19 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V43, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

kwss
post Jun 10 2025, 01:02 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(hsbb @ Jun 10 2025, 12:34 AM)
I's about 'Kristal Value' they personally have. ISO 9001 play role too.

* Hey kwss, tell ur #rafi I defend TM again.
Now don't have.

That time I really felt like it when you went and find some ancient screenshot. Haha
kwss
post Jun 12 2025, 09:01 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 12 2025, 08:36 PM)
kwss tng55

I managed to get VLAN 400 on LAN 1 tagged
and VLAN 400 on LAN 4 untagged remain untouch

however, VLAN 500 on VEIP cannot be remove because ONR release ranting.gif

I make new changes, why not treat ME 84/171 like normal Layer 2 Ethernet

TM smart enough to hide mac address
Actually you want to go all in PPTP? Or how? Telco support on this is kind of fragile if you want to go all in a single stack.

PON is a Layer 2 network. When you say treat it like normal Ethernet, you mean you let the SoC switch chip functionality do it? Or you bridge it in Linux kernel?

My VLAN 400 was removed from LAN1 too. I didn't bother with it since I use VRF route leak as workaround. Now I can make calls as long as Im on Wireguard.
kwss
post Jun 12 2025, 09:27 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 12 2025, 09:18 PM)
because PPTP is simple, sfp quite small only support either PPTP or VEIP, it's complicated when both exist and I want little user intervention
also FwdOp 0x10 contain custom forwarding, if didn't work, always can force to 0x02
when force 0x02 on PPTP and VEIP, it will clash
also
it reside on ASIC portion for PON to LAN inter-networking, the stick just has 400MHz MIPS and br0 on this SoC just software
as long I proper VLAN, I can ease my mind
You are not wrong on this one. Telco is supposed to do either PPTP or VEIP. Not mix and match.
I don't foresee this changing in GPON since it's "working". Hopefully by the next last mile upgrade they are wiser.

Letting the switch chip do it then okay. ASIC FTW.
kwss
post Jun 14 2025, 01:21 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(jasontanky @ Jun 13 2025, 09:18 AM)
Vercel is blocked on all major ISP's DNS, what does Fakmi think?
What domain did you test? Seems working to me.
kwss
post Jun 16 2025, 05:10 PM

1,207 posts

The original argument was that public IP will be given depending on monthly payment in the 500Mbps plan.

This is very unlikely because technically the profile is configured by plan. There's no definition of pricing during the technical configuration.

So everyone, go get the 500Mbps at RM90.
Torrent client has support IPv6 for a long time. IPv4 isn't as useful as it sounds today.
kwss
post Jun 16 2025, 11:25 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jun 16 2025, 10:32 PM)
Currently paying RM119 for 500Mbps.
Waiting for contract ending by August to try luck for RM90.
But then.. why does my 'Service Start Date' showing May 2018 in the Unifi dashboard?
I am confident that I re-contracted myself for 500Mbps back in August 2023.
Maybe system error? You could be the lucky one.
If you can afford the time to crash TM, go act like your contract expired and ask for 500Mbps RM90.
kwss
post Jun 18 2025, 04:43 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(katowwe @ Jun 18 2025, 03:06 PM)
She said my current plan 500M RM129 is cheapest, no new SWU can be offer. Hahahaha, i will try port out
I went and check out Astro website.
For RM139 you get 500Mbps + their base 103 channels.

It still sounds more worthy than TM bare bone Internet only.
For people who want to watch TV, might as well get it. No?
kwss
post Jun 18 2025, 05:07 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jun 18 2025, 04:50 PM)
I understand it is for existing customer only aka bundle.
But you can bundle for RM140:
https://www.astro.com.my/fibre?type=new&speed=500

Not only TM gives new customer nothing, their SWU sounds expensive by comparison.
kwss
post Jun 18 2025, 06:01 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jun 18 2025, 05:54 PM)
so that's it? no more SWU? game over? damn mine still in contract sad.gif
Just go and apply for that Astro bundle if you are already paying 139 for Unifi.
Seriously, you have nothing to lose when Astro gives you more.

Best case TM gives you RM90 for 500Mbps
kwss
post Jun 18 2025, 11:28 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(Johnslow @ Jun 18 2025, 05:13 PM)
I play esport fighting gaming? Will private ip affect it?
QUOTE(tng55 @ Jun 18 2025, 09:58 PM)
yes you get ping higher very bad must be public ip get ping lower
Look. Let's not be dramatic.
If you go and do a speedtest with CGNAT and without CGNAT, what's the difference between the ping time?

I would say they are all within margin of error of a shared network.

But let's say you really want to do the math, I say worst case CGNAT has a 2ms additional delay, you need a 500Hz gaming monitor to render that 1 additional frame.

Tell me you have a 500 Hz monitor.

CGNAT either run on dedicated service module or DPDK if running on off the shelf CPU. What's the time it takes to do a hashmap lookup? They are in micro-second.

I suspect your Windows Defender took more time to scan your game.
kwss
post Jun 20 2025, 04:28 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 20 2025, 04:17 PM)
Test TM NGN
Wow. Uncapped XGSPON.
Mind sharing the ONU they are using?
PPPoE or IPoE?
Type of connection? RJ45 10G or SFP+?
The router you are using? Bridge mode with RB5009 or how?
kwss
post Jun 20 2025, 11:44 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 20 2025, 11:14 PM)
What I being told, it's ONR
that is why they need test my 10G Stick see how OLT react

they keep saying NGN, maybe 50G OLT?
If that is the case your friend would have show you a 40Gbps speedtest.
It is clearly just XGSPON and nothing more.

NGN is just a meaningless term. Mostly used in marketing to tell a whole lot of... Nothing

This post has been edited by kwss: Jun 20 2025, 11:45 PM
kwss
post Jun 23 2025, 11:15 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 23 2025, 10:14 PM)
hsbb kwss tng55 touch n go I wondering why some of my client say FTTR is a scam? and some people want to sue ISP for misleading Internet Plan?
What did they say first?
I don't know why is it a scam. They were promised fiber, they were given fiber.

The only downside with ISP provided FTTR is vendor lock-in. The main unit actually act as OLT while all satellite unit act as ONU. Yes it's PON implementation. This is also the reason I am never interested in it.

Alternatively you can do your own FTTR using Corning ClearCurve fiber. They have single-mode and multi-mode version. You then just pick your own transceiver.

Obviously multi-mode requires a minimum of 2 fibers per connection but you save on transceiver cost.

With single-mode, you might need to install an attenuator if you are using transceiver meant for more than 2km to prevent it from laser burn.

Other than that, this tech works and it's not a scam.
kwss
post Jun 23 2025, 11:59 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jun 23 2025, 11:47 PM)
kwss hsbb

I know how FTTR works,

but during talk, there some dude pull out my pon stick and downgraded to 100Mbps just to have better wifi, now he regretted
I don't understand.
What's 100Mbps has to do with better WiFi.
Multiple FTTR nodes cannot possibly has worst WiFi experience that whatever hardware they are using for that "100Mbps".

Unless there's compatibility issue between the hardware, which is all too common in the WiFi space.
kwss
post Jun 24 2025, 12:36 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(yeo_1987 @ Jun 24 2025, 12:27 AM)
Hi all sifus. I got a D-link AX3000 DPN-FX3060V from a friend and wanted to turn it into an ONU/ONT, pairing with my TP-Link AX90 router.

Is there any way to turn it into ONU/ONT?
My set up was fail - the internet connection lost every 5-10 minutes and reconnected
If it successfully connected, you correctly set it up despite the frequent disconnected.

What is the color of your D-Link? If it's black, try updating the firmware.

Did you hard reset and reconfigured it? Or you are using your friend's configuration?

You have the PLOAM password right?
kwss
post Jul 3 2025, 09:40 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 3 2025, 09:11 AM)
no need try , confirm can get SWU 5.0 offer. i have done that for my sept25 contract renewal , and got my SWU 5.0 100Mbps RM89 package
People are now paying RM90 for 500Mbps.
Who wants to pay RM89 for 100Mbps?
kwss
post Jul 3 2025, 10:38 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Jul 3 2025, 10:20 AM)
yes and got free upgrade to 300Mbps..

for me 300Mbps and 500Mbps just a no. i was on 500Mbps and see no diff between 500 & 300... so i just take 100Mbps free upgrade to 300Mbps
This is SWU 5.0?
I never know they still give free speed upgrade.
Can share your full plan name?

If it's 66.75 for 300Mbps then it's worthy.
kwss
post Jul 4 2025, 08:12 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(idoloveyou @ Jul 4 2025, 07:46 PM)

sifu2 what about this ancient btu, during swu3.0 request the technician to change it as well but got rejected.

quite stable for current plan 500mbps, any downside?
This is the OG Alcatel-Lucent ONU before Nokia bought over the company.
I used it for 9 years before it finally broke. From 10Mbps to 800 Mbps.
Definitely trouble free other than change power adapter.
Many more years later it keep LOS and it was when I decided it's dead for good.

How old is yours?

For context Australia NBN is using this too, with a different enclosure. 100% trouble free.

This post has been edited by kwss: Jul 4 2025, 08:13 PM
kwss
post Jul 4 2025, 09:09 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Jul 4 2025, 09:04 PM)
I was contact the Astro agent which it directly open with whatsapp web, then I ask the package, 500m@RM90 only for existing Astro customer which I don't have, so I cannot apply for it (sad).

Maybe the agent want to secure win-win for both party.

Let me ask this: what if I apply thru online for myself (example Maxis or others ISP), will I get penalty or no refund if I withdraw the application and stay with Unifi (example I get SWU a reasonable package)?
Just apply online for the RM140 Astro package and wait for TM to call you.

There's no legal binding until the port over is complete. This is the loophole TM is using for all SWU.
It's not like mobile telco where you have to pay for SIM card. For fiber broadband, customer don't lose a single cent.

This post has been edited by kwss: Jul 4 2025, 09:09 PM
kwss
post Jul 4 2025, 09:14 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Jul 4 2025, 09:12 PM)
Thanks for the tips, what if they really proceed and TM call me to confirm the termination AND without offer me any good package  hmm.gif ?
Just tell them you decided to stay with your current plan and nothing change.
You lost nothing at all!

19 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:56 AM