Motorcycle Chains RK vs D.I.D., To discuss chain difference

TSdavid22022022
post Mar 24 2025, 04:12 PM, updated 8 months ago

Hi sifus

My Z250 factory chain has kaput after 33,000km. Anyone has experience with these two chain models?

D.I.D. 520VX3 & RK GB520KRX

Both seems to be using X-Ring type chains. but for RK, they bundle both the Sprocket & Chain for the same price of just the DID chains.

Would you personally go with (RK Sprocket + DID chains) or just go for (RK Sprockets & Chains) or do you guys have any other recommendations based off experience?

Any comments and recommendations will be highly appreciated!

alexei
post Mar 24 2025, 05:22 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

520VX3 is overkill for the Z250
mADmAN
post Mar 24 2025, 06:04 PM

10,530 posts

Used rk on my old z250...lasted quite awhile....i lube every week n wash once a week.

Never used did before though.

N for ur factory chain kaput at 33k km...u need to better maintain ur chain...kawasaki chains can last really long if looked after.... N aftermarket chain will not last aslong as the factory chain even if looked after the same way.
Patent
post Mar 24 2025, 06:38 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

o-ring chain rivet type is more than enough for your bike.
cant go wrong between rk and did, get whichever is cheaper.
proper maintenance is more important.
TSdavid22022022
post Mar 25 2025, 10:59 AM

okay, guess I'll just go with the RK Chain Sprocket combo since it's cheaper than DID chain itself.
Vincent6596
post Mar 28 2025, 09:23 AM

472 posts

TS, borrow your topic.

anyone can suggest chain and sprocket for yamaha XJ6 use ?
go for RK or D.I.D ?
alexei
post Mar 28 2025, 09:55 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Mar 28 2025, 09:23 AM)
TS, borrow your topic.

anyone can suggest chain and sprocket for yamaha XJ6 use ?
go for RK or D.I.D ?
DID
sCid00
post Mar 28 2025, 09:59 AM

30 posts

250cc O ring already sufficient...no need X ring. both are OK just need to properly maintain the chain
Vincent6596
post Mar 28 2025, 04:57 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 28 2025, 09:55 AM)
DID
DID can last longer compare to RK with good maintenance ?
alexei
post Mar 28 2025, 10:37 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Mar 28 2025, 04:57 PM)
DID can last longer compare to RK with good maintenance ?
it doesn't stretch as RK

The DID 525VX3 Pro-Street X-Ring chain has an average tensile strength of 9,980 lbs

The RK 525GXW XW-Ring chain has a tensile strength of 9,300 pounds
The RK 525ZXW XW-Ring chain has a tensile strength of 10,400 pounds

This post has been edited by alexei: Mar 28 2025, 10:41 PM
Vincent6596
post Mar 29 2025, 06:52 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 28 2025, 10:37 PM)
it doesn't stretch as RK

The DID 525VX3 Pro-Street X-Ring chain has an average tensile strength of 9,980 lbs

The RK 525GXW XW-Ring chain has a tensile strength of 9,300 pounds
The RK 525ZXW XW-Ring chain has a tensile strength of 10,400 pounds
alright, thx for the info bro

jaycee1
post Mar 30 2025, 09:28 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

To be honest, I just get the cheapest x ring chain for my bike. It's a once a year replacement anyway as I do 30+k per year. To be fair I'm not that conscientious about chain maintenance on a daily dike that gets wet often. I just replace it once the links get kinked up or stretches beyond 3 adjustments.

My OEM O ring DiD chain on my NK lasted about 25k before I replaced it with a RK x ring 520. Tbh, I don't expect the RK to last beyond 30k either. For 180 a set, I just factor it in my annual maintenance cost. For my usage, I change the sprocket for every 2 chains
pakram
post Apr 12 2025, 10:06 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 30 2025, 09:28 AM)
To be honest, I just get the cheapest x ring chain for my bike. It's a once a year replacement anyway as I do 30+k per year. To be fair I'm not that conscientious about chain maintenance on a daily dike that gets wet often. I just replace it once the links get kinked up or stretches beyond  3 adjustments.

My OEM O ring DiD chain on my NK lasted about 25k before I replaced it with a RK x ring 520. Tbh, I don't expect the RK to last beyond 30k either. For 180 a set, I just factor it in my annual maintenance cost. For my usage, I change the sprocket for every 2 chains
where you change ur chain, recommend pls
jaycee1
post Apr 14 2025, 08:45 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(pakram @ Apr 12 2025, 10:06 AM)
where you change ur chain, recommend pls
Any big bike shop can change a chain. Just make sure they rivet it to spec
SUSkesvani
post Jun 26 2025, 11:16 PM

950 posts

Sian motor asking for money already. My 428 chain now clunking cannot dissapear anymore even after put chain lube. Only 54k++ and chain already spoil somemore its RKM O ring

0.0149sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:29 AM