Customer Service Salary/Question

TSofficer003
post Mar 1 2025, 08:29 PM, updated 9 months ago

21 posts

Im working in the Customer Service Section for close to 3 years now. I have a few questions about the Job or Careers in General.

Right now Im working 3k Flat, and I have friends that is being paid 4k+ monthly. My fault lah for not negotiating the Salary when I first got the offer 2 years ago.

I have an upcoming Interview with HSBC's Customer Service on Tuesday, and question is, when is the right time to negotiate the Salary ? The Recruiter offered me 3.6k , with the reason that Increments are usually just 20%.

But thinking that Im gonna be doing the same work, with some experiences, wonder if I could request for a bit more. My overall goal for now is to hit the 4k Mark atleast.

From the Email there's a streamline procedures from the HR such as "Online Assessments > (if pass) > HM Interview > (if pass) > Offer > Accept Offer > Vetting Doc Discussion"

Do I discuss the salary during the HM Interview, of the Offer part, how does one bring this subject ?

2nd Questions is, realistically, I dont wanna stay as a Customer Service for all my life. Whats the progression from Cust Service department and how does one move away from it ?

Most common one from my peers that I heard if I dont wanna do Live services is Content Moderations. Other than that, of course there could be the usual Ladder of Upskilling in the same Company to probably QA, TL or whatever.

But what If i wanna move to a different kind of job overall ? Is there anyone experience/experienced this before ? Would love to get some tips on this.

Thanks in advance!

sweet_pez
post Mar 3 2025, 10:12 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(officer003 @ Mar 1 2025, 08:29 PM)

If you wanted to hit the RM4k mark, most importantly is to inform the Recruiter first because he/ she will be sharing this with the bank's HR. If their budget is to hire below RM4k and you wanted RM4k, there's no match in the salary bracket.

So let the recruiter know that you're looking at RM4k and see what he/ she will advice. No doubt you'll get comments like this is much higher than the industry standard of 20%. You will then have to justify why you're worth RM4k, so prepare your bullets.

Key point here seems to be figuring out what you want first - whether to continue in CS line or look into different scope/ role. If it's the latter, you should hunt for jobs in those scope/ role instead and move away from CS. Btw lateral move or inter-dept transfer may, or may not be common depending on the organization.
Takudan
post Mar 7 2025, 12:51 AM

1,056 posts

But thinking that Im gonna be doing the same work, with some experiences,

Do I discuss the salary during the HM Interview, of the Offer part, how does one bring this subject ?

2nd Questions is, realistically, I dont wanna stay as a Customer Service for all my life. Whats the progression from Cust Service department and how does one move away from it ?

I might be reading too much into your choice of words, but when you said you'll do the "same work", that would be exactly why as an employer, there is no reason to pay you more: you are not showing more worth.

Now of course you can prove me (or, more importantly, the actual employer) wrong: elaborate what makes your experience more valuable and what you can offer more. I think it's conceited to think one deserves more and more as a natural progression in age, as opposed to career -- work done and responsibilities. You are worth more because you have prior experience of dealing with difficult situations, or you are a good communicator, you can teach others how to do better etc.

Re: 2. A friend was in customer service for a short while and got promoted in less than a year, eventually switching role into fraud investigation team, which is kind of a specialised department of the customer service. That's a crypto company... Idk but I hope a bank has such a department too lol, too much scams going on.
togekiss
post Mar 7 2025, 09:53 AM

429 posts

Im working in the Customer Service Section for close to 3 years now. I have a few questions about the Job or Careers in General.

Right now Im working 3k Flat, and I have friends that is being paid 4k+ monthly. My fault lah for not negotiating the Salary when I first got the offer 2 years ago.

I have an upcoming Interview with HSBC's Customer Service on Tuesday, and question is, when is the right time to negotiate the Salary ? The Recruiter offered me 3.6k , with the reason that Increments are usually just 20%.

But thinking that Im gonna be doing the same work, with some experiences, wonder if I could request for a bit more. My overall goal for now is to hit the 4k Mark atleast.

From the Email there's a streamline procedures from the HR such as "Online Assessments > (if pass) > HM Interview > (if pass) > Offer > Accept Offer > Vetting Doc Discussion"

Most common one from my peers that I heard if I dont wanna do Live services is Content Moderations. Other than that, of course there could be the usual Ladder of Upskilling in the same Company to probably QA, TL or whatever.

But what If i wanna move to a different kind of job overall ? Is there anyone experience/experienced this before ? Would love to get some tips on this.

Thanks in advance!
for content moderation, do you have to work odd-hours? like from night to morning?
Redshelf411
post Mar 12 2025, 08:10 PM

818 posts

If you cannot tahan bank jobs, don't bother.

0.0154sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:58 AM