Floorp Web Browser

TSJLA
post May 5 2025, 04:44 PM, updated 7 months ago

2,768 posts

Floorp is an open-source browser derived from Firefox. The Floorp software is made available under the terms of various open source licenses, including the Mozilla Public License. This means you may use, copy, modify, and distribute Floorp to others, as long as you follow the open source licenses and the Floorp Project's trademark guidelines.

Firefox ESR 128.x based
with extended browser settings
Made In Japan

https://github.com/Floorp-Projects/Floorp?tab=readme-ov-file
il0ve51
post May 5 2025, 05:02 PM

1,053 posts

any special? i use brave, direct block ads.
Crovoseas
post May 5 2025, 05:10 PM

352 posts

Is there a specific reason to prefer this browser over other mainstream options?
1024kbps
post May 5 2025, 05:47 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ May 5 2025, 05:02 PM)
any special? i use brave, direct block ads.
for adblock, you can use your favorite browser, eg google chrome
Firefox, chrome based browsers all support custom DNS.

Windows 10,
Android also supports custom DNS, just add Adguard DNS and i will magically blocks all the ads

or just block at router level

TL;DR
You dont even need to use custom browser
down side is it's blanket block, all ads are blocked, ads in your mails will not working.

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: May 5 2025, 05:48 PM
andrekua2
post May 6 2025, 07:56 AM

13,460 posts

Rather than sticking up with Firefox, why not try some China based browser? I mean Google totally controlled the internet right now. Everyone is using their chromium engine and those that are not doing are either dead or almost dead.

SUSSyok Your Mom
post May 7 2025, 03:38 AM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

Is it better than Opera?
TSJLA
post May 7 2025, 04:11 PM

2,768 posts

Fast and Private Web Browser

Get privacy out of the box with Waterfox.

Another firefox ESR based web browser

I think this one lighter than the original mozilla fox
1024kbps
post May 8 2025, 10:19 PM

李素裳
6,009 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ May 7 2025, 03:38 AM)
Is it better than Opera?
Opera now is just reskinned chrome, plus it sold to China business.

For me, Edge used to be better browser, the old engine Edge used performed quite well with low end system.
Now Edge is just another chrome with MS logo.

Lesser known browser are : Naver Whale, Vivaldi.
currently sticking with Edge as most of them more or less are same, vanilla chrome is still faster plus fully integrated with android.
TSJLA
post May 9 2025, 10:58 AM

2,768 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ May 8 2025, 10:19 PM)

For me, Edge used to be better browser, the old engine Edge used performed quite well with low end system.

currently sticking with Edge as most of them more or less are same, vanilla chrome is still faster plus fully integrated with android.
Naver Whale
https://whale.naver.com/en/
Web browser based on the Chromium web browser developed by South Korean technology company Naver Corporation, which is available in English and Korean.

Vivaldi
Web browser based on the Chromium web browser developed by the original Opera team

Edge
Web browser based on the Chromium web browser developed by the Microsoft co

ungoogled-chromium
Chromium web browser minus Google web service dependency
Installing extensions may need some trick
https://github.com/ungoogled-software/ungoogled-chromium

there are so many Web browser based on the Chromium web browser

firefox based web browser mostly focus on privacy
example dudkduckbrowser, tor browser, mullvad browser
SUSSyok Your Mom
post May 9 2025, 04:28 PM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ May 8 2025, 10:19 PM)

Dunno but I'm kinda addicted to Opera at the moment, tried Edge before, maybe I will give it another try again

0.0162sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:03 AM