Dianping (大众点评) Registration, is it possible with local phone number

TSlowyat101
post May 12 2025, 07:25 PM, updated 7 months ago

2,538 posts

Wanna ask if it's possible to register for a Dianping account using local phone number? I tried just now but keep getting this error message:

Could it be I missed out some steps?

syyang85
post May 12 2025, 08:18 PM

982 posts

No. Mainland number ok.

This post has been edited by syyang85: May 12 2025, 08:19 PM
Chanwsan
post May 12 2025, 08:48 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Since when CCP apps can accept numbers other than CCP numbers?
TSlowyat101
post May 12 2025, 08:51 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(Chanwsan @ May 12 2025, 08:48 PM)
Since when CCP apps can accept numbers other than CCP numbers?
I can register and use Alipay hmm.gif hmm.gif

TSlowyat101
post May 12 2025, 08:52 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(syyang85 @ May 12 2025, 08:18 PM)
No. Mainland number ok.
I see, ok noted with thanks. Coz I see there's option to select MY as the country code.

MR_alien
post May 12 2025, 09:08 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

i'm into this topic as well since i just saw a malaysian in shanghai right now saying using dianping to order food is better value than ordering it on the spot with the waiter/waitress

since the app cannot use local number, is it because she bought a china sim card to register?
TSlowyat101
post May 12 2025, 09:13 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 12 2025, 09:08 PM)
i'm into this topic as well since i just saw a malaysian in shanghai right now saying using dianping to order food is better value than ordering it on the spot with the waiter/waitress

since the app cannot use local number, is it because she bought a china sim card to register?
Ya wanted to use the app to get good deals in my next trip.

But just managed to install the Meituan app, which is under the same group as Dianping and having more functions other than food discounts. And managed to add my Alliance Bank Virtual Card to the payment method. But not sure if can use it without verifying my real identity. I guess will need to try and see.

Icehart
post May 12 2025, 11:54 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ May 12 2025, 09:13 PM)
Ya wanted to use the app to get good deals in my next trip.

But just managed to install the Meituan app, which is under the same group as Dianping and having more functions other than food discounts. And managed to add my Alliance Bank Virtual Card to the payment method. But not sure if can use it without verifying my real identity. I guess will need to try and see.
Dianping need chinese number. Mei Tuan don't need.
both apps serve different purpose. Mostly Dian ping is for ordering and sometimes 打卡 to get free stuffs, i.e free drinks, dessert etc.

This post has been edited by Icehart: May 12 2025, 11:55 PM
DogeGamingPRO
post May 13 2025, 01:33 AM

166 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 12 2025, 11:54 PM)
both apps serve different purpose. Mostly Dian ping is for ordering and sometimes 打卡 to get free stuffs, i.e free drinks, dessert etc.
They use shared acc so if u can sign into one u can the other

I am using Malaysian number with both meituan and dianping

No issues. Only last time kena suspicious lock just have to call them(China number) to verify and unlock but after that all good so far

I log in with WeChat which is tied to my Malaysian phone number
TSlowyat101
post May 13 2025, 08:41 AM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ May 12 2025, 11:54 PM)
I see, thanks for the info.

TSlowyat101
post May 13 2025, 08:43 AM

2,538 posts

Ya look like it. After registered with Meituan I can now login to Dianping with the same local MY number.

This post has been edited by lowyat101: May 13 2025, 08:43 AM
kenloh7
post Aug 28 2025, 02:14 PM

414 posts

I created an account on meituan by logging into wechat linked. There, i updated my number to be 013xxxxxxx after OTP is received.

Then i try to enter dianping by logging into wechat also. Over there, they ask me to put in my number, so i put in the same meituan number, however no OTP is received at all, even after multiple requests.

Anyone having same issue?
chongkiatz
post Oct 16 2025, 03:20 PM

6,731 posts

why i can't receive verification code from dianping to register? anyone face this problem?

0.0143sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:39 AM