RTX5070ti, Macam not so oomph

TSLeoLilieno
post Mar 19 2025, 08:09 AM, updated 9 months ago

542 posts

I just bought a new PC with RTX5070ti and also Alienware AW3225QF but the graphic macam not oomph leh. When I turn on HDR, many games graphic looks like shit. DMC5, Sekiro, etc all look like shit until I turn off HDR and use SDR instead. A bit disappointing to be frank. Anything I left out in terms of setting?
babylon52281
post Mar 19 2025, 08:15 AM

2,706 posts

To which HDR are you using?
https://www.techspot.com/article/2631-hdr-explained/

"A quick glance shows us that a DisplayHDR rating of 400 is the lowest one you can get and, in general, any monitor with this rating isn't especially good at HDR"
ukiya21
post Mar 19 2025, 08:57 AM

755 posts

TS like vivid profile is it? When hdr washed out?
TSLeoLilieno
post Mar 19 2025, 09:48 AM

542 posts

Yeah... Washed out. DMC5 graphic looks better in my old RTX2080ti comparing to RTX5070ti
pandera999
post Mar 19 2025, 04:02 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

planning to get 5070ti also.. which one you get?
TSLeoLilieno
post Mar 19 2025, 04:38 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Mar 19 2025, 04:02 PM)
planning to get 5070ti also.. which one you get?
MSI Vanguard
pandera999
post Mar 19 2025, 09:49 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

QUOTE(LeoLilieno @ Mar 19 2025, 04:38 PM)
MSI Vanguard
ahh.. not fit in my q58.. lol... looking at asus prime then sweat.gif
myway1985
post Mar 19 2025, 11:31 PM

12,091 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Mar 19 2025, 09:49 PM)
ahh.. not fit in my q58.. lol... looking at asus prime then  sweat.gif
If u dint use latest processor... forget bout 5000 series.. worse than 4000
iZuDeeN
post Mar 20 2025, 02:57 PM

3,466 posts

HDR need match with right monitor... else don't bother turn on.. as of 5070Ti ; its more on you getting better FPS , and framegen.. which honestly better turned off
TSLeoLilieno
post Mar 20 2025, 04:21 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Mar 20 2025, 02:57 PM)
HDR need match with right monitor... else don't bother turn on.. as of 5070Ti ; its more on you getting better FPS , and framegen.. which honestly better turned off
I am using Alienware AW3225QF which is a 4K 32" QD-OLED monitor.

Looks like its better to turn HDR off then. Sigh..... Whats the point of using good monitor and good graphic card IF we cant fully utilize it. Macam kena tipu.
iZuDeeN
post Mar 20 2025, 05:40 PM

3,466 posts

QUOTE(LeoLilieno @ Mar 20 2025, 04:21 PM)
I am using Alienware AW3225QF which is a 4K 32" QD-OLED monitor.

Looks like its better to turn HDR off then. Sigh..... Whats the point of using good monitor and good graphic card IF we cant fully utilize it. Macam kena tipu.
I never tested hdr on this monitor before..but should support full hdr.. maybe try the settings in game and update the monitor firmware
xxboxx
post Mar 20 2025, 11:37 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(LeoLilieno @ Mar 19 2025, 09:48 AM)
Yeah... Washed out. DMC5 graphic looks better in my old RTX2080ti comparing to RTX5070ti
DMC5 on your RTX2080ti also running in HDR?

I read online DMC5 and Sekiro have bad HDR implementation. Try running newer games, older games doesn't have good HDR support as back then it haven't been properly standardize.
PJng
post Mar 20 2025, 11:44 PM

12,057 posts

how to know HDR level? i use AOC 24G4 that have HDR, but i don have those big game to test, only try Split Fiction demo HDR seem more bright that normal, but other SDR content color all washed out

youtube video show HDR, but i dunno how good is it
redza2k4
post Mar 21 2025, 04:31 AM

31 posts

Sometimes HDR on certain games and displays can be a pain.
xxboxx
post Mar 21 2025, 08:51 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Mar 20 2025, 11:44 PM)
how to know HDR level? i use AOC 24G4 that have HDR, but i don have those big game to test, only try Split Fiction demo HDR seem more bright that normal, but other SDR content color all washed out

It's an IPS panel? Not much difference than SDR. It's the panel limitation. If you got phone or tablet with OLED panel, you can compare youtube HDR video on the monitor vs phone/tablet to see yourself the difference OLED panel than can give peak and lowest luminance vs LCD panel.

Higher brightness in IPS is not a good thing. Many displays achieve HDR by driving the backlight to maximum luminance. This technique, particularly on LCD panels, can compromise black levels, resulting in a noticeable graying effect. Without local dimming, the static contrast ratio remains constant. Because the backlight is globally controlled, the display effectively performs a tone-mapping operation, compressing the HDR input into an SDR dynamic range. For a genuine HDR experience with enhanced contrast, a display necessitates a local dimming solution with multiple independently controlled zones. This allows for simultaneous dimming of dark regions and boosting of bright regions. Only OLED and mini LED can achieve such contrast.
PJng
post Mar 21 2025, 12:32 PM

12,057 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Mar 21 2025, 08:51 AM)
It's an IPS panel? Not much difference than SDR. It's the panel limitation. If you got phone or tablet with OLED panel, you can compare youtube HDR video on the monitor vs phone/tablet to see yourself the difference OLED panel than can give peak and lowest luminance vs LCD panel.

Higher brightness in IPS is not a good thing. Many displays achieve HDR by driving the backlight to maximum luminance. This technique, particularly on LCD panels, can compromise black levels, resulting in a noticeable graying effect. Without local dimming, the static contrast ratio remains constant. Because the backlight is globally controlled, the display effectively performs a tone-mapping operation, compressing the HDR input into an SDR dynamic range. For a genuine HDR experience with enhanced contrast, a display necessitates a local dimming solution with multiple independently controlled zones. This allows for simultaneous dimming of dark regions and boosting of bright regions. Only OLED and mini LED can achieve such contrast.
Yes is IPS, need some timeto understand what you mean
xxboxx
post Mar 21 2025, 05:28 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Mar 21 2025, 12:32 PM)
Yes is IPS, need some timeto understand what you mean
When there's some bright area in the screen, OLED or mini LED panel will only make that area bright while other area remain dim/black, it can achieve this because the panel is light up by each pixel or by area. IPS/LCD panel doesn't such technology, when there's some bright area in the screen, the whole screen lit up including the dark area and this causes the dark area looked grey instead of black.
Baconateer
post Mar 21 2025, 05:32 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Mar 20 2025, 11:44 PM)

what u have is a very basic HDR support

dont bother using it

only use HDR if ur monitor is OLED or Mini-LED or a monitor with high nits like 500 and above
Haw92
post Mar 23 2025, 11:03 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Mar 19 2025, 09:49 PM)
ahh.. not fit in my q58.. lol... looking at asus prime then  sweat.gif
I am using MSI RTX5070Ti Ventus 3X OC edition
Able to fit inside ITX case with space to spare

lolzcalvin
post Mar 27 2025, 10:10 PM

shibe in predicament
1,596 posts

QUOTE(LeoLilieno @ Mar 19 2025, 08:09 AM)
I just bought a new PC with RTX5070ti and also Alienware AW3225QF but the graphic macam not oomph leh. When I turn on HDR, many games graphic looks like shit. DMC5, Sekiro, etc all look like shit until I turn off HDR and use SDR instead. A bit disappointing to be frank. Anything I left out in terms of setting?
is not PC or GPU problem, is AW3225QF display problem. the problem is displaying HDR contents and SDR->HDR conversion + Dolby Vision itself probably causing issue

when u say u turn on HDR:
- check if ur AW3225QF has enabled HDR mode or not. it's a QD-OLED so can properly display HDR. iirc AW3225QF has a few modes including True Black 400 and Peak 1000. u can switch to True Black 400 because it's the most accurate one.
- turn off Dolby Vision
- go to ur windows settings and choose display, turn on HDR and then inside it, turn on AutoHDR. AutoHDR will convert SDR contents into HDR so that it will not look washed out on SDR contents.
- install Windows HDR Calibration and calibrate the display. this one quite important for AutoHDR because it prevents overexposure for highlights.

0.0419sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:49 PM