Interested to know as well since I'm in the same shoes as you. But just a heads up, e-invoice phase 3 has been delayed to Jan 1, 2026.
e-Invoicing for freelancer with foreign clients, Difference in the MYR-equivalent
Apr 22 2025, 10:41 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
195 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Interested to know as well since I'm in the same shoes as you. But just a heads up, e-invoice phase 3 has been delayed to Jan 1, 2026.
Apr 22 2025, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Apr 22 2025, 01:01 PM) Actually, we're still on the hook. https://www.hasil.gov.my/en/e-invoice/imple...ation-timeline/ still shows "Taxpayers with an annual turnover or revenue of more than RM500,000 and up to RM25 million" as 1 July... My bad! I fall under the SME below RM500k income, which was the ones that got delayed. I'm hoping my accountant will help me sort it out when the time comes |
Apr 22 2025, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Apr 22 2025, 03:40 PM) Wow you have an accountant? Can you let me know if they have any updates for you regarding this e-invoicing thing with foreign currency transactions? Thanks in advance Sure, I'll try asking him the next time we speak (not sure when though since he seems pretty busy atm). He's just a freelance accountant who helps with my sole-prop bookkeeping once a year. When asked about e-invoicing last year, he just to said he'll show me what to do when the time comes... something about using self-billed e-invoice for foreign clients yada-yada. I see all the fields that needs to filled up also pening already haha KingArthurVI liked this post
Apr 29 2025, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Apr 28 2025, 02:14 PM) Thanks, good to know! We need to balance the shortfall (forex loss, fees, etc) from the accounting side then? Feels like a lot of work just to keep track of these tiny fees individually Currently what my accountant does is if I invoiced a client for say, USD100 and I only received RM420 in my bank through Wise, he just records RM420 in the bookkeeping. But with the upcoming e-invoicing, he'll probably need to record it at exchange rate ~RM440 and then do some extra calculation to get the actual received value? Haih, LHDN just take my money... why add so much paperwork... This post has been edited by purplefellow: Apr 29 2025, 10:29 AM |
Apr 30 2025, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(kinnasai @ Apr 29 2025, 02:50 PM) Yeah, your accountant was not doing proper accounting. Ur invoice is RM440 (USD100), and the receivable after expenses and cost (of ~RM20) is ~RM420. Whether with or without e-inv, your account should still be recorded in this way leh.... Crap, now I really need to have a chat with him! |
| Change to: | 0.0471sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:02 AM |