Don't Wanna Be A Manager

TSparisiansky
post Apr 27 2025, 05:19 PM, updated 8 months ago

116 posts

Was reading an article about Gen Z not wanting to be managers these days as the rewards/benefits don't commensurate with the stress n responsibilities that come with this job.

I'm a millennial but I can empathise with them coz when I became an assistant manager a few months ago, I didn't know just how it'd take a toll on my mental health. Had to attend endless meetings that left me very little/ no time to meet urgent deadlines daily that nearly made me wanna jump frm the 14th floor coz I didn't have any subordinates helping me (my company was still considered new so didn't have the budget to hire subordinates for me).

This experience taught me that no amount of money in the world is worth this kinda stress. Would rather be an exec forever as long as I can have work in peace. Has anyone of u passed up the opportunity to become a manager because of this?

This post has been edited by parisiansky: Apr 27 2025, 05:43 PM
TSparisiansky
post Apr 27 2025, 05:44 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Apr 27 2025, 05:23 PM)
You need to learn how to delegate work to your team
I didn't have any subordinates helping me (my company was still considered new so didn't have the budget to hire subordinates for me).

This post has been edited by parisiansky: Apr 27 2025, 05:45 PM
TSparisiansky
post Apr 27 2025, 10:18 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(Taikor.Taikun @ Apr 27 2025, 07:45 PM)
You have to attend meetings with your western counterparts if you’re in MNCs.

Take it this way, dont take the job if the demand does not match with your life preference n expectation. Whatever jobs you’re “interested” in, must be a job that you REALLY LIKE or have passion for. Dont take it or apply for the sake of name n salary. You wont live a fulfilled life. You will be stressed out, burnt out, unhappy, missing things in life
It wasn't an MNC n all those unnecessary meetings could have been in an email.

Anyway not all of us have the luxury to get a job that we really like or have a passion for. Some ppl are forced to go for the job they dislike just to set food on the table. So instead of looking for a job that we like, it's best we look for a job that we can tolerate.
TSparisiansky
post Apr 27 2025, 10:21 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(buysellaccount @ Apr 27 2025, 10:00 PM)
You're a coordinator

When you have subordinates to delegate and direct, you manyzer

But I understand your pain

If you get in too deep it will be hard to quit your job because you will always have unfinished jobs with a long time horizon that you just can't easily handover to the next person

You quitting means your boss will hate you and you'll be getting a shit rap

Tell your boss you're overworked and are unable to keep up

If your boss die die don't get you a helper, go fail some task and let it hit his bottomline
Of coz I did try highlighting this issue to my boss several times but it always fell on deaf ear so I quit like a bawse 😤 Heard that my successor also quit after working there for 1 month lol.

TSparisiansky
post Apr 28 2025, 11:22 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ Apr 28 2025, 10:49 AM)
my real life example of me in the past that made me rethink alot of wanting a "manger role"

>years ago in ex kampeni i was kuli level earning around RM4-5k/mth. work was decent, clock in 9-6pm daily, low stress role
>so being young want to rank up by going into asst manager since manager also encouraged plus want earn more money
>for a period i worked/shadow with current asst manager temporarily, technically become like a 2nd asst manager but in training and working some of her roles
>so what i got was basically tonnes of meetings every week and cadence scheduled. lots of planning and compilation of reports etc, but the stupid part is so many meetings to the point you dont have time to actually do your own shit, constantly on the move from meeting to meeting. outlook calendar is like maxed out gila wan
>not to mention constant grilling in meeting on performance, being asked tough ass questions that you know you cannot win against the upper management cause theyll find a way to tibai regardless. like if you pull out stuff to protek your team members like "staff A & B achieved and exceeded KPI A requirement.", but upper management will just tibai back with "but they missing KPI B and C? wheres the improvement?"
>after that i secretly asked my asst manager how much she earning that time. she told me she was only RM7k/mth  sweat.gif

shit's aint worth it in terms of the stress to higher salary. during asst manger leave also still has to stay on call and attend meetings kekpot, whats the point of leaves in first place?
Thanks for sharing yr experience with me. A lot of companies these days try to cut costs by hiring AM instead of manager but expecting the AM to act like managers. It's fine if they wanna push us to act like managers but they should at least provide us with sufficient resources (manpower, good system etc) to carry out our tasks. Like how the hell are we supposed to do our own work when we're forced to be stuck in endless unnecessary meetings that have nothing to do with us at all? 😮‍💨 When I was working at that toxic company, my ex colleagues would still bombard my phone with urgent matters during the weekends...So yeah, you're right...shit ain't worth it.

TSparisiansky
post Apr 28 2025, 11:28 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(brkli @ Apr 28 2025, 11:23 AM)
so what do u "manage" actually?? deadlines?? also what is the difference from you being an exec? since you also be the one doing the work without a team..
They expected me to be AM n exec at the same time. During the interview, they did mention that I had to do everything. I was fine with it... coz I didn't know that they had a system that was soooo shitty that it'd take me hours instead of minutes to finish a task.
TSparisiansky
post Apr 28 2025, 12:58 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Apr 28 2025, 12:13 PM)
If give me another chance i rather become lorry driver or welder. Or tukang paip.
Sure or not? Everytime I read news abt poor ppl asking for donations, the sole breadwinner is a lorry driver. At least become a middle income earner la so u'll have 1 less problem
TSparisiansky
post Apr 28 2025, 01:21 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(faridr @ Apr 28 2025, 01:19 PM)
Took the role for 3 years, jump ship back to exec level and the stress level gone down significantly.

When subordinate screwup, left right front back manager kena, and endless meeting just to explain and fix the screw up.

As an exec, when i screw up, i only answer to my manager.

And the drama with with each subordinate….
Were u in the same company or new company when u went back to exec level?
TSparisiansky
post Apr 28 2025, 10:17 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(faridr @ Apr 28 2025, 09:28 PM)
Jumped to different company. But really had to be careful when answering why applying exec role from manager role.
How did u explain to them why u jumped back to exec?

0.0167sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:51 AM