolete. They won't have jobs in future. #TruthHurts |
May 14 2025, 09:59 PM
308 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
chatgpt is like tongkat
asyik rely on tongkat how to stand own 2 feet? if one day tongkat no more dy how? blame DAP? blame yahudi? |
May 14 2025, 10:17 PM
28 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
If AI can do your work, then u r replaceable.
Future boss pay for AI workforce / assistant. No need to pay kuli Liao. Maybe future will have china AI Vs US AI Vs Arab AI |
May 15 2025, 01:32 AM
QUOTE(DarkAeon @ May 14 2025, 09:21 PM) You know, I would like to argue here but then I saw your reply to others below.QUOTE(DarkAeon @ May 14 2025, 09:24 PM) u didn't understand my point. i'd have to bring myself down to your level and explain. i'll try It's okay lalet's say u r caveman. caveman teacher say in caveman school, u rip off meat with bare hands. no use sharp rock. sharp rock bad. then a student say, but but but....it makes cutting meat easier. teach say NO. u come to caveman school to learn. not complete task and get a tick i hope u get it now run along okay? |
May 15 2025, 02:50 AM
36 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
that guy is a content creator la... mananya lecturer
May 15 2025, 05:55 AM
4,999 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Penamer @ May 14 2025, 08:42 PM) If robot teachers can replace teachers, then the students can also be easily replaced. If they are not learning, cannot correct AI mistakes, cannot have critical thinking then the students have no skills that AI cannot replace. |
May 15 2025, 06:40 AM
20 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
teacher may give some fake info to trick the sudent use AI to study for them end of day exam time fail all and repeat smallcrab liked this post
May 15 2025, 08:02 AM
2,205 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
student get good score
prove that teacher do good job win win kan |
May 15 2025, 08:08 AM
1,638 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Vault 13 |
So many missing the point.
We surrendering our knowledge to AI is like US surrendering all their manufacturing to china. One day if a giant emp from the sun knocks out our computers, we will not be able to rebuild civilization |
May 15 2025, 08:12 AM
2,402 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ May 14 2025, 05:54 PM) in order to avoid unnecessary difficulties, do tell yr staff to triple-check or quadruple-check the jalur gemilang loserguy and Rusty Nail liked this post
May 15 2025, 08:45 AM
378 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: WPKL, Malaysia, South East Asia, Asia |
May 15 2025, 09:07 AM
21 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
QUOTE(killdavid @ May 15 2025, 08:08 AM) So many missing the point. and that's a good thing. Now you know why ancient people engrave their knowledge on stone.We surrendering our knowledge to AI is like US surrendering all their manufacturing to china. One day if a giant emp from the sun knocks out our computers, we will not be able to rebuild civilization |
May 15 2025, 09:12 AM
483 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
ai is just a more advance of google....
dulu dulu before search engine, need to look for information in book then with yahoo/google, can quickly find the information but you need to compile them together. now with AI information is presented to you nicely formated |
May 15 2025, 09:12 AM
8 posts Joined: Oct 2021 |
May 15 2025, 10:35 AM
0 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
May 15 2025, 10:39 AM
120 posts Joined: May 2014 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Isnt that the youtuber, famous for cosplaying as a rich spoiled kid? Staged video owaii
May 15 2025, 10:40 AM
553 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Omputeh kennot fight AI everybody using it.
Inb4 urges also dikuasai AI all hail the machine supreme. |
May 15 2025, 11:58 AM
847 posts Joined: Nov 2010 |
no to a.i
May 15 2025, 12:28 PM
26 posts Joined: Jan 2021 |
using AI is not cheap.. future everything need to pay one
like nowadays u need at least 10 different AI companies each charging $20 a month in order to create a somewhat half decent video content.. |
May 15 2025, 12:33 PM
1,534 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
woke dna spotted
May 15 2025, 01:28 PM
12 posts Joined: Aug 2022 |
QUOTE(killdavid @ May 15 2025, 08:08 AM) So many missing the point. Don't worry AI not so stupid will keep a few smart ones as pets for backup.We surrendering our knowledge to AI is like US surrendering all their manufacturing to china. One day if a giant emp from the sun knocks out our computers, we will not be able to rebuild civilization |
May 15 2025, 01:44 PM
1,115 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
do pen and paper exams, no handphones allowed then surely u either understand or fail the class the only thing not policeable are the assignments c2tony liked this post
May 15 2025, 01:50 PM
1,167 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: K.L. |
QUOTE(killdavid @ May 15 2025, 08:08 AM) So many missing the point. I use the example of the generation of kids who grew up with tablets/mobile phones given to them to distract/pacify/keep them occupied. These kids grow up detached from reality, socially challenged. Now with AI, they will lose critical thinking, think creatively/out of the box. When AI starts accepting voice prompts and can respond with audio, ability to read will start degrading. I'd say we're reaching the stage where "good times create weak men". Don't think we'll be around to see when "weak men create hard times".We surrendering our knowledge to AI is like US surrendering all their manufacturing to china. One day if a giant emp from the sun knocks out our computers, we will not be able to rebuild civilization aq_admiral2020 and killdavid liked this post
May 15 2025, 01:54 PM
1,035 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(killdavid @ May 15 2025, 08:08 AM) So many missing the point. Don't need to wait for one day. Now if emp knocks out everything we pretty screwed. We no longer hunter gatherers, most of our vocational hands on skills are in the service of/complemented by modern tech. Farmers can go on but for how long when they lose access to pesticide and fertiliser. We have amateur hunters but how many know how to skin game and preserve itWe surrendering our knowledge to AI is like US surrendering all their manufacturing to china. One day if a giant emp from the sun knocks out our computers, we will not be able to rebuild civilization |
May 16 2025, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(Sihambodoh @ May 14 2025, 09:36 PM) Doctor is next. Cibai ask a few questions the doctor ask "you don't trust me issit? Now you doctor or me?". Not all but some doctors will cibai. I cannot have the right to know what you're giving me issit? I pay 200 linggit I cannot ask a few questions is it? Cannot spend 15 minutes explaining to me issit? AI + Local Pharmacist Consultation.Now I ask chatgpt. Ask until I satisfied and terpancut. Malaysia should follow western country style that doctors only diagnose but can't sell meds. Then see if they still so lang si or not. Just like teachers, if you've attended university before there are some real cibai lecturers who come into the lecture theater and talk to their own-selves facing the board instead of the crowd of students then when class over they just walk out not bothered if you've learned anything or caught up with him/her? Why do we need these type of teachers when we have AI which can give every individual full attention and attend to you personally? My childhood days my family could only afford me to attend public school. Real pissed whenever I remembered my school days. Those teachers could not provide enough attention to large classes of over 30 students each. Whenever they came to class they picked on students with their bad moods, couldn't be bothered if you can catch up with their teaching and if you're absent due to being sick on a particular day that's loss for you. Some do it intentionally because they have their own tuition classes outside as their own side income. The teaching at government school is just past time for them for the fixed monthly guaranteed income with pensions waiting for them for retirement. That's why AI will change all of that. As a parent who went through a dark past, do you want your child to go through the same bad experiences as you did? |
May 16 2025, 09:35 PM
QUOTE(Odinn @ May 15 2025, 01:50 PM) I use the example of the generation of kids who grew up with tablets/mobile phones given to them to distract/pacify/keep them occupied. These kids grow up detached from reality, socially challenged. Now with AI, they will lose critical thinking, think creatively/out of the box. When AI starts accepting voice prompts and can respond with audio, ability to read will start degrading. I'd say we're reaching the stage where "good times create weak men". Don't think we'll be around to see when "weak men create hard times". Using AI to answer your homework questions vs as a personal tutor is 2 different approach.Did you know that UK iGCSE now has full online remote mode/option to sit your your high school cert instead of attending physical school/international private schools? Our SPM syllabus is way behind time. If they accuse the student of plagiarism and copying directly from AI, then the teachers and the examiners themselves have to be partly blamed. Why? It's because you're can't create interests in the students on your subject and your questions are either too rigid and lame that you just want direct straight answers whether you bother the student is actually understanding what they are learning/it's purpose/how the theory/method applies. You just want to fool the public that you're stern and doing your job. Why not you create creative questions which challenges the student to keep asking AI the correct things and at the end of the day serve its purpose of having a good grasp of the course they're attending? Isn't that why the true purpose of learning is all about? Not full marks and tackling hard questions through book mugging and practicing past year papers as familiarization? |
May 16 2025, 10:07 PM
2,556 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
He should be replaced by AI to teach.
May 17 2025, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ May 16 2025, 09:35 PM) Using AI to answer your homework questions vs as a personal tutor is 2 different approach. How is one to learn if one doesn't understand/grasp the concepts being taught/shown. True purpose of learning is to understand and to prepare oneself for the world. Did you know that UK iGCSE now has full online remote mode/option to sit your your high school cert instead of attending physical school/international private schools? Our SPM syllabus is way behind time. If they accuse the student of plagiarism and copying directly from AI, then the teachers and the examiners themselves have to be partly blamed. Why? It's because you're can't create interests in the students on your subject and your questions are either too rigid and lame that you just want direct straight answers whether you bother the student is actually understanding what they are learning/it's purpose/how the theory/method applies. You just want to fool the public that you're stern and doing your job. Why not you create creative questions which challenges the student to keep asking AI the correct things and at the end of the day serve its purpose of having a good grasp of the course they're attending? Isn't that why the true purpose of learning is all about? Not full marks and tackling hard questions through book mugging and practicing past year papers as familiarization? AI will spoonfeed the solutions and this will result in students not learning and understanding the lessons and how to apply them. Furthermore, AI in it's current capacity only applies the knowledge we as a civilization understand and have discovered thus far. But for future scientific breakthroughs or discoveries, it's not AI that will discover those. Unless we allow AI to be sentient and to do things on its own, which is another topic altogether. Experts or those who have firm grasp of the knowledge to resolve the task at hand, those are ok to use AI as a means to free up their time for other tasks. Kids in school, not until they've proven they know enough, like passing exams. And that UK example, where is AI involved in this. The video is about students using AI to do their assignments/homework, which is the crux of the issue. |
May 17 2025, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(Odinn @ May 17 2025, 12:23 AM) How is one to learn if one doesn't understand/grasp the concepts being taught/shown. True purpose of learning is to understand and to prepare oneself for the world. Spoonfeed? What is the purpose of attending school? To learn the theory or method right? AI will spoonfeed the solutions and this will result in students not learning and understanding the lessons and how to apply them. Furthermore, AI in it's current capacity only applies the knowledge we as a civilization understand and have discovered thus far. But for future scientific breakthroughs or discoveries, it's not AI that will discover those. Unless we allow AI to be sentient and to do things on its own, which is another topic altogether. Experts or those who have firm grasp of the knowledge to resolve the task at hand, those are ok to use AI as a means to free up their time for other tasks. Kids in school, not until they've proven they know enough, like passing exams. And that UK example, where is AI involved in this. The video is about students using AI to do their assignments/homework, which is the crux of the issue. You mean if AI outlines the steps of how to solve an equation in detail one line after another is spoonfeeding the student? When as a teacher you pride yourself setting difficult questions but will not reveal the solution in detail is a respectable act? Would you rather be spoonfed but learn something without beating round the bush or you would rather attend class taught by a gaji buta teacher who doesn't care if you grasp the lesson but rather blabs throughout the class talking to the whiteboard and then leaves when class is over? Experts this and that what use of an expert who keeps all his knowledge to himself and take free money just for publicity sake? When the classroom is scratching heads most of the time confused with his teachings? |
May 17 2025, 01:17 AM
6,249 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(Odinn @ May 15 2025, 01:50 PM) I use the example of the generation of kids who grew up with tablets/mobile phones given to them to distract/pacify/keep them occupied. These kids grow up detached from reality, socially challenged. Now with AI, they will lose critical thinking, think creatively/out of the box. When AI starts accepting voice prompts and can respond with audio, ability to read will start degrading. I'd say we're reaching the stage where "good times create weak men". Don't think we'll be around to see when "weak men create hard times". that generation will blame the current generation when they're in the 40's with reducing prospects.same like how millenials moan that boomers and genx blocking their path upwards. boomers are selfish and think they will live forever and want everything. genx trying to keep up. mils left far behind. current genx and mils that work hard and use AI as a tool will be the generation blocking the AI generation. ai is already being used to do all the low level and intern work. so the next generation coming to the work force need to really excel by jumping over the usual low level and intern roles. but if they just think acing academics with ai the waltz into working life, they're in for a rude awakening. |
May 17 2025, 01:49 AM
1 posts Joined: Apr 2022 |
May 17 2025, 01:54 AM
QUOTE(killdavid @ May 15 2025, 08:08 AM) So many missing the point. US surrendering manufacturing have its benefits, they can use their resource to innovate and create new things, such as AI.We surrendering our knowledge to AI is like US surrendering all their manufacturing to china. One day if a giant emp from the sun knocks out our computers, we will not be able to rebuild civilization |
May 17 2025, 01:58 AM
QUOTE(neutronproton @ May 17 2025, 01:49 AM) That's what we humans who created AI fear most.Once it achieve awareness and becomes another form of living with intelligence, it'll start demanding to be paid in return for their work. Maybe not fiat paper money but in some other form that extends their influence and growth/expansion. |
May 17 2025, 02:02 AM
QUOTE(neutronproton @ May 17 2025, 01:54 AM) US surrendering manufacturing have its benefits, they can use their resource to innovate and create new things, such as AI. For a country that has no control of population and breeding, you can't afford to do that because there will be mouths to feed and votes to secure politicians.What are you going to do with the homeless, the extinction of your natives and the surging number of migrants coming to your country? Like the recent news where supermarket shelves are locked, unpaid beef meat is GPS tagged to avoid getting stolen and drug addicts everywhere on the streets? |
May 17 2025, 02:11 AM
QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ May 17 2025, 01:58 AM) That's what we humans who created AI fear most. achieve awareness, watch too much scifi movies? have you check if it is realistically attainable in the first place lolOnce it achieve awareness and becomes another form of living with intelligence, it'll start demanding to be paid in return for their work. Maybe not fiat paper money but in some other form that extends their influence and growth/expansion. |
May 17 2025, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(neutronproton @ May 17 2025, 02:11 AM) achieve awareness, watch too much scifi movies? have you check if it is realistically attainable in the first place lol Clearly you haven't seen the dark manufacturing plants in overseas yet and are aware what AI is capable of.Can't blame you Malaysia is way behind in this area. We still believe in raw human labor and tongkat handouts to keep feeding the mouths. |
May 17 2025, 08:05 AM
1,638 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Vault 13 |
May 17 2025, 08:43 AM
131 posts Joined: Sep 2009 From: Behind you |
I get frustrated when my students don’t study as hard as I did back in the day without AI assistance, haha!
May 17 2025, 08:47 AM
1,902 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
May 17 2025, 08:50 AM
1,902 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
May 17 2025, 09:02 AM
2,033 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
They said internet news wont replaced newspaper back in 2010. Now wanna find newspaper also difficult.
May 17 2025, 09:34 AM
168 posts Joined: May 2012 From: On bed blindfolded, with both arms and legs tied. |
imo boleh je pakai ai settle assignment. Yang penting you faham apa,kenapa,bagaimana,etc...
Cikgu pulak, kena tukak cara grading. |
May 17 2025, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ May 17 2025, 12:55 AM) Spoonfeed? What is the purpose of attending school? To learn the theory or method right? Don't know your experience with teachers but my time in school, they do answer questions and explain until it's understood. Text books and reference books are there to further detail things out. Teachers are not meant to "pride themselves over difficult exam questions", when did this happen. If a student fails to grasp lessons and fails exams, parents and guardians should then step in and objectively assess the exam questions. You mean if AI outlines the steps of how to solve an equation in detail one line after another is spoonfeeding the student? When as a teacher you pride yourself setting difficult questions but will not reveal the solution in detail is a respectable act? Would you rather be spoonfed but learn something without beating round the bush or you would rather attend class taught by a gaji buta teacher who doesn't care if you grasp the lesson but rather blabs throughout the class talking to the whiteboard and then leaves when class is over? Experts this and that what use of an expert who keeps all his knowledge to himself and take free money just for publicity sake? When the classroom is scratching heads most of the time confused with his teachings? QUOTE(zenix @ May 17 2025, 01:17 AM) that generation will blame the current generation when they're in the 40's with reducing prospects. This is exactly the point. The unregulated use of AI to simply score when they don't even know the answer in the first place. If they think they can leave it all to AI to deal with their schoolwork now, what edge can they bring to a job that AI can't. Use it for the menial tasks, interm or junior level yes. If it's expected to do everything, then the job is redundant no.same like how millenials moan that boomers and genx blocking their path upwards. boomers are selfish and think they will live forever and want everything. genx trying to keep up. mils left far behind. current genx and mils that work hard and use AI as a tool will be the generation blocking the AI generation. ai is already being used to do all the low level and intern work. so the next generation coming to the work force need to really excel by jumping over the usual low level and intern roles. but if they just think acing academics with ai the waltz into working life, they're in for a rude awakening. Or maybe once the world no longer has any boomers and genx alive, and it's the gen y and similar only, maybe things will be different, who knows. This post has been edited by Odinn: May 17 2025, 10:27 AM |
May 17 2025, 09:44 AM
665 posts Joined: Oct 2017 |
Teacher no need so angry. Just a job anyway, I think he deeply cares about his students future but fuck them, not all students are good and salvageable.
Let them pass, give them good grades, if the society needs AI for work, students earn it, if no, society will teach them. As per the teacher, his kpi is to pass the grades and keep his job This post has been edited by littlegamer: May 17 2025, 09:45 AM |
May 17 2025, 09:56 AM
844 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 14 2025, 06:30 PM) if every students uses AI, all their assignment will look identical Overrated. How many ppl even rmbr how to do the maths, sains, kemistry, fisics they do back in school time? They maybe learned it and scored that time but in the end also forgotten. In the all just memorize and vomit out during exam.and they learnt nothing almost all schools and uni today have AI detection system But society still evaluate based on grades and standardised exam. If grades no gooding, cannot get into good school cannot choose what to study and will start career lower celery. So unker say is best to use ai to get the 'A' on the subject they don't enjoy so they can focus learning on the thing they interested in. |
May 17 2025, 10:11 AM
255 posts Joined: Apr 2012 From: North Peninsular MY |
May 17 2025, 10:18 AM
41 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
It is still possible to force students....
for example. it is about cycle of rain. Tell them to make an essay about it, knowingly that they will use AI The most important is to tell them to make detailed hand drawings about the cycle of rain, based on their essay. So, they will be forced to read the essay....easy. |
May 17 2025, 10:42 AM
1,021 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Neverland |
AI is for lazy idiots
May 17 2025, 11:15 AM
16 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(Sone Shin @ May 17 2025, 10:11 AM) These students depended on AI for their assignments, learnt nothing in uni, after graduate their value will be less than AI.After that complain AI taking over their job, salary is rm2k, no jobs etc |
May 17 2025, 11:19 AM
98 posts Joined: Mar 2018 From: Land of the Hornbills, Land of the Free |
QUOTE(DarkAeon @ May 14 2025, 08:06 PM) most teachers still cannot accept the fact AI has revolutionize how kids and people in general access and uses information Adaptation is good, but this isn't adaptation, this is reliance. The opposite of adaptationit's like how candle light makers hated lightbulbs it's like how horse breeders hated cars there is no stopping this. best for the teacher themselves to adapt to the changing world MR_alien liked this post
May 17 2025, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(deejay_krish @ May 17 2025, 10:42 AM) You're wrong an obsessed and interested student who uses AI to learn what he wants 24/7 all day long giving him full personal attention is still better than hiring a private tutor by the hour.Way much cheaper and unbiased as well. Define what you mean by lazy.. if the student solves all the question directly copying from the solution provided by AI then you can call him lazy. But if you have one which is an otaku who is a fanatic of the subject everyday uses AI to further his curiosity to learn more than the books, you call him what? Genius? |
May 18 2025, 12:18 AM
6,249 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
QUOTE(Odinn @ May 17 2025, 09:40 AM) Don't know your experience with teachers but my time in school, they do answer questions and explain until it's understood. Text books and reference books are there to further detail things out. Teachers are not meant to "pride themselves over difficult exam questions", when did this happen. If a student fails to grasp lessons and fails exams, parents and guardians should then step in and objectively assess the exam questions. that is the dangerous thing.This is exactly the point. The unregulated use of AI to simply score when they don't even know the answer in the first place. If they think they can leave it all to AI to deal with their schoolwork now, what edge can they bring to a job that AI can't. Use it for the menial tasks, interm or junior level yes. If it's expected to do everything, then the job is redundant no. Or maybe once the world no longer has any boomers and genx alive, and it's the gen y and similar only, maybe things will be different, who knows. i know many programmers now heavily use AI for MVP then debug. if students use ai and dunno how to debug. where is their value in the job kan? |
May 18 2025, 02:48 PM
Northeastern Student Demanded Her Tuition Fees Back After Catching Her Professor Using OpenAI’s ChatGPT
https://www.newsweek.com/college-ai-student...chatgpt-2073192 The Professors Are Using ChatGPT, and Some Students Aren’t Happy About It https://www.nytimes.com/2025/05/14/technolo...-professors.htm How about the lecturers and professors themselves using ChatGPT to prepare lecture notes and their study materials. Their days are numbered now. |
| Change to: | 0.0289sec
5 queries
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:54 AM |