T1, T20 and B40 Detailed Breakdown, Real Celery
icemanfx
May 14 2025, 09:19 AM
QUOTE(ridin @ May 13 2025, 05:51 PM) Not sure I understand your question. It's not limited to surgeons. I only know a few doctors and was responding to another comment on surgeons. Many business owners also fail. In fact, majority of those who started business has likely failed. A few of my friends who ventured into business has failed (corporate gift service, team building/event company, etc) We only hear the success feel good stories online. That guy I referred to earning RM200k monthly.. He has worked as a doctor for >20 years before getting sub-specialized. Now reaping the rewards at late 40s but still working non-stop. No time to spend with fam and kids. 90% of new business fail in the first 3 years
kitzai
May 14 2025, 09:20 AM

QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ May 13 2025, 09:43 PM) Grey economy, they dun even open tax file with lhdn rite? like nasi lemak makcik, “freelance” plumber electrician aircon man… cash biz only… where got resit? But the charges  These income may not be that high. Ppl I know like directors, high risks jobs like divers earned 6 figures monthly
jojolicia
May 14 2025, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(DoomCognition @ May 12 2025, 06:34 PM) Household Numbers. Real stuff, not sembang kencang.  Guess my 12k celery ain't that bad after all. Kesian me B30
boyboycute
May 14 2025, 09:28 AM
T5 and above are the real rich household. The rest are poor
TiramisuCoffee
May 14 2025, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(kitzai @ May 14 2025, 09:20 AM) These income may not be that high. Ppl I know like directors, high risks jobs like divers earned 6 figures monthly Can’t escape reporting lhdn wat if work for legal co… seems like not many ppl top 1% actuality.. all lagak kaya tapi…
jasontoh
May 16 2025, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(TiramisuCoffee @ May 14 2025, 11:49 AM) Can’t escape reporting lhdn wat if work for legal co… seems like not many ppl top 1% actuality.. all lagak kaya tapi…  Even if full population paying tax it is still jz 300K people, whats more this is from the population of 4.2M tax payers. Doubt ppl lagak kaya except PMX having grudge with T15 folks by labeling them mahakaya.
blanket84
May 16 2025, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(cms @ May 13 2025, 06:33 PM) Its stats. i.e splitting household income by 40:40:20 buckets. What classification you talking about? Its just simple stats. You feel its incorrect ? Correct. I think most people want the line of B,M & T to be moved so that it reflect better the financial condition of Malaysians. From the stats, it’s best to group it as B80, M15 and T5 since the graph is pretty exponential.
GreenSamurai
May 16 2025, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(DoomCognition @ May 12 2025, 06:34 PM) Household Numbers. Real stuff, not sembang kencang.  Guess my 12k celery ain't that bad after all. My household income is T6 bordering T5 yet I feel so poor. I really gotta work on my wants and needs list.
Ixis
May 16 2025, 10:25 AM

Net or gross salary total for household ?
Data was 2022 valid for now ?
pysh
May 16 2025, 10:35 AM
2022, got 2025 mia tak? need to factor in inflation lol
dudester
May 16 2025, 10:40 AM
before or after tax and epf deduction?
Chrix
May 16 2025, 10:42 AM
earn 20k but owe 17k earn 5k but owe 2k
Drian
May 16 2025, 10:42 AM
to be frank T1 is quite low.
37k means roughly 18Ksalary for husband and wife.
Take home of 37k minus tax and epf is roughly 25-27k /month.
khaimitoban
May 16 2025, 10:45 AM
some of us need to start wadidaw already to earn extra income
brkli
May 16 2025, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(Drian @ May 16 2025, 10:42 AM) to be frank T1 is quite low. 37k means roughly 18Ksalary for husband and wife. Take home of 37k minus tax and epf is roughly 25-27k /month. they lazy split it already 1% also still got like 160K people (income earners).. maybe there is one or two earn RM37K and the rest is RM100K+++ and those rich with asset and or business owner is not even in the list. they probably pulling lesser income but hold many stocks and etc. This post has been edited by brkli: May 16 2025, 10:50 AM
jaycee1
May 16 2025, 10:55 AM
Scale is pessimistic.
Doesnt take much to be T20. Basically if you can afford a normal house in KV and 2 cars, you are already very much in the T20 range already. Thats at least 8k in loan payments per month.
Even T1 is pessimistic, there are a lot way over the 37k cutoff. Basically all my clients.
kidmad
May 16 2025, 10:56 AM
should i feel proud of me alone T3 borderline T2. hahaha somehow this kind of graph makes you feel good but in reality it's not all sunshine and butterfly.
kidmad
May 16 2025, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(Drian @ May 16 2025, 10:42 AM) to be frank T1 is quite low. 37k means roughly 18Ksalary for husband and wife. Take home of 37k minus tax and epf is roughly 25-27k /month.  why you want to break our bubbles..
Drian
May 16 2025, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(kidmad @ May 16 2025, 10:57 AM)  why you want to break our bubbles.. RM 25-27k is 6-7k USD household income in US. 7k USD household income in US is B30, my guesstimate. So top 1% income in Malaysia is equivalent to Bottom 30% in US. That's why the government use percentile, cause this can give an impression that there is a lot of rich people in Malaysia. If they use absolute numbers, it will expose how relatively poor we are. So there are people here in /k who are not that good in mathematics/critical thinking who thinks T20 earns a lot and have to be taxed way more. I caught a few people in /k doing that.
kidmad
May 16 2025, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(Drian @ May 16 2025, 11:11 AM) RM 25-27k is 6-7k USD household income in US. 7k USD household income in US is B30, my guesstimate. So top 1% income in Malaysia is equivalent to Bottom 30% in US. That's why the government use percentile, cause this can give an impression that there is a lot of rich people in Malaysia. If they use absolute numbers, it will expose how relatively poor we are. So there are people here in /k who are not that good in mathematics/critical thinking who thinks T20 earns a lot and have to be taxed way more. I caught a few people in /k doing that. eh u stop comparing with us-a la.. live in Malaysia we follow Malaysia standard.. house 1m 3 storey 3k+ sft chor.. how's much is that going to cost you in NY, LA or California. the Americans now have a bigger problem to tackle county our blessing living here.. unless your not.