Jotun paint options, True beauty matte or pure color matte ?

TSSotsotzaii
post Apr 3 2025, 11:34 AM, updated 8 months ago

2,537 posts

Hi, i'm buying paint soon for interior, I picked jotun and already have the colors chosen, now is to choose which quality to go for, Jotun Majestic True Beauty Matte, which is the 2nd best according to supplier, and another is Jotun Majestic Pure Color Matte, the difference is the latter is pricier but best quality compared with the former, which gives that pure matte color and no reflection at all, for those who had use before either of these 2, is it worth going for Pure color or True beauty matte is good enough ?
shaniandras2787
post Apr 3 2025, 11:55 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Apr 3 2025, 11:34 AM)
Hi, i'm buying paint soon for interior, I picked jotun and already have the colors chosen, now is to choose which quality to go for, Jotun Majestic True Beauty Matte, which is the 2nd best according to supplier, and another is Jotun Majestic Pure Color Matte, the difference is the latter is pricier but best quality compared with the former, which gives that pure matte color and no reflection at all, for those who had use before either of these 2, is it worth going for Pure color or True beauty matte is good enough ?
most paint for interior walls are matte in nature, if you picked the one with a shiny/glossy then chances are they are for wood/metal.
TSSotsotzaii
post Apr 3 2025, 12:04 PM

2,537 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Apr 3 2025, 11:55 AM)
most paint for interior walls are matte in nature, if you picked the one with a shiny/glossy then chances are they are for wood/metal.
Both of these is matte finishes, but the difference is pure color is 100% matte with 0% reflection, according to supplier. So I'm wondering if I should just go for the cheaper one since it's also matte and wouldn't really make much of a difference ?
Chisinlouz
post Apr 3 2025, 12:08 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Apr 3 2025, 12:04 PM)
Both of these is matte finishes, but the difference is pure color is 100% matte with 0% reflection, according to supplier. So I'm wondering if I should just go for the cheaper one since it's also matte and wouldn't really make much of a difference ?
Follow your budget? You can always test one side of the wall with different paint color so that you can compare.
JimbeamofNRT
post Apr 3 2025, 12:08 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Apr 3 2025, 12:04 PM)
u buy the small can, then try first lah, diff ppl diff taste , right?
zuozi
post Apr 3 2025, 12:10 PM

1,262 posts

Paint nowadays ramai selection like zero VOC, non solvent base paint alternative like water based paint for floor, wood, metal etc purpose, tapi primer part must follow the official guide if you decided to use water based paint kalau tak ikut official guide cat tak akan tahan lama

Make sure your painter and the paint seller know what they're doing .
bill11
post Apr 3 2025, 01:41 PM

303 posts

Jotun Majestic Pure Color - this is newer paint and last longer (12 years). Used it recently for my outdoor. Kinda OK.

Jotun Majestic True Beauty - used it for internal wall so far so good, but this painter used the jotun primer + agc (something like that) to level up the wall.

if you doesnt want the pure mattee, you can go for majestic sense, it is half gloss half matte.

So far so good la, my only complaint is that ringgit buying power sucks.
max_cavalera
post Apr 3 2025, 03:40 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

Those jotun interior series damn nice one. Pricier but the end result worth it.
darkian
post Apr 3 2025, 05:00 PM

52 posts

I also painted my interior walls with true beauty matte just last Nov. The finish is quite matte with minimal reflection. Im happy with it. at first i bought the paint from the hardware shop. Later for other rooms i bought the paint online. cheaper and delivery was fast as well

areszues92
post Apr 3 2025, 05:04 PM

168 posts

make sure u buy good primer, i made mistake use cheap primer the paint peeled
ScooterBoi
post Apr 3 2025, 05:38 PM

1,372 posts

I used jotun before. Also Nippon paint. Jotun matt is more matt than Nippon.

The jotun super matt is a new product. Haven't try it yet.

The question you should ask yourself is whether you really need to have super matt in that particular room.

I'm satisfied with true beauty matt in the living room. In kitchen, I selected true beauty sheen for more smoother wall (for easy wiping), more reflection making it more brighter during daylight.

I painted the walls myself, ok no problem with true beauty. For the newer super matt product, the key info given is that the drying time is 4 hours. True beauty is only 2 hours.

Price different would be another factor for me. How much different btw them in 5 litres can?

ltpg
post Apr 3 2025, 09:19 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(Sotsotzaii @ Apr 3 2025, 11:34 AM)
buy online

got this last week

painted whole house with jotun

actually majestic sense is better but it has a sheen look which us unsuitable for uneven walls . i painted some with sense but regretted.

others all use majestic true beauty matt... all same color- CHI which looks like white. 1 room and some walls diff color

I coated al my walls with nippon flexiseal as undercoat and sealer .. very costly but covers all hairline cracks and acts like a waterproof area.

For ceiling i used jotun essense cover plus/ sealer is jotun sealer. Avoid usjng cheap matex/maxilite powder paint.

This post has been edited by ltpg: Apr 3 2025, 09:29 PM

0.0149sec    0.18    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:57 AM