Procedure to buy subsale properties?, scared of scams

rx330
post May 2 2025, 11:27 AM

11,808 posts

1st, identify the unit you wanted, go view and upfront tell agent you are not paying for the 1% buyer fee, since you are the one who contacted them, unless you request agent to find specific unit for you, then pls pay them the 1%

2ndly, once decided then can try to negotiate the pricing to your liking, once all done, its time to pay them the 2% booking fee and sign the letter of offer

3rd, best is get a lawyer you are familiar with, ,issue the 2% to them, and the rest get the seller or agent to get their lawyer to deal with you, never ever use the seller's lawyer even if they tell you can have a better discount on lawyer fee. DO NOT save on the lawyer fee, get your own to protect your ownself

Subsequently is to go apply for loan, then pay another 8% to complete the 10% downpayment, after signing of SPA got another 90 days to pay balance depending on how much the bank is lending you. Need to clear the remaining before bank release the sum to the seller

Do remember subsale u will need to fork out additional close to 6% for the stamp duties and lawyer fee for both loan n spa
rx330
post May 3 2025, 10:02 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ May 2 2025, 12:29 PM)
Plenty of guides on which are accurate enough.

When you do find a place, ask the agent what is procedure & compare against what is readily stated in various guides.

Payments are to lawyer office, andor property agency, never personal accounts.

I also buy subsales only.
any specific reason why only subsales?
rx330
post May 3 2025, 10:20 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 3 2025, 10:14 AM)
In states like Pen & Johor, the "rule" is buyer pay 1%. If we tell them we're not paying, will the agent keluar pattern and do something behind our back (like getting vendor to sign other OTP with other potential buyers who are willing to pay the 1%)?
no such rule, the rule is maximum they can get is 3%
but the "rule" is there to maximise their earning

well if the agent does something like tat, then let other buyer pay for the 1%, but the 1% or nego to 0.5% or a token sum also sign of good will la if you have been asking the agent to search for a particular unit that you prefer, then just pay them what is due

best is state clearly your intention in the 1st place, the 1% to agent does not happen in developer sales, only on the secondary market
rx330
post May 3 2025, 10:34 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ May 3 2025, 10:29 AM)
We're looking for a subsale in a particular neighbourhood. We go through the ads placed by agents online, then contact the agents if a unit pops up. Every agent told us it's the rule here, unlike in KL where the vendors bear all the commission.

Asking them to look for a unit for us is meaningless as they will still end up recommending units we can see in online portals like propguru etc.
in tat case just tell the agent upfront, if they are ok without the 1%, u are ok to purchase that unit, so no need waste each other time, or on contrary if they manage to reduce the pricing of the vendor, then you pay them the 1%, since its subsale anyway

when was the last time u spoke to an agent, with the tariffs issue and all, jb market shud slow down a little

I recently just purchase a subsale without the 1% buyer fee

This post has been edited by rx330: May 3 2025, 10:36 AM
rx330
post May 5 2025, 10:55 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(KitZhai @ May 4 2025, 02:01 AM)
Just for information if no one knows about this.

It is illegal to collect 1% or whatever amount as buyer fees.

The practise in Johor and Penang is wrong. But this is something that the board unable to control about.
thanks for the info

so its 3% max from seller?
rx330
post May 5 2025, 11:21 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(michaelck1838 @ May 5 2025, 11:08 AM)
It is now buyer who has to pay the 1% Commission fee to the Agent, I thought the seller is paying 3% & SST to the agent?
every state macam diff pattern
johor std is 2 % seller pay for sure, the 1% buyer depends
rx330
post May 5 2025, 01:47 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(KitZhai @ May 5 2025, 01:14 PM)
The rules from the board, 3% max can claim from seller.

But in certain cases that the seller is desperate to sell it and offering higher %, it's something that the board can't control over.

Afterall it's all base on mutual agreement only one la. You ok, he ok, no issue then.
Same like Johor Penang. If agent claim 1% from buyer also, it's all depends on mutual agreement only
thanks for the info

I personally never encounter seller offering higher, normally lower for those very high value sale
rx330
post May 5 2025, 02:16 PM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ May 5 2025, 02:12 PM)
Condo
KL
Low density

No such thing exist with those criteria as developers in for max profit, min quality.
ic, not into commercial?
rx330
post May 5 2025, 03:56 PM

11,808 posts

most agent will not hide the fact if its a bumi lot, especially if buyer is non bumi

waste the agent time only
rx330
post May 6 2025, 10:39 AM

11,808 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ May 6 2025, 12:16 AM)
Yea some new agent apa pun tak tau or apa pun just on sahaja.. u nvr see b4 only
macam car salesman tongue.gif

0.0393sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:10 PM