QUOTE(corad @ Mar 28 2025, 10:10 AM)
Does this mean you rejected 8 times to go out for a meal ?
If yes, then IMHO you need to do some reflecting as well. It's just lunch (meaning still need to come back to office) unlike dinner + drinks etc which can really drag till early morning sometimes.
I think what your Director is hinting is that they can pay more if you add more scope.
Since they mentioned it, brush up on your email skills (there's AI nowadays) so you can immediately show that you took their feedback seriously and 1 less thing for them to micromanage you about. Then keep up the "improvement" momentum and start asking for more to do every few weeks. Many office jobs can be automated, but just show the results without blabing about clever you are in using the computer. Make yourself the person that the boss can turn to get things done.
That's how you get a promotion.
so positive thinking advice.. If yes, then IMHO you need to do some reflecting as well. It's just lunch (meaning still need to come back to office) unlike dinner + drinks etc which can really drag till early morning sometimes.
I think what your Director is hinting is that they can pay more if you add more scope.
Since they mentioned it, brush up on your email skills (there's AI nowadays) so you can immediately show that you took their feedback seriously and 1 less thing for them to micromanage you about. Then keep up the "improvement" momentum and start asking for more to do every few weeks. Many office jobs can be automated, but just show the results without blabing about clever you are in using the computer. Make yourself the person that the boss can turn to get things done.
That's how you get a promotion.
for me, my superior also hinting about 'improvement' but the thing is, their is no guidance or lead by example..
they assume i can understand and execute it as per their direction.. when didnt materialise, kena scold kaw2.
bila i tried ask question on how to proceed, kena ask back.. you should this by now...bla bla bla
i mean apa salah asking question whether to clarify or re-confirm. communication supposed to be 2-ways but when i ask, mcm 1-way saja.
i feel too stress with no direction, always kena target.
hence, i break my ego and try looking for new job, i even try asking for internal transfer to other department. Personally, this is not who I am and i already felt this is not the position i'm passionate about.
Mar 28 2025, 10:25 AM

0.0166sec