Are LYN's mainpage ad annoying?, Well, vote now!!

TSjceh83
post Nov 10 2007, 05:19 PM, updated 19y ago

two stepping all the way..
1,235 posts

Are LYN's mainpage ad annoying?

Seriously, the current Maxis ad at the mainpage is very very very annoying...

I think the previous ad with the fly was very annoying too...

Please please please vote...

Gurdian
post Nov 10 2007, 05:22 PM

1,648 posts

this was brought up before

by me

and the conclusion is: someone has to pay the bills, whether you like it or not, advertisers only understand flashy ads
RoyMcAvoy
post Nov 10 2007, 05:23 PM

Going to be a grand wizard next year
1,732 posts

freaking damn annoying
but one thing you need to know, the more annoying and intrusive the ads are, the more they(lyn) will get
lencent
post Nov 10 2007, 05:24 PM

1,719 posts

and hence, we all still here able to discuss our stuff smile.gif
cyc85
post Nov 10 2007, 05:25 PM

sob~sob~
1,202 posts

everytime i'm at the lyn main page, i need to be careful dont point my mouse on those ads...ANNOYING!!! shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by cyc85: Nov 10 2007, 05:30 PM
peacezxp
post Nov 10 2007, 05:25 PM

113 posts

Agree, the maxis add is very annoying.
Nadia_1510
post Nov 10 2007, 05:26 PM

205 posts

so damn annoying the maxis ad lor...
RoyMcAvoy
post Nov 10 2007, 05:28 PM

Going to be a grand wizard next year
1,732 posts

blame the ads provider, innity ads tongue.gif
TSjceh83
post Nov 10 2007, 05:39 PM

1,235 posts

so can't we do something about it?...

like with our poll, maybe se7en can tell....

se7en : "hey look here! there this poll that shows my people find your ad very intrusive and annoying"

maxis : "so what are you implying?"

se7en : "if you don't change it, people are gonna start hating your brand *whips out gun and shoot those god damn maxis marketing people to hell*

se7en walks away and LYN is happy again!!

oh ya...how much is it one year to host this site?
theodore_kh
post Nov 10 2007, 05:41 PM

It's me again !
1,297 posts

I actually didn't realize it until I use the public computer at my school's library.

My room firefox seems to block it out efficiently. But the bottom ad is still there.

Well, you still got my vote. It's freak ing annoying
TSjceh83
post Nov 10 2007, 05:42 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(Gurdian @ Nov 10 2007, 05:22 PM)
this was brought up before

by me

and the conclusion is: someone has to pay the bills, whether you like it or not, advertisers only understand flashy ads
well would you donate??

lets just, hypothetically say, there are around 40% of the 100,000 members active inside here

= 40,000 members

and only 20% of that have maybank account

= 8,000 members

which only 5% are willing to donate RM1

= RM400

hmmm??

what say u guys??
x3oN[v3]
post Nov 10 2007, 05:47 PM

[ - x 3 o N - ] | v ³ |
1,461 posts

The ads sometimes freezes my firefox, I cannot click anything except the ad. it sucks
RBR
post Nov 10 2007, 05:48 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

I don't want to diss your good intentions, but RM400 is really nothing at all and doesn't go anywhere in covering costs. We've explained before that ads are by far the most effective and equitable way for the site to prosper. And we're not the only site with ads, even thestar.com.my has very annoying pop up ads.
hanifw
post Nov 10 2007, 05:49 PM

389 posts

u know what.. bcoz the maxis' ads really2 disturbing.. now i really hate maxis broadband.. really2 hate it.. really2 disturbing..
matcatzz
post Nov 10 2007, 05:53 PM

349 posts

TOTALLY AGREE!! mad.gif mad.gif
ugh~
"mouse on me to the power of broadb"
totally roftllmaololz... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
TSjceh83
post Nov 10 2007, 05:54 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(RBR @ Nov 10 2007, 05:48 PM)
I don't want to diss your good intentions, but RM400 is really nothing at all and doesn't go anywhere in covering costs.  We've explained before that ads are by far the most effective and equitable way for the site to prosper.  And we're not the only site with ads, even thestar.com.my has very annoying pop up ads.
i totally agree with your point of view about having ads and I know you're not dissing but keeping it real

and i'm sure of your intentions to keep this site alive is for the betterment of all LYN members

therefore, now even with RM400, that's provided if we can come up with that, are you saying that we can't have a say in anything? (no thanks to the bersih march today, I'm in the mood for democracy)

then how much is it enough to keep LYN up and running..a rough figure would be good.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jceh83: Nov 10 2007, 05:57 PM
hanifw
post Nov 10 2007, 05:57 PM

389 posts

i tot sponsored by ipserverone.com ?

partial is it? none?
RBR
post Nov 10 2007, 06:08 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Nov 10 2007, 05:54 PM)
then how much is it enough to keep LYN up and running..a rough figure would be good.. smile.gif
I believe only se7en knows the answer to that, but I assure you its a heck of a lot more than RM400/month.
c9
post Nov 10 2007, 06:11 PM

5,824 posts

I don't see it as annoying, seems normal to me.

How much? Rack space rental, a few GBs of bandwidth per day, a few servers (duallie Xeons and Quad) to keep up with load and, well you just calculate that first.

cactuscch
post Nov 10 2007, 06:13 PM

747 posts

If using host file or firefox/adblock to block the ad address, will it affect ad count in lowyat.net?
wKkaY
post Nov 10 2007, 06:46 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Nov 10 2007, 08:54 PM)
therefore, now even with RM400, that's provided if we can come up with that, are you saying that we can't have a say in anything? (no thanks to the bersih march today, I'm in the mood for democracy)

At the moment, it's unlikely that se7en would entertain your RM400/month as contribution to LYN's expenses. But your philantrophy doesn't have to come to an end that way. You could instead come up with a project for our community or the wider community out there and put the RM400/month into it. And on our end we'll see how we can support and help it grow smile.gif
jtcs87
post Nov 10 2007, 07:34 PM

╮(╯_╰)╭
2,747 posts

TS... I think we don't have the right to choose on it since we are not the person who paid the bills.

The advertisement is just like an income for this forum. We are not request to pay the fees as the membership at this forum. se7en build this community forum without getting a lot of benefits only, if not mistaken sometimes he organize the charity fund to help other.

But i can saw a lot of member of this forum can a lot of benefits at here. We can earn a lot of information, knowledge, profit on sales & money (such as a lot of scammer prepare to con at here by nowadays).

By the way, i'm feel ok with that advertisement. whistling.gif
assaopi
post Nov 10 2007, 07:56 PM

167 posts

its anoying but still have to pay bills, unwillingly i just click on the adverts and press "x" to contribute abit.

Why not let google crawl in our forum topics. It a source of income too.
syazwanreno
post Nov 10 2007, 07:59 PM

Won (*3*) Chu Kiss Me?
1,269 posts

MAXIS AD IS VERY ANNOYING
conan86
post Nov 10 2007, 08:01 PM

396 posts

I FOR 1 AGREE THAT THE FREAKING THING IS ANNOYING LOL
AND THAT I THINK I SPEAK FOR MAJORITY OF US LOL
FREEAKIN MAXIS :s SIGH
IF THEY WANT TO ADVERTISE AT LEAST MAKE IT SMALLER WHERE IT WONT BOTHER US DOING WAT WE DO BEST ... BUT THIS IS JUST INSANE
**hence the caps lock is on ** tongue.gif
so let the votin decide lol
broommen
post Nov 10 2007, 08:05 PM

13 posts

For me its 100% annoying.. sad.gif
phunkydude
post Nov 10 2007, 08:12 PM

2,403 posts

it's at the bottom of the page right?
why i hardly notice it's existance eh`..
hiansitt
post Nov 10 2007, 08:14 PM

~nobody~
1,358 posts

every ad is annoying, but yet, without them, u lost a income..
maybe is a bit ridiculous, but here are the irony:

laws are annoying too, but, without follow them, erhem..

i agree the ad is annoying, but think of the bill.. i think is doesn't matter much
temptation1314
post Nov 10 2007, 08:17 PM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

TS,

Go book a hall and make your own forum there for a day. No more pop-ups, no more ad.

Everyone happy.

(Psst : This is internet.... wink.gif)
TSjceh83
post Nov 10 2007, 10:35 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(RBR @ Nov 10 2007, 06:08 PM)
I believe only se7en knows the answer to that, but I assure you its a heck of a lot more than RM400/month.
thank you very much for the info smile.gif

QUOTE(c9 @ Nov 10 2007, 06:11 PM)
I don't see it as annoying, seems normal to me.

How much? Rack space rental, a few GBs of bandwidth per day, a few servers (duallie Xeons and Quad) to keep up with load and, well you just calculate that first.
i really don't know bro..not an IT guy that's why I'm asking but will go research about it

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Nov 10 2007, 06:46 PM)
At the moment, it's unlikely that se7en would entertain your RM400/month as contribution to LYN's expenses. But your philantrophy doesn't have to come to an end that way. You could instead come up with a project for our community or the wider community out there and put the RM400/month into it. And on our end we'll see how we can support and help it grow smile.gif
I really thank you very very much for your reply as it seems you have the least "tone" amongst the rest in the reply..
constructive criticism is very very much welcomed especially from people like you wKkaY...

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Nov 10 2007, 08:17 PM)
TS,

Go book a hall and make your own forum there for a day. No more pop-ups, no more ad.

Everyone happy.

(Psst : This is internet.... wink.gif)
seriously, I was taught when I was younger if you have nothing good to say, just keep quiet...i think everyone is even happier now...

but anyhoo, ur right this is the internet and alot of people like se7en and the rest of the mods and admins of LYN are helping us out for FREE and at least I'm giving suggestion of how we can help and I would like to find out more...

so at least respect me, the TS, for my support and stop being a freeloader...

no offense to you but I welcome constructive criticism and replies like yours just pisses me off...

and btw, I am in the event management line so ya been there done that..forum, product launch, annual dinner, conventions etc...

This post has been edited by jceh83: Nov 10 2007, 10:36 PM
malaysianPotato
post Nov 11 2007, 12:56 AM

I need more space to write stuff here...
2,816 posts

Ya'll make it sound like adverts are the end of the world, just click the little X and go on with your browsing >.> It's not that big a deal.
TSjceh83
post Nov 11 2007, 01:00 AM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(malaysianPotato @ Nov 11 2007, 12:56 AM)
Ya'll make it sound like adverts are the end of the world, just click the little X and go on with your browsing >.> It's not that big a deal.
Have to say, though you're a mod, and yes its not a biggggggggggggggggggg deal..i'll pay 3 cents for your 2..
cyc85
post Nov 11 2007, 06:52 PM

sob~sob~
1,202 posts

at least don make the ads pops out everytime i click a new topic...make my firefox hangs while tongue.gif
Anyway the ads is gone now...mayb maxis notices this thread rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by cyc85: Nov 11 2007, 06:52 PM
yukihatsu
post Nov 11 2007, 08:09 PM

672 posts

just use firefox+adblock plus lar. say bye bye to ads. doh.gif
jtcs87
post Nov 11 2007, 08:42 PM

╮(╯_╰)╭
2,747 posts

QUOTE(yukihatsu @ Nov 11 2007, 08:09 PM)
just use firefox+adblock plus lar. say bye bye to ads. doh.gif
Yaya... I oso block it adi... thumbup.gif
cannavaro
post Nov 11 2007, 10:07 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

The ad doesn't bother me, my LYN bookmark takes me straight to the forum. I only check the front page once in a while.

padisawah
post Nov 11 2007, 10:24 PM

104 posts

the maxis ad, IMHO i would say it will only backfire them coz it just makes ppl hate them more. i for one, hate maxis for that. the ad makes me think maxis like "macam bagusss je"
so to MAXIS, take note!
to its staff/marketing team, go take marketing/management/watever classes there available and study kawkaw. learn about the consumer's feeling.
nuff said
athlon 11
post Nov 11 2007, 10:41 PM

287 posts

i will say,although i have firefox with block ad open,but the botton ad still make my reading felling not so good.

i think here no one objected lyn to have ad,but the ad can be writen in better way.
nickisthemost
post Nov 11 2007, 10:43 PM

388 posts

well null vote for me, u are like a typical malaysian people who loves to complain yet to contribute in this community, cheers
se7en
post Nov 12 2007, 12:28 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

we understand your complaints, but end of the day its the ads that keep this site free. unlike almost all other high traffic sites in this country, we do not have 'other means' of sustainable income. This isn't the USA where venture capital funding is easily available either.

we can't stop you from blocking the ads or complaining about it, but if the advertisers pull out, and we're forced to shut down due to lack of funding, its the community that stands to be on the loosing end, not the advertisers.

Just for comparison sake, RM400 would cover probably about 6~7 hours of our costs. We're trying to run a sustainable community, one that will grow and expand, one that will be a focal point of the local tech community for years to come. For that, we need sustainable income, donations while very noble would not help us grow and achieve our goals.
TSjceh83
post Nov 12 2007, 12:34 AM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(nickisthemost @ Nov 11 2007, 10:43 PM)
well null vote for me, u are like a typical malaysian people who loves to complain yet to contribute in this community, cheers
right and what have you contributed to this site?

though i didnt do much but i'm sure most of us did help out some people in the technical section, which I do to the best that I could and I also try my best to give directions...i didn't get my post count from spamming...

and read further on of the first page ok before judging me...

QUOTE(se7en @ Nov 12 2007, 12:28 AM)
we understand your complaints, but end of the day its the ads that keep this site free. unlike almost all other high traffic sites in this country, we do not have 'other means' of sustainable income. This isn't the USA where venture capital funding is easily available either.

we can't stop you from blocking the ads or complaining about it, but if the advertisers pull out, and we're forced to shut down due to lack of funding, its the community that stands to be on the loosing end, not the advertisers.

Just for comparison sake, RM400 would cover probably about 6~7 hours of our costs. We're trying to run a sustainable community, one that will grow and expand, one that will be a focal point of the local tech community for years to come. For that, we need sustainable income, donations while very noble would not help us grow and achieve our goals.
finally, se7en has spoken...

wow..i didn't know this site runs up so much bills..hmm but then again wouldn't it be great if we can come up with something like that

p/s what does britney is back means?

This post has been edited by jceh83: Nov 12 2007, 12:35 AM
youngkies
post Nov 12 2007, 12:55 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Nov 12 2007, 12:34 AM)
right and what have you contributed to this site?

though i didnt do much but i'm sure most of us did help out some people in the technical section, which I do to the best that I could and I also try my best to give directions...i didn't get my post count from spamming...

and read further on of the first page ok before judging me...
finally, se7en has spoken...

wow..i didn't know this site runs up so much bills..hmm but then again wouldn't it be great if we can come up with something like that

p/s what does britney is back means?

britney is back with new album. lol!
Coconut
post Nov 12 2007, 01:08 AM

1,268 posts

hm....RM400 for 6~7 hours is a scary figure, that works out about RM50,000 a month just to keep this site running? If that' the case, I would rather have all the ads on the main page to keep this forum running.
TSjceh83
post Nov 12 2007, 01:27 AM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Nov 12 2007, 01:08 AM)
hm....RM400 for 6~7 hours is a scary figure, that works out about RM50,000 a month just to keep this site running? If that' the case, I would rather have all the ads on the main page to keep this forum running.
notworthy.gif

agree dude..totally agree...i would rather they have it too..but not those annoying ones...

u reckon we can write a petition to Maxis or the star and ask them to tone down online advertising?

hmm if many agree to my idea, i'll start drafting the letter...
se7en
post Nov 12 2007, 01:30 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

gosh, how did you come to that value? the value i mentioned was based on peak hour usage, as well as a few other operational costs. I also included a few other costs that we're currently using for free courtesy of some very nice people at high places who are ardent LYN fans.
temptation1314
post Nov 12 2007, 10:05 AM

2,287 posts

From my knowledge, maintaining and running cost is different...
Later, this forum will filled with "slow connection/error opening forum) etc.

As long as I know till now, LYN still serving their "SLA"

Added on November 12, 2007, 10:25 am
QUOTE(jceh83 @ Nov 12 2007, 01:27 AM)
notworthy.gif

agree dude..totally agree...i would rather they have it too..but not those annoying ones...

u reckon we can write a petition to Maxis or the star and ask them to tone down online advertising?

hmm if many agree to my idea, i'll start drafting the letter...
=.=" tone down online advertising??
Well, I can support if it works to rid off those annoying ad.

But for the sake of truth,
I don't think it will works. It's all about marketing.
"LYN don't want our ad, nvm, we can move on to other... there's plenty of sources around the world"

Again, if this piss you off, sorry notworthy.gif
But it's the truth.
Ad is the one that keep newspaper alive.
Ad is the one that keep TV alive.
What's more??

This post has been edited by temptation1314: Nov 12 2007, 10:25 AM
TSjceh83
post Nov 12 2007, 11:09 AM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Nov 12 2007, 10:05 AM)

Added on November 12, 2007, 10:25 am

=.=" tone down online advertising??
Well, I can support if it works to rid off those annoying ad.

But for the sake of truth,
I don't think it will works. It's all about marketing.
"LYN don't want our ad, nvm, we can move on to other... there's plenty of sources around the world"

Again, if this piss you off, sorry notworthy.gif
But it's the truth.
Ad is the one that keep newspaper alive.
Ad is the one that keep TV alive.
What's more??
nope not pissed at all...am a marketing student myself and have done a research paper on maxis for my management major also...

well ads on those media is not intrusive but online it is if you get what i mean..

its not to get rid of those annoying ads but to tone it down...

so are u into..i might need another 2 or 3 more yes then i'll draft the letter...

temptation1314
post Nov 12 2007, 01:40 PM

2,287 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Nov 12 2007, 11:09 AM)
nope not pissed at all...am a marketing student myself and have done a research paper on maxis for my management major also...

well ads on those media is not intrusive but online it is if you get what i mean..

its not to get rid of those annoying ads but to tone it down...

so are u into..i might need another 2 or 3 more yes then i'll draft the letter...
Nah smile.gif I'll just step aside and see what it happens.
c9
post Nov 12 2007, 07:08 PM

5,824 posts

What do you mean by "tone down"?

Nah, I'll pass.
SUSabang
post Nov 12 2007, 08:06 PM

Abang Familia
2,078 posts

Its normal liao.

Feels nothing just fine.
zerica
post Nov 12 2007, 08:10 PM

182 posts

haha... why i no see any ads? tongue.gif
well... ads are there for a purpose... and also something called "Adblock" for Firefox smile.gif
scifo
post Nov 12 2007, 08:16 PM

196 posts

Just click at least 1 ad per day for sake of LYN site. It's not really hard, isn't it?
RBR
post Nov 12 2007, 08:21 PM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

QUOTE(scifo @ Nov 12 2007, 08:16 PM)
Just click at least 1 ad per day for sake of LYN site. It's not really hard, isn't it?
You really don't need to do that. Clicking ads for the sake of clicking ads is actually click fraud and people come down hard on that.
scifo
post Nov 12 2007, 10:51 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(RBR @ Nov 12 2007, 08:21 PM)
You really don't need to do that.  Clicking ads for the sake of clicking ads is actually click fraud and people come down hard on that.
oops. so sorry about that statement. I should says that we do learn new stuff when we click on the ad.
E.g. the Intel ad. At least I get to know different types of CPU model/specs.
sunauto
post Nov 13 2007, 09:51 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(scifo @ Nov 12 2007, 10:51 PM)
oops. so sorry about that statement. I should says that we do learn new stuff when we click on the ad.
E.g. the Intel ad. At least I get to know different types of CPU model/specs.
Yeah, you're right, some ads are indeed helpful, they serve a purpose actually. I don't see what's the big fuss for having ads here, it's a source of income for this site and with the number of forum members keep on growing as we speak, it shows that LYN rocks. icon_idea.gif

If not, we can have LYN 2, dedicated for those who wants an ad free forum but every month need to pay RM100 for montly membership fees. How's that? hmm.gif
TSjceh83
post Nov 13 2007, 10:58 AM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Nov 13 2007, 09:51 AM)
Yeah, you're right, some ads are indeed helpful, they serve a purpose actually. I don't see what's the big fuss for having ads here, it's a source of income for this site and with the number of forum members keep on growing as we speak, it shows that LYN rocks.  icon_idea.gif

If not, we can have LYN 2, dedicated for those who wants an ad free forum but every month need to pay RM100 for montly membership fees. How's that?  hmm.gif
did u go thru the thread?
temptation1314
post Nov 13 2007, 12:35 PM

2,287 posts

QUOTE(jceh83 @ Nov 13 2007, 10:58 AM)
did u go thru the thread?
Forgive him lar laugh.gif

BTT :
Well, I think no need to make such a big fuss lar. I know you did it for the sake of members who don't like pop-ups and annoying ads.
For me, doh.gif (Sorry)

For LYN, Ads is their reveneu, to keep the sites running free of charge.(Until now, I didn't encountered any forum that required memberships fees hmm.gif)

For Advertiser, it's their way to make a good marketing by advertising in LYN forum with average of 1k-2k of visitor per hour (I guess? sweat.gif)

For us, just click on the ads that we interested to know more. If encountered some annoying ads, just click [X] on it lor. It's not going to take your entire life to click on that thing icon_idea.gif

BEAR WITH YOU LYN!!!!!

(Lol) laugh.gif

P/S : Btw, don't simply click to generate reveneu for LYN lar (Even thou it was "undergrounded" encourage) Later if the advertiser know ar... LYN yang kena. sweat.gif
yewkhuay
post Nov 14 2007, 10:57 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

it looks fine to me, in fact i don even look at it.....
goldfries
post Nov 14 2007, 12:11 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

the ads at LYN frontpage are placed at the sides and bottom. smile.gif at least they don't obstruct content. you decide where your eyes go. biggrin.gif

look at blogs in general. they have ads smacked right in the middle of content. now that's annoying.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Nov 14 2007, 12:12 PM
yewkhuay
post Nov 14 2007, 10:08 PM

6,657 posts

i just bookmark my page straight to the forums, so adv or not doesn't really annoy me. like wat others said, u can advoid those advs...and it's true , adv in LYN doesn't block in our way to surf LYN...
goldfries
post Nov 14 2007, 10:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

oh. i spend 99.9% of my LYN time on forum.
yewkhuay
post Nov 14 2007, 10:27 PM

6,657 posts

same here, so no issue at all unless i step out to main page for updates....
sjz
post Mar 19 2008, 10:51 PM

3,879 posts

if we use adblock in firefox, will the ads be counted then? smile.gif

0.0634sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:08 PM