Do i need Ipad in university,

TSLizz0_0 P
post Mar 18 2025, 11:44 AM, updated 9 months ago

Probation
22 posts

Im studying alevels in july, wondering if ipad is essential or not, or just a laptop is enough?
azrilyp
post Mar 18 2025, 12:07 PM

763 posts

QUOTE(Lizz0_0 @ Mar 18 2025, 11:44 AM)
Im studying alevels in july, wondering if ipad is essential or not, or just a laptop is enough?
sure thing if you knew ur way around printing with it.

Alternatively, try Android tablets but get the one with 8GB physical RAM. I bought my nephew a Honor Pad 9 last December. Comes with Case Keyboard and Pencil stylus.

This post has been edited by azrilyp: Mar 18 2025, 12:09 PM
iSean
post Mar 18 2025, 05:40 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

Depends what college you go to, there are alot of 3 pin plugs around.
Can you charge with your iPad.

If you go to Small Colleges, with sucks WiFi. Lack of Charging points. then yes.

iPad + Bluetooth Combo Keyboard + Mouse + Apple Pencil is very essential in A-Levels. Especially if you don't want to carry paper book. It literally breaks your back!
Curses Apple why you no release Apple Pencil in 2015/16!

Android and Windows Tablets kinda shitty. imho. If you plan to get a Surface, atleast get the Intel CPU ones....

If you don't want spine damage, please don't carry a 15kg+ bag daily on and off LRT+Monorail...

But still iPad + MacBook > all.

----------------------------------
tldr: wait until College starts, get your College email "XXXXXX@XXXXXuniversity.edu.my" domain ones , then apply for UNIDAYS.

If Apple doing a back to school program, who knows will bundle iPods / Apple Pencils / AirTags.

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 18 2025, 05:42 PM
malz89
post Mar 19 2025, 10:49 PM

1,116 posts

As a part time lecturer. I do see students carrying ipad, laptop, etc.

It actually depends. If you're not a paper and pen person. Get an ipad, so that you can scribble on it like how you would do it on printed notes. They are students that only carry a laptop and types everything as their note.

Generally a laptop is sufficient. Having an ipad is a luxury.

Just Visiting By
post Mar 23 2025, 10:49 PM

1,846 posts

I would think a laptop is better and would generally be sufficient. A laptop is usually more lasting and you'll definitely need a laptop in university considering the assignments and projects you'll be expected to complete. iPads may last but I doubt it is as functional. But it can come in handy when you need to write down notes or look at reading materials so perhaps you can consider having it but I would think a laptop is a lot better.
derthvadar
post Mar 25 2025, 09:19 AM

(ง •̀_•́)ง
1,792 posts

Laptop is better
syiq P
post Mar 30 2025, 06:04 AM

Probation

It depends on you and what subjects you took for alevels in my opinion, cuz ipad are optional. Having a laptop and phone supposedly enough. But like, if you are the type of person that can study using gadgets (like ipad for sure) without feeling like overwhelmed, losing focus or "tidak masuk otak", then ipad would be a good investment to buy as a student, as you don't have to carry those heavy books and notes. But, if you're into traditional way of studying like using papers and pens and it's actually good for your study, then yeah having an ipad is a yes but not that necessary. biggrin.gif
lowriders95
post Apr 3 2025, 09:40 PM

22 posts

Having a laptop is necessary, while having an iPad is an optional and recommended in any science stream courses (TVET, medical/dental, pure science)

0.0171sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:16 AM