Motorcycle Chains RK vs D.I.D., To discuss chain difference
TSdavid22022022
Mar 24 2025, 04:12 PM, updated 8 months ago
Hi sifus
My Z250 factory chain has kaput after 33,000km. Anyone has experience with these two chain models?
D.I.D. 520VX3 & RK GB520KRX
Both seems to be using X-Ring type chains. but for RK, they bundle both the Sprocket & Chain for the same price of just the DID chains.
Would you personally go with (RK Sprocket + DID chains) or just go for (RK Sprockets & Chains) or do you guys have any other recommendations based off experience?
Any comments and recommendations will be highly appreciated!
alexei
Mar 24 2025, 05:22 PM
520VX3 is overkill for the Z250
mADmAN
Mar 24 2025, 06:04 PM
Used rk on my old z250...lasted quite awhile....i lube every week n wash once a week.
Never used did before though.
N for ur factory chain kaput at 33k km...u need to better maintain ur chain...kawasaki chains can last really long if looked after.... N aftermarket chain will not last aslong as the factory chain even if looked after the same way.
Patent
Mar 24 2025, 06:38 PM
o-ring chain rivet type is more than enough for your bike. cant go wrong between rk and did, get whichever is cheaper. proper maintenance is more important.
TSdavid22022022
Mar 25 2025, 10:59 AM
okay, guess I'll just go with the RK Chain Sprocket combo since it's cheaper than DID chain itself.
Vincent6596
Mar 28 2025, 09:23 AM
TS, borrow your topic.
anyone can suggest chain and sprocket for yamaha XJ6 use ? go for RK or D.I.D ?
alexei
Mar 28 2025, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Mar 28 2025, 09:23 AM) TS, borrow your topic. anyone can suggest chain and sprocket for yamaha XJ6 use ? go for RK or D.I.D ? DID
sCid00
Mar 28 2025, 09:59 AM
250cc O ring already sufficient...no need X ring. both are OK just need to properly maintain the chain
Vincent6596
Mar 28 2025, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 28 2025, 09:55 AM) DID can last longer compare to RK with good maintenance ?
alexei
Mar 28 2025, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Mar 28 2025, 04:57 PM) DID can last longer compare to RK with good maintenance ? it doesn't stretch as RK The DID 525VX3 Pro-Street X-Ring chain has an average tensile strength of 9,980 lbs The RK 525GXW XW-Ring chain has a tensile strength of 9,300 pounds The RK 525ZXW XW-Ring chain has a tensile strength of 10,400 pounds This post has been edited by alexei: Mar 28 2025, 10:41 PM
Vincent6596
Mar 29 2025, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 28 2025, 10:37 PM) it doesn't stretch as RK The DID 525VX3 Pro-Street X-Ring chain has an average tensile strength of 9,980 lbs The RK 525GXW XW-Ring chain has a tensile strength of 9,300 pounds The RK 525ZXW XW-Ring chain has a tensile strength of 10,400 pounds alright, thx for the info bro
jaycee1
Mar 30 2025, 09:28 AM
To be honest, I just get the cheapest x ring chain for my bike. It's a once a year replacement anyway as I do 30+k per year. To be fair I'm not that conscientious about chain maintenance on a daily dike that gets wet often. I just replace it once the links get kinked up or stretches beyond 3 adjustments.
My OEM O ring DiD chain on my NK lasted about 25k before I replaced it with a RK x ring 520. Tbh, I don't expect the RK to last beyond 30k either. For 180 a set, I just factor it in my annual maintenance cost. For my usage, I change the sprocket for every 2 chains
pakram
Apr 12 2025, 10:06 AM

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 30 2025, 09:28 AM) To be honest, I just get the cheapest x ring chain for my bike. It's a once a year replacement anyway as I do 30+k per year. To be fair I'm not that conscientious about chain maintenance on a daily dike that gets wet often. I just replace it once the links get kinked up or stretches beyond 3 adjustments. My OEM O ring DiD chain on my NK lasted about 25k before I replaced it with a RK x ring 520. Tbh, I don't expect the RK to last beyond 30k either. For 180 a set, I just factor it in my annual maintenance cost. For my usage, I change the sprocket for every 2 chains where you change ur chain, recommend pls
jaycee1
Apr 14 2025, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(pakram @ Apr 12 2025, 10:06 AM) where you change ur chain, recommend pls Any big bike shop can change a chain. Just make sure they rivet it to spec
SUSkesvani
Jun 26 2025, 11:16 PM
Sian motor asking for money already. My 428 chain now clunking cannot dissapear anymore even after put chain lube. Only 54k++ and chain already spoil somemore its RKM O ring