6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V43, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

YoungMan
post Aug 29 2025, 08:11 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 29 2025, 01:34 PM)
Previously requested but not allowed.
Why not use the terminate method and switch to SWU plan?
YoungMan
post Sep 9 2025, 08:28 AM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Sep 8 2025, 10:28 PM)
For many years I was paying the same package for rm129.
Last month I managed to cancel the unlimited calls n is now paying 109.
Should have request for SWU Rm90 for 500mbps.
YoungMan
post Sep 14 2025, 10:08 AM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ Sep 14 2025, 07:47 AM)
Hi Sifu, for new install, some 3rd party agent is offering 139 for 300mb + free 6 months. How to get better deal? Thanks.
Take up that 139 plan, use 2 years then change to SWU plan. If you hope to get deals like SWU for new sign up, then sorry.
YoungMan
post Sep 15 2025, 11:42 AM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(veron208 @ Sep 15 2025, 10:36 AM)
my contract ending soon. paying RM99 for a measly 100Mbps.
contacted live chat to request for termination but was asked to do it with selfcare.
considering to switch to Time or should i wait for their SWU offer?
If your area has time, it's a no brainer. Just switch over.
YoungMan
post Sep 19 2025, 07:49 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Sep 19 2025, 01:02 PM)
Thanks, good tips to know. Well, I already setup for my DIY UPS, 1 for all my ONU, router, home CCTV, NAS...  sweat.gif
easier  sweat.gif

Recently heard a lot of Unifi slow, is this because too many users in 500Mbps, all the bandwidth used up ?

One of my fren plan to jump from Maxis to Unifi, will he facing the same issue?  hmm.gif
Because Maxis still using Unifi port if not mistaken
Maxis uses Unifi port for last mile connection. All your internet traffick will still go through Maxis own routing.
YoungMan
post Sep 20 2025, 12:55 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(RallyNight @ Sep 20 2025, 11:03 AM)
My 129 plan got hippo tv how can i ask they remove the hippo tv?
If contract already ended, go change to SWU rm90 plan. That will remove the TV pack.
YoungMan
post Sep 21 2025, 07:48 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(RallyNight @ Sep 21 2025, 07:19 PM)
Private ip what i mean, now feels like my 300 selow betol during 7pm to 11pm everyday.
Even on vpn also need to pray
Yeah 3 people use only.
If 3 people light use, 100mbps also enough. Private or public IP not related to slowness, TM Unifi sucks at night.
You can try use hotspot from phone, it is also private IP.
QUOTE(kmed @ Sep 21 2025, 07:36 PM)
Noob here. How to subscribe to SWU 5.0? My unifi contract has already ended 5 years ago but the unifi tv contract is only ending 02/05 next year even though i have not watched before.
Search for SWU 5.0 in this topic, you will find plenty of information.
YoungMan
post Sep 26 2025, 09:38 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(RallyNight @ Sep 26 2025, 05:34 PM)
Sekian, i done installation the technician tell me check the speed after 2hrs, i check mah plan still 300mbps PRO but no swu plan changed mentioned. Speed vary, some stuck at 350 some at 500 depend equipment
You have to test using lan cable. If can reach 500mbps then it's the wifi problem and limitation of your device.
YoungMan
post Sep 27 2025, 09:24 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(RallyNight @ Sep 26 2025, 10:00 PM)
Test with my pc wifi 560-600, iphone 560, the rest of my household android phones all maxout at 350 🤣, pull out my pcable turnout to be a cat4 cable
Good if you have got the issue sorted.

QUOTE(3nf0rc3r @ Sep 27 2025, 01:19 PM)
Currently still using TP-link C1200, originally turbo upgrade to 300mbps for free with hyptv. But after 24 month they revised to higher price, refused to let me stay at cheaper price so I downgraded to 100mbps without hyptv.

Now I wonder if they offer SWU 500mbps will they provide new router.

Also Disney hotstar is just an account or do they provide TV box as well?
Just account, no box provided for rm90 500mbps. As you already downgrade to 100mbps, not possible to request SWU anymore. TM will not revise your plan as the contract is still new
YoungMan
post Oct 4 2025, 09:49 AM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Oct 4 2025, 01:32 AM)
Wow this feels like nostalgia for those who are into networking for so long.

Many things are different today.
SONET and ATM are dead, replaced by Ethernet + SyncE. So much resistance from people during this transition, almost like IPv4 to IPv6 transition today. Good thing they were buried for good.

400g wavelength is common today, with high end of 1+ Tbps.
All those Tier-1 are replaced by big tech who build submarine and terrestrial fiber to bring content around the world.
IX allowed open policy peering.
Cloud providers are billing content provider to bring traffic to end consumer around the world.
CDN literally made 80% of traffic local.

There's so many player in submarine cable business now the prices has free fall. It used to be dominated by incumbent telco.

The mushroom of carrier hotel has broken down all the gatekeeping by incumbent who decides who can or cannot connect.

The only thing remains in Malaysia is cabotage policy, the local council, monopoly of submarine cable landing station, and the mistake the government made by not taking control of fiber infrastructure after TM built them.

After SingTel and StarHub built their fiber network, they were transferred to Netlink Trust.

You still need a service provider license to peer in MyIX but anyone with an ASN can peer in Singapore.

Nowadays upstream provider will just meet you in IX. You can cross connect or connect using VLAN straight from the Fabric.

All these don't exist during the old times.

Torrent? Most people stream instead of torrent now. I don't think streaming use any less bandwidth compared to torrent. Back in the days streaming do not exist.

I still remember back in the days when Juniper launch the world's first 4x 10g line card. Ever other manufacturer including Cisco shit on Juniper, saying it will overheat. It cannot be reliable, etc etc
Today 28.8Tbps line card is common. This is 720x higher capacity than world's best in the old days.
I thought Ah Loke remove the cabotage policy for cable repairs? Only during wee's time he love the cabotage policy so much.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Oct 4 2025, 02:42 AM)
I'm just trying to say 500mbps is too much for my usage

Even if they offer 300 for the same price i wouldn't mind
There is no promo for 300mbps. Either you downgrade to SWU 100mbps for Rm79, or just take the Rm90 500mbps which is cheaper than what you are currently paying.
YoungMan
post Oct 4 2025, 08:35 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Oct 4 2025, 01:04 PM)
No he did not. He only promised all the tech bro he will speed things up for them when they need repair. Hence none of the tech bro brings submarine cable here. They all just connect to Malaysia via Singapore.

Eg:
Equinix JH has better latency to the rest of the world than Equinix KL.
Both datacenter have 100g Fabric port, but JH can provision Virtual Circuit of 50g while KL can only do 5g. That's 10x slower.

This article dissect the new rule:
https://www.lexology.com/library/detail.asp...b6-c8272ee740ef
Last time cable repair ship is free to come and go. Now Ah Loke promised them he will only take 3 days to process their request.
Tech bro ain't idiot.

Think about it, there is this marine cable repair company in Malaysia I suspect is owned by politician. Madani need to appease to these people in exchange for support.
The existing cabotage is only for cargo ships to Sarawak no? Exemption cable repairs granted in Jun 2024 if according to this article.
https://www.submarinenetworks.com/en/nv/new...sea-cable-ships
Only during ah wee time that need special licence.

QUOTE(RallyNight @ Oct 4 2025, 04:44 PM)
Wow youre the first case in here they dont even bother give you swu and direct termination.

Once terminated you cant return, best you try get another company like time, they respond very fast.

Try report mcmc, they respond veery fast on mcmc too.
They would have more compelling reason to respond to MCMC, which is customer request to terminate.

QUOTE(RallyNight @ Oct 4 2025, 06:22 PM)
My friend doing the same astro offer, they reject him ask him must get transfer id yesterday, i mean thusday. He so salty and go celcomdigi ask trabsfer id, celcomdigi offer 79 for 500 along with his postpaid, terminated take digi today, sabah has way better from celcomdigi.
No doubt, Celcom Timur have own infra in Sabah. Just like how Unifi can give better offer to their own customer.

QUOTE(kwss @ Oct 4 2025, 07:22 PM)
My memory is quite broken.
Don't quote me on this but I think I saw someone on Maxis infra get 1Gbps for RM110 or something. Or is is RM159.

Now TM infra generally support all other ISP like Astro, U Mobile and CelcomDigi too.
There are many success stories here. Don't let one failed case discourage you. It is not the end of the world. Like I said you can always pay retail price to U Mobile and still get cheaper fiber than what you are currently paying.

U Mobile Home 5G at RM68 is an option too. Buy your own modem, contract free. Use it anywhere.

You do have a handphone right? Call your mobile telco and see what bundle they have.
Well that's only if U Mobile has good 4g/5g in the area.
YoungMan
post Oct 5 2025, 03:09 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(ahlong0180 @ Oct 5 2025, 11:36 AM)
Day 30 after submitting termination request, submitted feedback form 8 days ago and still no calls from Unifi for offer/termination. Live chatted just now, need wait tomorrow for updates. Looks like either the termination team handling the requests is overwhelmed or they have no intention to retain me.
Just keep an eye on your line to make sure it is not terminated anytime.

QUOTE(RallyNight @ Oct 5 2025, 12:48 PM)
Maybe way too many people doing termination, they just straightup terminate out of spite now
Haha possible. Then have to re-register and consider as new customer, cannot get existing SWU.
YoungMan
post Oct 8 2025, 09:27 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(Jedi @ Oct 8 2025, 08:54 PM)
Hi sifus, wanna ask reg my unifi

2023 July renewed now on 500mbps

2025 they never email me say contract finishes lol just continue monthly

any options I have? My concern is past 6 months I have a nerfed speed 200mbps only download despite previously consistent 450mbps (give and take I forgive the 50mbps)

I tried restart modem, restart by talking to maya agent their side, still same speed

on Wifi 6 Asus XT8 and LAN for PC
It's not a practice to inform you when contract finished. From July 2023 to now, it's more than 2 years and your contract has ended. You will continue to use the service until you ask to terminate.
If on lan you only get 200mbps plus, get technician to come and check.
YoungMan
post Oct 10 2025, 08:12 AM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(ahlong0180 @ Oct 10 2025, 07:37 AM)
Unlucky for TM because they are not gonna earn my money.
Lucky for me because I am enjoying 200-500Mbps right now at the same price. (was paying RM69/mth for 30Mbps pakej perpaduan offer, now no more offer become RM89/mth)
Congrats for making a brave decision. At least not die die must wait for SWU offer.
YoungMan
post Oct 16 2025, 12:13 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(redlobsterpickle @ Oct 16 2025, 11:49 AM)
My wife complained that the wifi at home (running Unifi) is noticeably much slower than 4G/5G. Initially I was skeptical about it. I mean, fibre would usually yield lower latency than mobile data despite it being 5G.

After reading all these, I'm not surprised anymore. I've been on the same plan and payment for more than 5 years now without being offered any SWU.

Maybe it's time to switch to either Maxis or Astro but the infra would still share with TM hence would it have the same traffic/routing issue?

I'm guessing not as although shared last mile infra, routing is done independently, yes?
It is just the last mile infra that is shared. Routing will still follow which ever ISP's you signed up. Any problem with your fibre or BTU, Maxis still get TM tech to come and fix.

QUOTE(QuantumEdge @ Oct 16 2025, 12:05 PM)
Yes on the routing
Few days ago users were complaining about Maxis having issues with Cloudflare
But they seems to fixed it today, according to Backtubi (https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3487634/+9680)
Personally, I have good experience with Maxis
With them for 2 years, 0 downtime
Routing better than Unifi
The only issue being they are quite stingy on giving out promo, usually only 24 months discount instead of something permanant
Still, highly recommended as they are willing to fix routing issues instead of acting dumb
I believe they cannot do much, unless in places where Maxis has own infra.
Just like how TM can suka suka give Rm90 for 500mbps because they own the infra.
YoungMan
post Oct 22 2025, 08:07 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 22 2025, 02:26 PM)
I also live in a big house with many people and multiple devices and somehow 500Mbps is enough for our usage. Paying 90 for 500Mbps, I think it is the best deal for 500Mbps now.

If that 1Gbps suits you then go ahead, RM 159 for 1Gbps is not too bad actually.
Usually it is enough. But if many people/devices, better invest in a good router or mesh system. If depend on TM provided router with many devices connected sure the end result will not be good. Therefore users end up thinking need to go 1gbps or 2gbps speed.

QUOTE(guardioo @ Oct 22 2025, 04:02 PM)
ouch...i went to unifi store at muzium telekom, they insist on i need to have transfer to maxis application only offer SWU 5.0 package
Then just walk into any Maxis centre, register a fibre plan and get transfer ID.
YoungMan
post Oct 31 2025, 04:45 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(QuinntheQueen @ Oct 30 2025, 04:35 PM)
cancelling Unifi is such a hassle! the connection at my place was so bad that I decided to switch to another provider. had to go to the store just to request for cancellation. Even after I told them I wanted to terminate, they still asked for reasons and proof. I ended up saying I was leaving the country and they wanted to see my flight details! isn’t that a bit too intrusive? feels like it goes against pdpa?
If you decided to switch to other fibre provider riding on Unifi infra, please do not terminate. Use the proper transfer method. If out of contract and you decided to terminate, they should not ask you for those details. You can report to MCMC.

QUOTE(sledgy04 @ Oct 30 2025, 07:02 PM)
Yup me too...so difficult to change unifi to celcom.....they delay ...no answer....need to go to their store... A lot of question....then cannot terminate right away....!!!they need 1 month to terminate!!! So need to pay 1 more bil ( current paid bill will finish in next 2 days)..the worse broadband experience ever.
Change Unifi to Celcom fibre, do you go through the transfer process?
Register Celcom fibre, get transfer ID.
YoungMan
post Nov 15 2025, 10:53 AM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Nov 14 2025, 09:38 PM)
Guys,

My internet with another provider is expiring Jan 2026. Thinking of switching over to Unifi, they offering 100Mbps at rm89 (free 6 months, 36 months contract) and 300Mbps at rm129 (free 6 months, 24 months contract). Some questions:

1. Normally when does unifi revise their Switch to Unifi or Stay with Unifi offer?
2. If I go for the 100Mbps package, will Unifi upgrade the speed if they have some programs later? Or they will never upgrade if you are within contract?

I am thinking of going for the 300Mbps package since 24 months which works out to around rm97 per month for 2 years. But I will go for the 100Mbps package if Unifi does upgrade speed during contract. 3 years a bit too long... I think price will drop soon.

Thanks for all the help.
Unifi will only upgrade speed if it's a direction from gov to lower price, for example, through MSAP. So instead of making you pay less, they upgrade your speed and you pay the same price.
36 months is too long for contract, usually after 2 years people already go to Tmpoint to find SWU plan. Since your contract is 36 months, they usually refuse to offer you SWU plan until your contract almost end.

QUOTE(tng55 @ Nov 14 2025, 10:13 PM)
100Mbps RM89 (free 6 months, 36 months contract) That wrong why 36 month contract they give ipad free or tv free not worth trash
possible 100Mbps RM79 free 6 months , 24 month contract or 100Mbps RM89 free 6 months , 24 month contract don't take free ipad or TV understand
Dei, 100Mbps RM79 is for SWU plan, not for new subscriber.
YoungMan
post Nov 15 2025, 08:01 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Nov 15 2025, 02:41 PM)
My area only has Maxis and soon Time. Unifi offer the best promotion to switch over unfortunately.
Yeah thanks for the info. I also wonder if can get 24 mths contract rm79 for 100Mbps. Anyway I might delay until Jan 2026 to see if they have SWU6.0 and hopefully a new switch over incentive. I will either go for rm129 24 mths contract for 300Mbps or just 2 years rm89 100Mbps free 3 mths (their standard promo, so no switch over promo). 3 years contract only feasible if speed upgrade during that period is built in.
SWU plan is not for switch over. You have to stay loyal for better or worst. When your contract almost end then only applicable for SWU.
YoungMan
post Nov 17 2025, 09:26 PM

6,792 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Nov 17 2025, 04:11 PM)
how come my father today went to tm office and the best deal they offered him was, 300mbps for rm119, 30 months contract but 6 months free..

WTA how do your need to do to get the rm90 for 500mbps deal???
I hope your father have not agree to that plan. Otherwise you are stuck for the next 30 months.

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Nov 17 2025, 04:45 PM)
Already out of contract.my father also already an old guy 80yo don’t think he has the energy to do this way lol. He even told them he willing to port out from his celcom postpaid to join unifi. Kinda surprised he got this pathetic offer compared to the offers I’m reading in this thread…
This is what happen mostly to the elderly, they are stuck in older, more expensive plan. CS probably think the elderly will not like younger people wanting to switch plan, so no need to offer SWU Rm90.
It's time you help your father, take over the ownership and manage the Unifi account.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0303sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:13 PM