Taikor.Taikun
post Mar 19 2025, 01:01 PM

1,019 posts

QUOTE(kraziekd @ Mar 19 2025, 12:38 PM)
no woke, no dei, no trans, no black peopel

of course movie reviewer dont like
Squid Games got trans. Why China didnt follow world trends?
yhtan
post Mar 19 2025, 01:01 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Mar 19 2025, 12:30 PM)
Readers might recall the moment in the mid-2010s when Hollywood blockbusters suddenly seemed a lot less, well, American. The big-budget movies of the 1980s and 1990s were often so alluring to young Brits because of the exotic domestic details to be found in the cracks. (All that unfamiliar branded fast food!)

But in the early 21st century, as globalisation powered on, and China’s cinema market opened up to western produce, a memo went round the business: no more knobbly cultural specificities that might alienate that potentially enormous audience, or rile the censors guarding the gates.

Now that China’s own state-supervised cinema industry has ramped itself up to a Hollywood-rivalling scale, one can’t help but be a little hurt by the fact that the favour has absolutely not been reciprocated.

Ne Zha 2 – a $2 billion smash in its home country, and as of two weeks ago, the most successful animated film ever made anywhere – is, for the international viewer (or this one, anyway), an absolute headache to sit through. By turns frantic, gaudy and puerile, it’s supremely hard to latch onto emotionally, despite the scads of roared exposition that break up the otherwise relentless fight scenes in the second half.

Like its 2019 predecessor, its plot comes from a fantastical Ming Dynasty novel that’s apparently roughly equivalent to Britain’s King Arthur legends. I can’t say I’ve personally read it, though I’d be interested to hear from scholars if the source text features quite as many incidents of a pig loudly flatulating in a blind man’s face (two), supporting characters unwittingly drinking Ne Zha’s urine (three), or Ne Zha beating up a tribe of marmots after vomiting in their soup (once, though frankly once is enough).

In my two decades as a critic, I’ve almost never felt so strongly that a film wasn’t made for me. But cultural relativism as an excuse only gets you so far. I’m not sure deeper knowledge of 16th century eastern literature would have made me feel the character design here was anything other than charmless, or the allegedly groundbreaking animation much better than a video-game cutscene.

The film’s deadening quality stems in no small part from its battles, which unfold at an alienatingly vast scale that has human-sized characters resembling particles of dust getting blown around a car park. As a display of raw processing power it’s certainly a flex. As filmmaking, it’s as mindless as Hollywood’s worst.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/films/0/ne-aha-...E69seIAJNQdPYKg
AMDK don't understand the literature of the east then start condemn, why not watch with open heart and accept it. Even i don't understand what is ancient greek god (Zues Poseidon) and later on understand it via wikipedia.

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Mar 19 2025, 12:40 PM)
Locally the ticket also quite expensive.

Niamah no senior or children discount. Pay full price
Because the SEA distributor spent 5x higher than normal price to obtain the distribution right.
fanlou
post Mar 19 2025, 01:02 PM

I as a chinese also felt there's nothing special bout these kind of movies, nezha stories already told a thousand times in many
iterations from animations to real life to TVB drama and what's so special about this time doh.gif it's china's own population
supporting own product only. Nothing special btw i find Minions more entertaining laugh.gif
darkwaka
post Mar 19 2025, 01:02 PM

116 posts

same like Black myth : wukong game, western keep criticizing the game because its made by china game developer

They still have the mind set of they are better then asians, few asians country keep advancing and now already pass them and they red eye keep saying bad things

United Rulez
post Mar 19 2025, 01:05 PM

668 posts

CCP movies if got insert humor, ayam tak boleh tahan. Very cringe.
potatolala
post Mar 19 2025, 01:06 PM

141 posts

Monkey king is the best
SUSEX Unseen Forces
post Mar 19 2025, 01:08 PM

143 posts

Saupei la white supremacists. It's 10 times better than toy story.
azack
post Mar 19 2025, 01:16 PM

14 posts

Very likely to be top 3 movies of all time and even higher. Just let the result answer the critic.
ticke
post Mar 19 2025, 01:17 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

QUOTE(xerox900 @ Mar 19 2025, 12:35 PM)
China just showed how big their market is. 2B USD box office from China alone
tak laku o/sea...
ZeaXG
post Mar 19 2025, 01:17 PM

342 posts

Confirm didn't watch for more than 5 minutes then start write review ady.
poweredbydiscuz
post Mar 19 2025, 01:23 PM

3,835 posts

He/she is smart. When everyone gives 5 stars, he/she gives 1 star. Baru orang akan notice dia. Kek.
abm
post Mar 19 2025, 01:30 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Mar 19 2025, 12:40 PM)
Locally the ticket also quite expensive.

Niamah no senior or children discount. Pay full price
I also haven’t watched because of that.
Stigonboard
post Mar 19 2025, 01:32 PM

335 posts

Watched it and kinda like it .. i guess you more appreciative if you know the lore
cloud666
post Mar 19 2025, 01:33 PM

79 posts

maruah tercabar version angmoh
limfreelance
post Mar 19 2025, 01:33 PM

343 posts

nezha and other JinYong wu xie novel is same.
hypocrisy... konon ketua Kumpulan or ajaran betul padahal buat kegiatan harom juga. muka nampak baek padahal hati busuk more ccp than CCP
pandah
post Mar 19 2025, 01:35 PM

719 posts

did they dubbed it in english?

i hate dub movie even cantonese dubbed in mandarin i also don't watch.
Alternate Gabriel
post Mar 19 2025, 01:35 PM

158 posts

One thing that western don't understand is the improvement made by Asian people when it comes to animation

Honestly I'm impressed with the animation qualities during the screening and it's on par with Hollywood level already.

Story wise, I think only Chinese can relate to the story line and knows the lore.

As a non Chinese, there is some parts I don't understand while watching the movie.

Overall I gave 8.0/10 ratings.

This post has been edited by Alternate Gabriel: Mar 19 2025, 01:36 PM
submergedx
post Mar 19 2025, 01:37 PM

1,132 posts

topkek

Let's say if i close my ears dont want to listen the story
The visuals alone are worth 2stars

The movie arent perfect, but critic give 1-star

TOPKEK
submergedx
post Mar 19 2025, 01:37 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(pandah @ Mar 19 2025, 01:35 PM)
did they dubbed it in english?

i hate dub movie even cantonese dubbed in mandarin i also don't watch.
They did when Na Zha 1
FappyBird
post Mar 19 2025, 01:39 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 19 2025, 12:39 PM)
I watched NZ1, after first 10 minutes I stop watching. The characters were not appealing to me (rather ugly to be frank), the humour was meh at best.
It was too hype

Kinda kills the hype for me .

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:32 AM