Maybank CFOโs sacking-the allegations and rebuttal
diffyhelman2
Apr 27 2025, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(Ku9 @ Apr 27 2025, 01:42 PM) Ahh Alvin I know this guy QUOTE(kiddokitt @ Apr 27 2025, 01:47 PM) Fuyoh, name dropping. What benefit you got from knowing him? I also can name drop. I know Johan Merican but got zero advantage. https://www.maybank.com/en/about-us/leaders.../alvin-lee.pageQUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Apr 27 2025, 01:51 PM) If true then shes got to be the dumbest cfo ever. How can simply authorize transfer without board & ceo approval. The fact that she even requested a transfer means that she is not fit for that position you got 2 million in savings account, yet you expect CEO and BOD of the largest bank in malaysia to approve every USD 1 mil transaction? This post has been edited by diffyhelman2: Apr 27 2025, 03:45 PM
red streak
Apr 27 2025, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Apr 27 2025, 02:26 PM) heh. maybank give her face quietly let her resign / sack she decide to dispute....later CBT charges baru insaf Need to fight back in court lah dey. Otherwise terus mampus her career in the industry.
Hollow21
Apr 27 2025, 03:46 PM
Ayam want to buy bank draft for Rm 200 to fill the paperwork also headache.
This one sumore million.....
Topkek
party
Apr 27 2025, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(p4n6 @ Apr 27 2025, 02:39 PM) Pipit exec transfer sure got multi level approval, CFO level not bind by processes โฆ no need follow โฆ Still got but not tat strict. Ppl work in bank sure know..especially when higher lvl "approve" the transaction,apa procedure also can fly out the window..coz approval lvl is senior mgmt. Btw U can see here who pretend to be rich/powerful/know all but empty can just in this thread alone.
party
Apr 27 2025, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Apr 27 2025, 03:43 PM) https://www.maybank.com/en/about-us/leaders.../alvin-lee.pageyou got 2 million in savings account, yet you expect CEO and BOD of the largest bank in malaysia to approve every USD 1 mil transaction? Kevin max in acc never reach 1m n he equal maybank with cinamen sdn bhd with 10m turnover ma..forgive him la
danielmckey
Apr 27 2025, 03:53 PM
Damage has been done.
dest9116
Apr 27 2025, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(g5sim @ Apr 27 2025, 02:14 PM) and from the look of it, she didnt feel she DID ANYTHING wrong. Very bangga! Biasalah u ever see wimminz admit fault? 9 out of 10 times they will even double down that they're right kek
ycs
Apr 27 2025, 04:09 PM
CFO must have followed SOP, got the required approvals, realise scam, now scapegoat ?
xCM
Apr 27 2025, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Apr 27 2025, 01:51 PM) If true then shes got to be the dumbest cfo ever. How can simply authorize transfer without board & ceo approval. The fact that she even requested a transfer means that she is not fit for that position Depends on the size of Company. RM4 million might not even need CEO approval. Just Group A and B of the Authorised signatories of the Company, which a working level from Group A and CFO from Group B already can.
Drian
Apr 27 2025, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Apr 27 2025, 03:43 PM) https://www.maybank.com/en/about-us/leaders.../alvin-lee.pageyou got 2 million in savings account, yet you expect CEO and BOD of the largest bank in malaysia to approve every USD 1 mil transaction? A ceo expecting a cfo to transfer based on verbal is already suspicious. I think the question is why didnโt she suspect or flag this as suspicious activity. This post has been edited by Drian: Apr 27 2025, 04:22 PM
9m2w
Apr 27 2025, 04:24 PM
QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Apr 27 2025, 02:16 PM) if CFO like this can fall this kind of scam. she deserved to be demoted or put on PIP The answering of unknown numbers Zoom call that duped her. Even with advances in AI there could be red flags right? Unless she doesn't know the CEO at all and have never spoken to him She never bothered to check the payee details for any red flags? Plus the fact she has the personal number of the person who allegedly instructed her why not immediately contact him I don't blame maybank, I would smell a rat in this story as well
NoNameSoldier
Apr 27 2025, 04:24 PM

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Apr 27 2025, 02:38 PM) wait so the zoom video call use AI to impersonate alvin lee Maybank SG CEO face and body? wah now AI damn power can do live editing.... Yet people are taking it lightly by posing their faces and body in front of a camera with apps
LuckyBai
Apr 27 2025, 04:25 PM
maybank not have kill switch?
diffyhelman2
Apr 27 2025, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(9m2w @ Apr 27 2025, 04:24 PM) The answering of unknown numbers Zoom call that duped her. Even with advances in AI there could be red flags right? Unless she doesn't know the CEO at all and have never spoken to him She never bothered to check the payee details for any red flags? Plus the fact she has the personal number of the person who allegedly instructed her why not immediately contact him I don't blame maybank, I would smell a rat in this story as well I thought no way ai can fake it until I saw this. And take note this video using 2022 abandoned software now the 2025 versions even more power https://youtu.be/w0Wkhz4G6OA?si=UN34ti5fiH11HIDv
9m2w
Apr 27 2025, 04:30 PM
QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Apr 27 2025, 04:26 PM) I thought no way ai can fake it until I saw this. And take note this video using 2022 abandoned software now the 2025 versions even more power https://youtu.be/w0Wkhz4G6OA?si=UN34ti5fiH11HIDvIgnoring the uncanny valley effect mannerisms hard to fake. Especially if they have a working relationship for some time. You speak to your co worker you know for some time way different from a person you deal with formally for a few times A simple how the kids doing can kantoi a scammer. But then again the scammer might have started the call by saying sorry I'm in quite a rush so here is the gist of it. Any issues? None OK pls approve while I head off to my next meeting But serious why never mesaged him ASAP on his personal number kek
diffyhelman2
Apr 27 2025, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(9m2w @ Apr 27 2025, 04:30 PM) Ignoring the uncanny valley effect mannerisms hard to fake. Especially if they have a working relationship for some time. You speak to your co worker you know for some time way different from a person you deal with formally for a few times A simple how the kids doing can kantoi a scammer. Alamak now every person in charge of financial have to have training to detect scammers d like Arnold in t2 post #30
Randomization
Apr 27 2025, 04:51 PM
Is Zoom a regular apps being used by Maybank? Why not use Teams for internal?
Then received WA msg from Group CEO and President. The CFO don't have the real number?
So many questions than answers.
ju146
Apr 27 2025, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Apr 27 2025, 03:41 PM) actually most USD TT transfer from local bank use JP morgan one. Sender bank Maybank, JP Morgan agent bank
iZuDeeN
Apr 27 2025, 05:04 PM
1 big shot can just ask to xfer..regardless of whether it's the CEO or what... what kind of process is this
carmensandiego
Apr 27 2025, 05:08 PM
well, if the CEO has made this request previously and the scammers were already monitoring her calls/video calls etc, then yes, it probably would not raise an immediate red flag because it is a know a validated repeat request from the CEO which usually is within the SOP and approved.