Call to 1-800 / 1-300, Why got extra charge

TScontoh
post Apr 16 2025, 08:07 PM, updated 8 months ago

73 posts

Calling to 1-800 or 1-300 numbers from a mobile line typically comes with extra charges. With modern advancements, calling local numbers is now free for most mobile users. It's surprising that some businesses still rely on these outdated systems instead of upgrading to more convenient and cost-effective options for their customers. Don't you think it's time for them to catch up?
soonwai
post Apr 16 2025, 08:43 PM

11,455 posts

1-800 don't have. 1-300 as you said. I'm using Digi.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 16 2025, 08:44 PM
eddievh
post Apr 16 2025, 09:02 PM

3,218 posts

1800 is foc.
knwong
post Apr 16 2025, 09:06 PM

3,559 posts

How much does it cost you?
MrBaba
post Apr 16 2025, 09:37 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(contoh @ Apr 16 2025, 08:07 PM)
Calling to 1-800 or 1-300 numbers from a mobile line typically comes with extra charges. With modern advancements, calling local numbers is now free for most mobile users. It's surprising that some businesses still rely on these outdated systems instead of upgrading to more convenient and cost-effective options for their customers. Don't you think it's time for them to catch up?
1800 free 1300 need pay
QUOTE(knwong @ Apr 16 2025, 09:06 PM)
How much does it cost you?
Babi Mahal , KFC hotline is 1300 they fuck up and u need to call this knn hotline min 1 call need 10+RM cos they charge by minute
GalaxyV
post Apr 16 2025, 09:44 PM

779 posts

1-800 is free. I use Digi Prepaid unlimited

1-300 u need to pay, same with 15454
Cookie101
post Apr 16 2025, 10:21 PM

1,616 posts

They use those for cheap business costs. Landlines kena wait TM for the service and lousy recovery.

And according to business survey, many prefer calling toll free number instead without realising they get charged from mobile.

Maxis charge both 1300 and 1800. The alternative option is to call the “overseas” number
ktek
post Apr 16 2025, 11:38 PM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

how bout unifi 100
YoungMan
post Apr 17 2025, 09:13 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(Cookie101 @ Apr 16 2025, 10:21 PM)
They use those for cheap business costs. Landlines kena wait TM for the service and lousy recovery.

And according to business survey, many prefer calling toll free number instead without realising they get charged from mobile.

Maxis charge both 1300 and 1800. The alternative option is to call the “overseas” number
Maxis do not charge for calling 1800, only 1300 is charged.
GalaxyV
post Apr 17 2025, 09:43 AM

779 posts

Are you sure maxis charges for 1800? Digi is free.
synical
post Apr 17 2025, 12:43 PM

654 posts

UMobile definitely gotta pay for the 1-300 number calls
GalaxyV
post Apr 17 2025, 04:10 PM

779 posts

QUOTE(synical @ Apr 17 2025, 12:43 PM)
UMobile definitely gotta pay for the 1-300 number calls
1-300 confirm is chargeable by all telcos but 1-800 is free for unlimited plan (so far I know Digi is free but other mentioned here Maxis needs to pay for 1800)

TScontoh
post Apr 21 2025, 12:39 PM

73 posts

When they detect you actually calling from local, they will ask you to call toll free. happen to me on AIA and hotlink.

-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 21 2025, 12:41 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,747 posts

I hate those 1300 numbers. That day weekend called a 1300 number and put on hold so long.. My bill was RM 10+ !! Really too much
YoungMan
post Apr 21 2025, 09:03 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(-PuPu^ZaPruD3r- @ Apr 21 2025, 12:41 PM)
I hate those 1300 numbers. That day weekend called a 1300 number and put on hold so long.. My bill was RM 10+ !! Really too much
Some companies there will be a 03 number for overseas call. I often called the 03 number and it function the same as the 1300 number.

This post has been edited by YoungMan: Apr 21 2025, 09:03 PM

0.0158sec    0.99    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:29 PM