Possibility of being scammed from selling car?

ZeneticX
post May 7 2025, 07:39 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

Meet up and deal in person

Never transfer ownership until you received full payment from the buyer
ZeneticX
post May 7 2025, 07:39 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 7 2025, 07:10 PM)
You have to do thumbprint first before buyer release payment. That’s how private car sales are done

The risk is with the buyer if you don’t do thumbprint after he make full payment

I experienced selling 2 cars before. Other replies above I can see no experience at all so take their advise with pinch of salt
Nowadays don't even need thumbprint if both the seller and buyer have JPJ mysikap. Everything can be done online
ZeneticX
post May 7 2025, 07:58 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 7 2025, 07:54 PM)
It's the other way round. After transfer over the ownership then only receive payment
What happen if buyer don't pay? The ownership already under the buyer name. He can claim the car is his based on record alone. More trouble on your side to deal with things only.

It's like sending an item over before receiving the money.

Anyway I sold my car few months ago, after received full payment only I transfer the ownership to new owner. Deal in person, no problems at all.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=110364441

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 7 2025, 08:02 PM
ZeneticX
post May 7 2025, 08:04 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 7 2025, 08:02 PM)
Can show evidence to JPJ and reverse it. He's selling an old car. So many risk to buyer buying a problematic car.
If buyer already transfer money then seller don't transfer ownership...not easy to reverse payment....so risk in this transaction is higher for buyer
TS is seller... of course we are offering advice from sellers perspective lah doh.gif. As a seller we obviously would prefer full payment before transferring ownership over.

As a buyer you would think otherwise of course. But in the end trading online is all about trust and being smart.

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 7 2025, 08:05 PM

0.0240sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:15 PM