19 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V43, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

kwss
post Jul 4 2025, 09:23 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Jul 4 2025, 09:19 PM)
oh, thanks for tips, still can remain back.
Noted.

oh ya, actually today I walk-in and ask the Unifi SWU, on the spot they check my Unifi account (100mbps @ RM89) and offer me:
1) 100mbps RM79
2) 300mbps RM119
3) 500mbps RM139
T&C:
1) 6 month bill waiver
2) 24 month contract
3) price remain same after 24 month
4) Force to take simcard, postpaid package, need to pay RM39 when apply, following month need to pay RM42 each month. Can cancel after 3 month.

Honestly, 100mbps RM79 can consider if wanna keep bill lower, but why force to take the postpaid simcard  doh.gif
If 100 Mbps meet your requirements then by all means take it. Considering anything else and pay more is not logical because it won't give you any relevant return.

For the SIM card, just call and cancel it after you go home, or try TM Kepong.
If time is important to you, just take it and cancel it instead of running around going to TM. The saving will ROI in a month, no biggie.
kwss
post Jul 4 2025, 10:06 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Jul 4 2025, 09:19 PM)
4) Force to take simcard, postpaid package, need to pay RM39 when apply, following month need to pay RM42 each month. Can cancel after 3 month.
Forget to emphasize this. There's no legal binding for the 3 months. The plan is contract free. It's all just he says, she says and it suddenly become the truth.

If they do not let you cancel, bring them to tribunal. You are going to win.
kwss
post Jul 4 2025, 10:41 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Jul 4 2025, 10:39 PM)
haha, thanks for the tips. But he said need to pay up front for RM39 before submit my application lah.
So maybe need to pay RM39 and can cancel after that as per what you say.
The RM39 is advanced payment.
Once you cancel, they will refund you pro-rated. Just wait it out for the money to reappear in your bank account.
kwss
post Jul 5 2025, 03:06 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Jul 5 2025, 01:08 AM)
I try to apply Astro thru webpage, the only package for new user (I'm not Astro existing user) is RM139.99 which come with TV bundle package for 500mbps.
I fill in all into with area coverage passed, it ask to do payment before can submit, below is the screenshot  dry.gif
So I failed to submit  sad.gif

QUOTE(hsbb @ Jul 5 2025, 01:29 AM)
kwss,
Seem astro now close that loophole!
Too bad already. Just take RM79 for 100 Mbps then. Since you are already eyeing that one.

Actually this is the way to go for all telco. It promote actual competition based on sticker price, not belakang mari with SWU when people try to switch.

Long term it is better.
kwss
post Jul 10 2025, 02:58 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jul 10 2025, 02:41 AM)
yes
waiting unifi offer 2gbps and waiting new model mikrotik RB5009 replace model all port must be 2.5G port + wifi 7 ap EAP7xx  biggrin.gif
Why wait just to upgrade to some rookie speed when you can get 100G today?
Buy the CCR2216 today and you will never need to think about router for another 15 years.
https://mikrotik.com/product/ccr2216_1g_12xs_2xq

Given how long it took ITU to go from GPON to 50G-PON, and how slow TM is to adopt them, the timing is about right.

Papa has been doing 800G for some time now. 100G sounds so... Meh
kwss
post Jul 10 2025, 09:50 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(keong8867 @ Jul 10 2025, 09:09 AM)
I see a lot of post saying that the new application for unifi will get a free ipad. I wonder is there any promotion for existing member? Do we get ipad as well? If yes , how to get it? Need to upgrade the speed? I.m using SWU 3.0, 500mbps now
I think it has ended last month.
You may refer here:
https://soyacincau.com/2025/06/06/upgrade-y...et-ipad-at-rm0/

It's the most unworthy thing if you are already on SWU.
I assume you are paying RM119 per month now.
You must either do:
A 2 tier upgrade to 2Gbps and pay RM319 per month for 3 years.
- or -
A single tier upgrade to 1 Gbps and pay RM249 per month for 3 years.

How much is the RRP of the iPad again? RM 1599.
You are better off buying with credit card 0% instalment and collect points.

If you don't see any discussion here means it's not worth mentioning to begin with.
kwss
post Jul 10 2025, 10:57 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(housedreamer888 @ Jul 10 2025, 10:42 AM)
I getting an offer yesterday from a caller said from Unifi. I'm a Maxis Home Fibre user. Offer for those user from different Telco migrate to Unifi. Currently my internet package is 500Mbps for RM149 then migrate to Unifi also 500Mbps at RM149. There given me gift either free for 6 month payment waive or Ipad or TV 43" 300Mbps & 55" 500Mbps.

Do you guys think it worth?
If it's two years contract or less, take it.
If it's more then it's kind of a subjective territory as you can sign up directly with TM for the same price and still get 3 months free.
The subsequent SWU will save you more.
kwss
post Jul 10 2025, 08:11 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(housedreamer888 @ Jul 10 2025, 11:34 AM)
If I select 6 months waive it will lock for 2 years contract or else will be 3 years if I select for Ipad or TV.
If maximizing your money is your goal, take the 6 months bill waiver.
Then wait for Maxis retention team to call you can see what's their counter offer.
Take the best offer.
kwss
post Jul 10 2025, 08:19 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jul 10 2025, 01:39 PM)
overkill we don't need 100GBPS
In the networking world, there's a thing called Ferrari of network equipment where people just buy stuff because they like it.
The word overkill is very subjective. 2.5gig can be considered overkill.

Did you actually have telemetry to show how much you are using? If not, then it is all just feeling. Why do you feel 1gig isn't enough for you?

Look at mine (2Gbps plan):

That's 2283.5GB per day (2.23TB every single day)
In a month, that's 66.9TB.

Currently paying RM189 for 2Gbps. TM's 1Gbps SWU is already more expensive than my current plan.
kwss
post Jul 10 2025, 11:18 PM

1,207 posts

What a great time to introduce XGSPON when everyone who should have it as part of FSU got put on their shitty GPON.

Anyone on XGSPON now with last mile latency of 1ms or even 0ms? Early adopter should have extremely low last mile latency as nobody is sharing the wavelength yet.

I am also disappointed it didn't come with SFP+ port. Enterprise or Telco grade router almost never come with 10G RJ45 port.

So i guess this stick is the way to go:?
https://www.fibermall.com/sale-460693-xgspo...u-sfp-stick.htm

Seems to have an active modding community too.
https://github.com/djGrrr/8311-was-110-firmware-builder
kwss
post Jul 11 2025, 01:55 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(HayateAyakasi8 @ Jul 11 2025, 12:36 AM)
I gotta know, what do you even do with that kind of bandwidth  hmm.gif
Not too sure on that yet, at least based on these pics.
I am definitely in the camp of throwing money into network because I like it. Just like how people throw money into collecting cards and figurines.

Just so you know SingTel's starting speed is 3 Gbps for SGD 40. They aren't exactly the cheapest telco in Singapore.
Here we cannot even sell 300 Mbps for RM 40. Don't you think we are being milked to the max here?

Let me give you some context about telco gear. You buy them with upfront cost. You then pay annual fee for maintenance contract.

There are various licensing fees (port speed tier, BNG) but depending on negotiation power, you can get many of those for free.
I used to negotiate with Juniper and got so many free stuff. TM is a national telco and they are buying from China company which are known for cut throat business model. I have to assume TM got them for free as well.

Let me give you one example of core network gear, the Juniper PTX10004:
https://www.juniper.net/us/en/products/rout...rt-routers.html

Each line card has a capacity of 28.8Tbps. That's terabit per second. After you bought the chassis and the line card, that capacity is there, whether you use it or not. Maintenance fee is also the same. So is the cost of human capital. Is TM paying more in term of human capital compared to SingTel? I am sure their physical asset don't cost as much as well because land price in Malaysia is a lot lower.
Let's say you install 3 line card and keep one slot as hot spare, that's 86.4Tbps per chassis. What do you do with all the excess capacity? Just let people use them.

Then there is the IX cost, which basically comes down to port fee. You pay X per month for Y Gbps.
How much is X? The cost of a junior engineer in Singapore. This is for 100 Gbps port fee.

The only remaining variable cost is IP Transit, which is billed at 95-percentile.

Sure the population of Malaysia is 4x more than Singapore. That also means the market is 4x bigger. Even they charge RM 50 for 500 Mbps as base plan is quite a profit.

That screenshot clearly shows there is no SFP+ port.
kwss
post Jul 11 2025, 01:57 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jul 11 2025, 12:51 AM)
i have restart twice and same, fedup already end up contact game cs then tm

but now i test with pingplotter its fine..what is going on?

If it is a one time thing then could be just a fiber cut.
If it is daily occurrence then it is definitely local congestion.
What's your location anyway?
kwss
post Jul 11 2025, 02:46 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(hsbb @ Jul 11 2025, 02:15 AM)
Bro, u are right. Damn backbone eqpt SFP+ blank port need license to enable & use it. Money for insure it physical also.
Thanks to competition from other vendor like Arista, Ciena and others, this kind of bullshit is slowly going away.
Even new Cisco product starts doing away with port speed tier licensing.
Example their Cisco 8000 no longer have it.
Their old Cisco 8500 which can partially replace Cisco ASR don't have it as well but they have now revamp the 8500 to remove those product directly competing with their ASR.
Behind the scene they are quite willing to waive those fees. At least that's my experience.

Then there is the BNG licensing. I know NTT and Verizon built their own in-house BNG and told vendors to fly kite.
kwss
post Jul 11 2025, 04:02 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(hsbb @ Jul 11 2025, 03:19 AM)
Hell yes waive fees at some points but software/firmware upgrade still have fee.
This is a TM only problem is it? As I know software is included as part of maintenance contract.
I think TM ask their vendor to perform the update, which incur charges.
That's the problem with too much outsourcing. Everything is billable.

If TM staff perform the update themself then it should be free.
Just login to download the software package.

Another problem with too much outsourcing is... Your vendor just pass the cost to you, with less incentive to negotiate aggressively with Huawei, ZTE or whoever produces the actual hardware.

One example is all government agency in Malaysia must deal with a few selected third party vendor to use AWS, Google Cloud or Azure. Why can't they engage AWS directly?
kwss
post Jul 11 2025, 03:46 PM

1,207 posts

PowerSlide
Are you actually using TM Unifi? Since when did TM use 10.x.x.x as CGNAT IP Address?

Is this some kind of new incompetency from TM's engineer or their outsourcing partner?

If it happens again, go to https://lg.gcore.lu/
Select Asia Pacific, Singapore.

Do both BGP and Traceroute to your public IP address from https://whatismyipaddress.com/

This post has been edited by kwss: Jul 11 2025, 03:49 PM
kwss
post Jul 11 2025, 10:14 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jul 11 2025, 09:29 PM)
still same problem, contact TM say their team no answer anything

i play on 6pm ok 8pm+ high ping

I can reproduce this problem.
After some diagnostic, I concluded TM's router at SGIX is broken or their 200Gbps is congested.
kwss
post Jul 11 2025, 10:40 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jul 11 2025, 10:17 PM)
So not my end issue but tm, looks like alot chasing after this until they fix it

Thanks bro
Yup.100% sure.

Their SGIX router IP:
2001:de8:12:100::178

kwss
post Jul 11 2025, 10:42 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jul 11 2025, 10:37 PM)
i am Unifi 500Mbps plan
seee my STABLE connection ping almost lower because public ip i saw you are ip 10.233.65.32 confirmed its private ip you want public ip get upgrade 500Mbps settle
[attachmentid=11515981]
Yo. I invisible or what?
I'm public IP lei...
Don't sikit2 private ip problem
kwss
post Jul 11 2025, 10:52 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(tng55 @ Jul 11 2025, 10:42 PM)
you saw my screenshot i don't get ping high seen stable this time tested
This is due to BGP Optimization software used by TM. They redistribute traffic towards different circuit. If you hit the affected circuit then you see the problem.

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jul 11 2025, 10:46 PM)
what is private ip public ip haha noob man when comes to these things

i'm already at 800mbps upgraded
Bro, your screenshot really shows you are on private IP.
Not only is yours private IP, it's also not CGNAT RFC compliant
kwss
post Jul 11 2025, 11:42 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(heLL_bOy @ Jul 11 2025, 11:37 PM)
nothing to do with SGIX

look at the screnshoot,

I said TM punya router.
Inside SGIX.

Even gave the IP address yo...