Plan to sell a piece of land., Agicultural land at hometown (N9)

TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 11:22 AM, updated 10 months ago

197 posts

My late mother owned a piece of land, about 8.95 acres. The land grant has two names—my late mother and another person, whom I'll call Mr. J.

In December 2024, I received a call from someone claiming his client was interested in buying the land. It used to be a rubber estate, but since 2020, there have been no rubber trees, meaning it may require replanting (tanaman semula).

I met Mr. J, and he agreed to sell if I could find the right buyer at the right price. He owns 2/5 of the land, while my late mother owned 3/5.

The issue arose when I asked my siblings—two sisters and a younger brother (I'm the eldest). My second sister immediately refused to sell without even hearing my reasons.

For context, my late mother owned other lands, but this 8.95-acre plot is the largest. I believe we should sell it for several reasons:

1. No one is willing to take responsibility for replanting—lack of time, capital, and knowledge.
2. The land is far from where we currently live.
3. If we find the right buyer, we could earn around RM180k–250k (our 3/5 share based on average price nearby land). This could help us build a simple house in our hometown, replacing the old, unlivable one.
4. If there's any balance, we could perform badal haji for our late mother.

I’d appreciate your thoughts on this.

TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 11:34 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(fourzee @ Mar 4 2025, 11:31 AM)
You must do Pusaka Kecil first, Faraid and get the waris2 names and their rightful ownership into the Land Title, then only can sell. Who going to buy if names of rightful owners not inside the Land Title ?
i know. change name to our names should be no problem. what im trying to do if the buyer really want to buy it. still considering/
TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 12:28 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Mar 4 2025, 12:15 PM)
Who inherited this land after your mom passed?

My 2cent. It will be 100x more complicated when Mr.J passed away. Everyone who "inherited" the land will never want to fork out money for any paperwork, zero effort and zero fuck given about any attempt to sell the land. Tax not paid and the land end up repossessed.

Also common issue with human mind. Everyone thinking will hit lottery the land end up being developed and price increase 50x. They rather sit on it with zero fuck given, zero money taken out, instead of taking 20k per person from land sale.
thats why i need to act fast. all these things need to be considered. i'm having mild headache to think about this. sweat.gif
TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 12:40 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 4 2025, 12:33 PM)
Your sister who refuse to sell, did she give any reasons?

You already faced a roadblock, that's without Mr. passing which makes even more roadblock, in the end of the day the more people getting involved, the harder it is to sell.
no, she just said tanah pusaka. thats it. planned to discuss further this during hari raya holiday.
TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 12:44 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Mar 4 2025, 12:42 PM)
What do you need our help on?
Yes, your sis don’t even want to listen to your reasons to sell.
But you should listen to why she don’t want to sell. Maybe can address her concern and convince her to sell.
what should i do with that piece of land? i dont want it to go waste just like that.
TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 01:43 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 4 2025, 01:30 PM)
Mana tahu it is a Leasehold land, at the end belongs to govt.
biggrin.gif it is 100% my late mother's not gomen. i got the land title and it stated as freehold.
TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 04:00 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(faizalfaizal @ Mar 4 2025, 03:59 PM)
Adik pompuan hang berpegang pada kepercayaan tanah adat agaknya. Kalau tak silap, adat Perpatih memang tanah dari emak akan automatik jatuh pada anak perempuan.
tanah adat ada geran sendiri bang. kalau tanah adat mana boleh ada nama mr J. hanya nama orang pompuan sahaja boleh ada dalam geran.
TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 04:13 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Mar 4 2025, 04:06 PM)
r u in need of urgent money? if no i didnt see point to sell it off. remember back wats d purpose of d land
Not really urgent but any extra income would be appreciated. The purpose of the land was to plant rubber tree. It was a rubber estate. But now it is semi abandon with high bushes around it. Nobody takes care about it. That's why if got buyer I would like to sell it.
TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 04:22 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Mar 4 2025, 04:20 PM)
"...my late mother owned other lands,"

First thing first... go to Pusaka harta kecil and transfer your mother's name on the land titles to all the rightful beneficiaries first.

Go to that pejabat and get all the info on what forms/documents are needed, the whole process and estimate cost on fees and stamp duties.

If you got buyer, I think you can approach a lawyer to do it one shot - change the ownership and sell the land in one process. If not mistaken, all of you and siblings and Mr J will sign power of attorney giving your rights to the lawyer.

In mean time, do the process at the jabatan Pusaka first. You would need photocopies of your siblings mykad. Explain carefully to them that you guys must change your mother's name on the land titles. Cannot leaving it hanging there forever. Must change the name.

After the distribution done by pejabat Pusaka, it would be more clear what's the share of the lands to each of you.
thank you for your input. i already did some research about this and will proceed this after hari raya.
TSAkmall540
post Mar 5 2025, 07:39 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Mar 4 2025, 07:17 PM)
let her Understand owning the land require money, maintenance, cukai etc. you are doing nthg on the land, why waste the money?

let her know, its not the only land mum is giving u. if she so sayang the land, tell her you are ok trading with her, meaning u give her ur portion for this land, she give u other lands' ownership. semua follow market value. then u will have one whole plot, she can own this land fully (together with mr J) as well .
i wish it was that simple. we have another 2 siblings which they also have their right to claim the ownership of the land.

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 4 2025, 08:57 PM)
Freehold land for <rm50k per acre is really cheap. Is it far away from township? West Coast states should worth >rm100k
yes, it is quite far from the township. but that is just my estimation. maybe i'm wrong.

QUOTE(Matatai @ Mar 4 2025, 10:09 PM)
Your sister is acah terpaling fillial one la.
If she don't want to step up and work on the land, she should shut up and refrain from objecting just for the sake of "pusaka".
Maybe. but i need to hear her explanation on this first. maybe she got a valid point. who knows?

QUOTE(gashout @ Mar 5 2025, 03:11 AM)
This should be the best method.

But I think the sis will sit on her part till die and pass to her kids etc.
Maybe. but we didnt have that kind of money to buy off the 2/5 from mr J. sweat.gif
TSAkmall540
post Mar 5 2025, 07:53 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(gheyfriend @ Mar 5 2025, 11:19 AM)
i don tink u hv the right..NS belongs to the girls
I hope you are not trolling. This is serious /k mind you.
TSAkmall540
post Mar 6 2025, 07:38 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(gheyfriend @ Mar 6 2025, 07:13 AM)
U should know rite inheritance in NS if for the girls aka daughter
you should google first before you posted.
TSAkmall540
post Mar 6 2025, 09:38 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(gheyfriend @ Mar 6 2025, 09:35 AM)
ok bro..my bad... cheers
it is ok. at least u got new knowledge. smile.gif
TSAkmall540
post Mar 6 2025, 10:36 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 6 2025, 10:33 AM)
Your late mother got do any wills? Your Father still alive? No Wills, Your father still alive, 3/5 Land ownership will be your father name, according to inherite law.
If my father is still alive i would not be asking this kind of question.
TSAkmall540
post Mar 6 2025, 12:54 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(OrganicRepublic @ Mar 6 2025, 12:35 PM)
TS don’t even reply so no need think so much lol
my last reply in this tered was around 1045.

as mentioned by others, i need to settle urusan pusaka kecil first then we can talk about selling it or not.

0.0230sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:44 AM