4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hyundai Kia ECU problem common issue?

Sukhoi35mkm
post Apr 24 2025, 03:29 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ Apr 24 2025, 12:44 PM)

Are you referring to Cerato?

What if for 2013-2019 Picanto, Ioniq Hybrid, 2017-2018 Sportage / Tucson CRDi ?
Yes...ECU issue mostly 1.6 cerato K3....easy and cheap fix.. no need change ECU

I believe sportage is using 2.0NU engine like K3 2.0...the rest tak tau
Pewufod
post Apr 24 2025, 03:37 PM

1,537 posts

my 1.6 k3 2015 if stop in traffic aircond not cold

how ar

ecu problem havent surface yet
speedy3210
post Apr 24 2025, 03:50 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Apr 24 2025, 03:37 PM)

how ar

Maybe this is due to aircon compressor's flow valve jammed. Just go Ming Wah (if you're based in klang valley) to change the VALVE ONLY, not entire compressor. Normal aircon shop that dunno how to open up aircon compressor will propose to you to change the entire compressor and/or other components along.

Oso, check the radiator fan. The fan motor is 10yrs old this year so maybe it is on its out, if not out already.

This post has been edited by speedy3210: Apr 24 2025, 03:56 PM
Avangelice
post Apr 24 2025, 03:56 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Apr 24 2025, 11:44 AM)
My previous Hyundai Elantra MD year 2012 replaced it's ECU 2 years ago, reason being the battery voltage is lower than required and it spoilt the ECU.
Huh? What battery voltage?
SUSmalaozhai
post Apr 24 2025, 04:00 PM

64 posts

Kia Forte car nice?
Pewufod
post Apr 24 2025, 04:01 PM

1,537 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Apr 24 2025, 03:50 PM)
Maybe this is due to aircon compressor's flow valve jammed. Just go Ming Wah (if you're based in klang valley) to change the VALVE ONLY, not entire compressor. Normal aircon shop that dunno how to open up aircon compressor will propose to you to change the entire compressor and/or other components along.

Oso, check the radiator fan. The fan motor is 10yrs old this year so maybe it is on its out, if not out already.
thank you very much! i will drop by next week

voscar
post Apr 25 2025, 12:18 AM

1,524 posts

Not to forget another infamous problem is catalytic converter hancur by pieces and stuck blocking the exhaust air from channel out.
voscar
post Apr 25 2025, 12:21 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(Pewufod @ Apr 24 2025, 03:37 PM)

how ar

Starting last month my 2014 2.0 aircond not so cool. Every time when start driving after traffic you'll hear the aircond refrigerant start moving noise like just turn on aircond. But I see the aircond compressor got sticker like year 2022 or 2023 last owner just replaced...
Keng
post Apr 25 2025, 03:57 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ Apr 24 2025, 10:54 AM)
Wahai /k,

Ayam went through some Hyundai Kia club MY FB, quite a few issues related to ECU.
Symptoms like stuck 3rd gear, xmas lights, etc...

Any owners here can share the experience of these cars ownership?

Is it a common problem?

How frequent do you need to replace the ECU?
TQIA for the feedback appreciate it.
I had the same issues with my Kia Spectra 2008. It was 1 component in the ECU. Sent it to 1 workshop in Sri Damansara, in out in out like 3x also the issue kept coming back. I got fed up and found 1 guy in Setapak near Giant and the problem was fixed. I gave the car to my bro-in-law after that

i lost the contact but it was in the middle row of Jalan 3/23a. Chinese owner and a lot of alternators in the shop. Good luck
speedy3210
post Apr 25 2025, 08:26 AM

518 posts

TS.... 1 infamous issue with hyundai/kia with EPS system is the shaft bush worn out giving the steering knocking noise.

Very cheap spare part, i.e rm50 for the ori/genuine hyundai/kia star shaped bush, but workmaship is maybe 2-300, coz basically mech will have to dismantle the entire driver side steering column area just to take out the whole MDPS section to replace that tiny bush and reassemble everything after that.

My mech said the process is longer than changing timing belt and water pump. Work space is cramped on top of that.
ktek
post Apr 25 2025, 08:41 AM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Apr 25 2025, 12:21 AM)
Starting last month my 2014 2.0 aircond not so cool. Every time when start driving after traffic you'll hear the aircond refrigerant start moving noise like just turn on aircond. But I see the aircond compressor got sticker like year 2022 or 2023 last owner just replaced...
leaky somewhere, ask kedai check pressure & topup first.
always use coldest (never adjust suka2) and calculate how many day can tahan.
till date mine tahan over 5 month, nothing to worry d.
TSkembayang
post Apr 25 2025, 10:43 AM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Apr 25 2025, 08:26 AM)
TS.... 1 infamous issue with hyundai/kia with EPS system is the shaft bush worn out giving the steering knocking noise.

Very cheap spare part, i.e rm50 for the ori/genuine hyundai/kia star shaped bush, but workmaship is maybe 2-300, coz basically mech will have to dismantle the entire driver side steering column area just to take out the whole MDPS section to replace that tiny bush and reassemble everything after that.

My mech said the process is longer than changing timing belt and water pump. Work space is cramped on top of that.
Thanks for the info
How frequent do you need to replace this part?
Is it a common part number that shares amongst hyundai/kia models?
boonwuilow
post Apr 25 2025, 10:48 AM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Apr 24 2025, 12:29 PM)
Yup you are correct.

Talking about suka suka change, actually this practice is extremely rampant in the industry especially when it comes to the faulty Starter Motor. The inability to accurately diagnose this and resolve this issue, will costs the customer. Barang rosak tak ditukar tetapi asyik tukar barang yang tak rosak. Memang hebat. Cari makan bos.
If not how to keep the economy jalan biggrin.gif ? Barang yang x rosak, i take from my mechanic friend to resell it, when deal i tell my customer your old faulty one must give me, then i take the faulty one to my friend's besi buruk to exchange with a good one then resell, rinse and repeat brows.gif
zack85
post Apr 25 2025, 10:49 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ Apr 24 2025, 10:54 AM)
Wahai /k,

Ayam went through some Hyundai Kia club MY FB, quite a few issues related to ECU.
Symptoms like stuck 3rd gear, xmas lights, etc...

Any owners here can share the experience of these cars ownership?

Is it a common problem?

How frequent do you need to replace the ECU?
TQIA for the feedback appreciate it.
yes..my kia rio UB 2013 just yesterday replace ECU..MYR1800 hangus inclusive installation
zack85
post Apr 25 2025, 10:51 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Apr 25 2025, 08:26 AM)

ni betul..my kia having the same issue..how to solve the problem? buat bodo jaaa biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Sukhoi35mkm
post Apr 25 2025, 10:52 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ Apr 25 2025, 10:43 AM)
Thanks for the info
it called steering coupler.... very cheap la.... less than RM10 also can get.... can last you many years...
Sukhoi35mkm
post Apr 25 2025, 10:55 AM

17 posts

many ppl say Kimchi car spare parts very expensive and difficult to get..... those days maybe la....

now with online e-commerce..... u can easily get whatever parts u need and cheap too if u want OEM.....
speedy3210
post Apr 25 2025, 12:37 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ Apr 25 2025, 10:43 AM)
Thanks for the info
Depends on your luck and driving style. If dont change oso never mind according to my mech but just tak sedap pakai pasal bunyi klok-klok-klok setiap kali pusing stering. Oso steering got more free play when the bush has disintegrated.

Yes, it is a common/shared part for both hyundai/kia. Same MDPS system.
speedy3210
post Apr 25 2025, 12:43 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(zack85 @ Apr 25 2025, 10:51 AM)
ni betul..my kia having the same issue..how to solve the problem? buat bodo jaaa biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Boleh je pakai macam biasa kalu tak kisah sangat pasal bunyi kluk-kluk masa pusing stering. stering juga rasa macam kuat skit hentakannya pasal alas getah dah hancur. Cuma kena jaga perangai kereta bila freeplay banyak tu pasal tempat untuk alas getah tu sekarang dah kosong.
mystvearn
post Apr 25 2025, 01:07 PM

6,639 posts

I have two kias.

2013 cerato. Mileage 27k km

2017 sorento diesel. Mileage 100k km

Both fine. Never heard in sorento group that need to change ecu.

Parts if buy from sc, expensive
3rd party shop cheaper.

I source parts from friend of friend in Korea. About 40% sc price

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0144sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:24 PM