Chat Can IT Tech, Do that

TSkelang_kelus
post May 14 2025, 09:57 AM, updated 8 months ago

Can a normal IT technician with basic knowledge & skill of networking do cable termination & testing on oil & gas platform(onshore before deploy)?
What course/certificate needed to proceed doing this?
Can he/she be sue if just do the cable testing & termination without proper certificate & courses?

KenM
post May 14 2025, 10:05 AM

192 posts

QUOTE(kelang_kelus @ May 14 2025, 08:57 AM)
Can a normal IT technician with basic knowledge & skill of networking do cable termination & testing on oil & gas platform(onshore before deploy)?
What course/certificate needed to proceed doing this?
Can he/she be sue if just do the cable testing & termination without proper certificate & courses?

the tender specs will quantify the requirements… so if not having the correct certified technical team will void the contract or subject to legal action
lkyoong
post May 14 2025, 10:18 AM

188 posts

As long as all the parts have the correct fire rating and cable tested after termination with report. Then all good.

Cert is for compliance only. Nothing beats experience.... So get the cert person to sign off the report and experienced person to do the termination.
^KamilskaZ^
post May 14 2025, 10:21 AM

roar...roar....
1,222 posts

Your boss will do the all the cert, training before start the work.

You just do the boss task.
TSkelang_kelus
post May 14 2025, 10:40 AM

so, no need safety cert like cidb like that to go into such places?
Khamzat Chimaev
post May 14 2025, 10:56 AM

50 posts

dude, to go there u need special cert like opito etc no matter what work ur doing
alepfx
post May 14 2025, 12:03 PM

34 posts

YES you may. I have experience working as Project Engineer, System Engineer, mostly DCS, PLC, some field device instruments and used to hire external technician to assist with the installation and commissioning work in some chemical, oil and gas plants. So I might share some insights regarding your inquiry, which:

1. Courses for certifications will be provided/sponsored by your employer unless you are freelancing. So jgn pening unless your goal is to work as specialized/competent person in certain trade e.g. welding, radio testing, agt, ndt, network cisco, boilerman, chargeman, wireman, and tonnes other.

2. Every clients may require you to have certain certification but not all the same.

3. There are requirements for skills/trade cert and safety cert.

4. So most plants I work are in the Petronas plants, so they require OGSP, PTW, medical offshore/onshore(petronas
appointed).

5. Offshore; OGSP, OSP, PTW, Bosiet, medical.

6. For engineer, besides all of those, they require us to submit our BEM cert, resume.

7. If you declare yourself as wireman, chargeman, electrical engineer, you require to provide either B0, PW1, PW3, pw4 or anything certified as competent person by Suruhanjaya Tenaga and required by the client.

8. Similar stuffs with other specialized trade.

9. My advice, tak mau pening kepala, take SHO course, approach any employer to fill up your log book or green book and jump the ship. There are some institute may provide the course for free, even give you some allowance. Their targeted students are the experienced worker, not the fresh grad, example PUSPATRI Johor.

10. The requirements are determined by the client, e.g. during my time, cidb is not required by petronas but it is compulsory by LOTTE pasir gudang. OGSP tak laku di LOTTE Pasir Gudang, but you must have cidb.

11. All of these were like prior 2018, so I have no idea on the current requirement by client in chemical, oil and gas.

12.So irony, I left the chemical, oil and gas, migrate to machine learning, mostly IT and some engineering. I found out the payments is more lucrative in IT rather than chemical, oil and gas.

Btw goodluck with the job hunting and godspeed.
zerorating
post May 14 2025, 12:05 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

dont think its much a problem for someone who installed equipment on telecommunication tower, they already have ball of steel already.
TSkelang_kelus
post May 14 2025, 03:12 PM

QUOTE(alepfx @ May 14 2025, 12:03 PM)
YES you may. I have experience working as Project Engineer, System Engineer, mostly DCS, PLC, some field device instruments and used to hire external technician to assist with the installation and commissioning work in some chemical, oil and gas plants. So I might share some insights regarding your inquiry, which:

1. Courses for certifications will be provided/sponsored by your employer unless you are freelancing. So jgn pening unless your goal is to work as specialized/competent person in certain trade e.g. welding, radio testing, agt, ndt, network cisco, boilerman, chargeman, wireman, and tonnes other.

2. Every clients may require you to have certain certification but not all the same.

3. There are requirements for skills/trade cert and safety cert.

4. So most plants I work are in the Petronas plants, so they require OGSP, PTW, medical offshore/onshore(petronas
appointed).

5. Offshore; OGSP, OSP, PTW, Bosiet, medical.

6. For engineer, besides all of those, they require us to submit our BEM cert, resume.

7. If you declare yourself as wireman, chargeman, electrical engineer, you require to provide either B0, PW1, PW3, pw4 or anything certified as competent person by Suruhanjaya Tenaga and required by the client.

8. Similar stuffs with other specialized trade.

9. My advice, tak mau pening kepala, take SHO course, approach any employer to fill up your log book or green book and jump the ship. There are some institute may provide the course for free, even give you some allowance. Their targeted students are the experienced worker, not the fresh grad, example PUSPATRI Johor.

10. The requirements are determined by the client, e.g. during my time, cidb is not required by petronas but it is compulsory by LOTTE pasir gudang. OGSP tak laku di LOTTE Pasir Gudang, but you must have cidb.

11. All of these were like prior 2018, so I have no idea on the current requirement by client in chemical, oil and gas.

12.So irony, I left the chemical, oil and gas, migrate to machine learning, mostly IT and some engineering. I found out the payments is more lucrative in IT rather than chemical, oil and gas.

Btw goodluck with the job hunting and godspeed.
Wow, much info. Thanks notworthy.gif

0.0143sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:58 PM