silverhawk
post May 12 2025, 10:49 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(azack @ May 12 2025, 01:09 PM)
Fish n chip is probably one of cheapest options when eating out in amdk countries. Go hawker centre that sell western food maybe cheaper. Forget about fish n co and Manhattan.
Depends where you go, just like here in M`sia you can get good nasi lemak and shiet nasi lemak at different price points.

If you go to nasi lemak shops overseas, the price sure more expensive than here with subpar taste, mostly due to sourcing of ingredients and cooking techniques.

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ May 12 2025, 01:19 PM)
Yes exactly.
That's why I don't understand why they sell it so expensive here in our country.
It's freaking cheap at amdk countries.
I can afford to pay expensive food, but I don't see the justification of paying so much for a fish & chip.
The same fish they use is much cheaper in UK than it is in Malaysia. 125g of Cod would cost you about RM32 (frozen), the same weight in UK is 3.75GBP/RM21 (fresh).

QUOTE(smallcrab @ May 12 2025, 01:43 PM)
Fish & Co
Sedappp though only dory fish
FIsh & Co you can choose haddock, red snapper and pollock also.
darkmusses
post May 13 2025, 08:48 AM

595 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ May 12 2025, 01:01 PM)
Can someone tell me why Fish & Chips food is so expensive compared to you eat chicken as your meal?

I checked price at Fish & Co and Manhattan Fish Market restaurants; the price of the fish & chips is really expensive.
Same goes with other restaurants that sells Fish & Chips. confused.gif  shocking.gif

Even when I went to frozen section at grocery stores, I saw some of the frozen fish & chips are quite expensive.

The cheapest fish & chip that I saw usually around RM15-RM18, but most of the time the price would be RM28 and above.
First of all, the 2 company you mentioned food is "gross" .. I will never go there unless extremely crave for one which usually happened once in 6 mths to 1 yrs ..

Secondly, those "cheap" Dory fish they use as standard food meal I ate at home like COD and Salmon is just unbearable for my taste bud .. worst coming from cheap frozen fish ..

I can't fathom ppl will go for such low quality food TBH but hey .. that IMO anyway ..

Forget to add on they dont even have proper condiment for it .. I'm talking Malt vinegar specifically ..

lorrydriverrocks
post May 13 2025, 09:06 AM

268 posts

I only pay rm11, sedap beb
Got fries, salad and lemon squeeze
laksamana
post May 13 2025, 10:15 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ May 12 2025, 09:18 PM)
bruh still living in year 1980s maybe to get that price for fish and chips in UK. nowadays averaging 10 pounds for fish and chips or more ed eventho its supposed to be commoner's food
Yeah agree, I remember being in London during early-80's.

Price was between 2 - 4 quid for fish & chips (wrapped in paper), big portion, will be very full and satisfied.

Can still find something < 10 quid now, but that will be for the fish only. Chips / mash / peas / sauce etc will be charged extra.

This post has been edited by laksamana: May 13 2025, 10:17 AM
LDP
post May 13 2025, 10:18 AM

632 posts

Its quite cheap in Europe...but it can be also expensive..I have eaten expensive fish and chips coz the fish are not harvested..It is caught from the sea and the chips are hand made or hand crafted....(not salty or filled with MSG)
KevProp
post May 13 2025, 10:23 AM

81 posts

the money you pay for the fisherman, vendor and the restaurant staff salary

if you think is expensive then you go pancing and cook yourself, much much cheaper

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0142sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:16 PM