4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Plan to sell a piece of land., Agicultural land at hometown (N9)

TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 11:22 AM, updated 9 months ago

197 posts

My late mother owned a piece of land, about 8.95 acres. The land grant has two names—my late mother and another person, whom I'll call Mr. J.

In December 2024, I received a call from someone claiming his client was interested in buying the land. It used to be a rubber estate, but since 2020, there have been no rubber trees, meaning it may require replanting (tanaman semula).

I met Mr. J, and he agreed to sell if I could find the right buyer at the right price. He owns 2/5 of the land, while my late mother owned 3/5.

The issue arose when I asked my siblings—two sisters and a younger brother (I'm the eldest). My second sister immediately refused to sell without even hearing my reasons.

For context, my late mother owned other lands, but this 8.95-acre plot is the largest. I believe we should sell it for several reasons:

1. No one is willing to take responsibility for replanting—lack of time, capital, and knowledge.
2. The land is far from where we currently live.
3. If we find the right buyer, we could earn around RM180k–250k (our 3/5 share based on average price nearby land). This could help us build a simple house in our hometown, replacing the old, unlivable one.
4. If there's any balance, we could perform badal haji for our late mother.

I’d appreciate your thoughts on this.

fourzee
post Mar 4 2025, 11:31 AM

388 posts

You must do Pusaka Kecil first, Faraid and get the waris2 names and their rightful ownership into the Land Title, then only can sell. Who going to buy if names of rightful owners not inside the Land Title ?
TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 11:34 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(fourzee @ Mar 4 2025, 11:31 AM)
You must do Pusaka Kecil first, Faraid and get the waris2 names and their rightful ownership into the Land Title, then only can sell. Who going to buy if names of rightful owners not inside the Land Title ?
i know. change name to our names should be no problem. what im trying to do if the buyer really want to buy it. still considering/
netflix2019
post Mar 4 2025, 12:15 PM

413 posts

Who inherited this land after your mom passed?

My 2cent. It will be 100x more complicated when Mr.J passed away. Everyone who "inherited" the land will never want to fork out money for any paperwork, zero effort and zero fuck given about any attempt to sell the land. Tax not paid and the land end up repossessed.

Also common issue with human mind. Everyone thinking will hit lottery the land end up being developed and price increase 50x. They rather sit on it with zero fuck given, zero money taken out, instead of taking 20k per person from land sale.
netflix2019
post Mar 4 2025, 12:16 PM

413 posts

It's going to be fun when one of u take out $$$ and find buyer. Only to have one of the title holder refuse to sign for whatever reason. Rugi habis.
TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 12:28 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Mar 4 2025, 12:15 PM)
Who inherited this land after your mom passed?

My 2cent. It will be 100x more complicated when Mr.J passed away. Everyone who "inherited" the land will never want to fork out money for any paperwork, zero effort and zero fuck given about any attempt to sell the land. Tax not paid and the land end up repossessed.

Also common issue with human mind. Everyone thinking will hit lottery the land end up being developed and price increase 50x. They rather sit on it with zero fuck given, zero money taken out, instead of taking 20k per person from land sale.
thats why i need to act fast. all these things need to be considered. i'm having mild headache to think about this. sweat.gif
zero5177
post Mar 4 2025, 12:33 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

Your sister who refuse to sell, did she give any reasons?

You already faced a roadblock, that's without Mr. passing which makes even more roadblock, in the end of the day the more people getting involved, the harder it is to sell.
TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 12:40 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 4 2025, 12:33 PM)
Your sister who refuse to sell, did she give any reasons?

You already faced a roadblock, that's without Mr. passing which makes even more roadblock, in the end of the day the more people getting involved, the harder it is to sell.
no, she just said tanah pusaka. thats it. planned to discuss further this during hari raya holiday.
cempedaklife
post Mar 4 2025, 12:42 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

What do you need our help on?
Yes, your sis don’t even want to listen to your reasons to sell.
But you should listen to why she don’t want to sell. Maybe can address her concern and convince her to sell.

Edit: saw your above reply. Discuss lor. Maybe she missed your mum. Try reason. The land, you guys never really see. It’s so far. It’s not even a memory of your late mother. Keep other memento.

Ask her how she envision the future is if keep the land keep for 100 years? Your grandkids will quarrel with her grandkids. 😄

Raise the issue if Mr J passes as well like the other forummer say, did she think about it?

This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Mar 4 2025, 12:45 PM
TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 12:44 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Mar 4 2025, 12:42 PM)
But you should listen to why she don’t want to sell. Maybe can address her concern and convince her to sell.
what should i do with that piece of land? i dont want it to go waste just like that.
cempedaklife
post Mar 4 2025, 12:47 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(Akmall540 @ Mar 4 2025, 12:44 PM)
what should i do with that piece of land? i dont want it to go waste just like that.
See my edited reply.
But my advice is the sell it. Mainly due to Mr J name in it. Like the forummmer said.
zero5177
post Mar 4 2025, 01:00 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(Akmall540 @ Mar 4 2025, 12:40 PM)
no, she just said tanah pusaka. thats it. planned to discuss further this during hari raya holiday.
I guess u may need to talk this out with her, and I truly understand communicating with people who do not want to talk about it is extremely difficult and stressful yet the responsibility still lies on you to make it work.

Sorry out of topic a bit, probably influenced by every time see Thanos comment about Malay selling land to Chinese to make big money contributed to this thinking partially I guess. May need to let her know it is not the same as narrated by Thanos, because this will only get more difficult end up no one getting anything from it in the future, equal to just throwing this land to a forever wasteland.
MGM
post Mar 4 2025, 01:30 PM

18,402 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Mar 4 2025, 12:42 PM)

Edit: saw your above reply. Discuss lor. Maybe she missed your mum. Try reason. The land, you guys never really see. It’s so far. It’s not even a memory of your late mother. Keep other memento.

Ask her how she envision the future is if keep the land keep for 100 years? Your grandkids will quarrel with her grandkids. 😄

Raise the issue if Mr J passes as well like the other forummer say, did she think about it?
Mana tahu it is a Leasehold land, at the end belongs to govt.

TSAkmall540
post Mar 4 2025, 01:43 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Mar 4 2025, 01:30 PM)
Mana tahu it is a Leasehold land, at the end belongs to govt.
biggrin.gif it is 100% my late mother's not gomen. i got the land title and it stated as freehold.
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Mar 4 2025, 02:30 PM

937 posts

first you need to settle your second sister.

this is very very very very old tricky condition for every family.

if one of you dont wanna sign = whole land cannot sell.

now another big issue is the land is joint name with Mr J which is an outsider, if anything happen to him and his wife/children dont wanna sell, then the land forever stuck there.
rx330
post Mar 4 2025, 02:41 PM

11,808 posts

buy over from MR J, future only decide what to do with it
SUSskyblack4492
post Mar 4 2025, 03:04 PM

1,342 posts

Tanam musang king blackthorne kaya wa
dest9116
post Mar 4 2025, 03:04 PM

495 posts

Imo tanah pusaka don't sell but someone need to pay the quit rent yearly. Won't cost much and also to confirm nobody come steal the land at pejabat tanah.

Also buy from mr.j else like some said it will be much more difficult once he passed away.

Unless ur in need for money, no reason to sell land
Autocountstick
post Mar 4 2025, 03:13 PM

663 posts

Buy the Mr. J 2/5 land and 3/5 that belongs to the siblings; offer them a price to sell it to you. Not only max the profit bt anytime you can sell it
kopiride
post Mar 4 2025, 03:19 PM

782 posts

The lawyer paperwork will eat into at least a quarter what you are getting. This is going to be tough. Who is going to pay lawyer fees first.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:29 AM