Public Mutual to launch Public China Ittikal Fund, Promotional period from 20NOV-10DEC

Jordy
post Nov 10 2007, 12:21 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(beginner @ Nov 9 2007, 05:13 PM)
i think this fund is going to be another big hit among UT kaki... what you guys think?
Yes, it will definitely be a big hit, but with such a small size, it will be full very soon and most probably the fund manager is going to close it.
China market is very volatile now, and it is not wise to move into a market that has been moving upwards the last 2 years. I am not going into this fund because it is too concentrated.
I prefer an exposure on China markets, but not concentrated.
Jordy
post Nov 11 2007, 01:09 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 10 2007, 01:01 PM)
Can you elobrate more on the "too concentrated"? Thank you.
It relies too much on China equities, so the investment is very concentrated and focused.
I prefer an investment in a variety of markets, so the fund managers can adjust their portfolio accordingly.

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Nov 10 2007, 10:44 PM)
China market is growing BIG! couple with the strong historic performance of Public Mutual, and the consistent return from Msia Ittikal fund, this one might be among the biggest potential fund yet to be launched! biggrin.gif
Correction. I believe China market has grown too big for its size.
We cannot just say it will be one of the best funds, just because of PCSF.
You must remember, past performance is not an indication of future performance.
Times change, and tides change smile.gif
Jordy
post Nov 11 2007, 09:50 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Nov 11 2007, 01:52 PM)
It's focus is on Greater China (China, Taiwan, HK). But the money will go anywhere that has China related firms, this includes US, Europe, HK, Taiwan & Singapore.
As long as the main company is China based, it will invest in it regardless of the location of its listing.

I think past performance is a good indication of future performance. Surely, they must be doing something right if the funds are doing well all along.

On a side note, the size of the fund is comparitively small. Which means it may be easier to achieve record profits compared to large funds.
OF course, it is just my opinion. We'll still have to see it's performance when the time comes.
Sorry to differ from your opinion.
By looking at your reply, I am quite sure that you know very little in unit trust.
Sure, you could look at the past performance for a rough idea of the funds, but does it mean that the future of the markets will be as good as the past? Can you be sure that the performance in 2005-2007 to repeat itself?
Most of the markets are just below their respective highs, so how much more can the market go?

On the matter of fund size, the more units being offered, the more fund managers can diversify the portfolio.
If you have just a small number of equity, how can you ride the wave?
As an example, with the price of CPO climbing higher now, is it wiser to have a larger oil palm estate, or a smaller oil palm estate?

Sorry again, but I think you need to do more research before stating it here.
If you ask anyone here, I don't think many will agree with you smile.gif

Regards
Jordy
post Nov 11 2007, 11:08 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 11 2007, 10:37 PM)
So when this fund will be launched? Anybody will be going for it?
China Ittikal fund will be launched on 20th November 2007.
The prospectus will be available after 16th November 2007.
Jordy
post Nov 11 2007, 11:31 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 11 2007, 11:08 PM)
How about the other two sector funds?
Official launching will be on Tuesday (13th November 2007)
Prospectus available since 9th November 2007
Jordy
post Nov 12 2007, 11:40 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Nov 12 2007, 10:49 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  It seems like I forgot something important. In between those periods of time, there are unit splits & distribution, which will affect the calculation of the return & price. So, it is getting very complex to calculate. It will work for shorter period of interval (few months) & provided no unit split/distribution in between. I guess using the percentage alone to determine the past performance is ady good enuf  sweat.gif

paiseh paiseh  blush.gif  blush.gif

Even my program database did not store the fund price 26 years ago.

P/S: Mayb good assignment to find the formula to calculate this  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I think you can get the past NAV from FP advisor?
Jordy
post Nov 13 2007, 12:44 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(WinDs @ Nov 13 2007, 12:12 AM)
KingKong,

One last question, what is(are) the factor/s that influence the NAV price ?

Since you mention that the numbers of the units can increase or decrease .. but the total NAV will always remains the same.

So my roughly guess should be .. it's control by the total numbers of the units that exist in the market currently .. and the buying/selling pressure of the unit holders.
You got the incorrect concept my friend.
It is not the same as stocks, where it is based on market demand/supply.
The NAV of each fund is based on the performance of its portfolio.
Each of the funds will have a set of stocks that it invests in, so the NAV will fluctuate in proportion to the movements in price of the stocks.
Jordy
post Dec 8 2007, 09:57 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

You do not notice the management fee because it is deducted from the NAV daily, and normally is very small portion, subject to a minimum of RM18k only smile.gif
Jordy
post Dec 9 2007, 01:51 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Dec 8 2007, 05:42 PM)
huh?? But if not mistaken the monthly installemnt cannot stop paying for dunno how many month, 3 or 6 month i think otherwise the previous investment will be freezed.... What to do???
Anyway what is DDI and SI???

Added on December 8, 2007, 5:48 pm
Sorry not very clear with the average... I do an example as what i said just now
initial RM1000 and monthly RM100... we exclude those service charge and mgmt fee..
initially i got RM1k/0.25 = 4000 unit
then the 1st month if price goes up to 0.26 the RM100/0.26=384.62 unit
Then then then??? dunno how to averag... tongue.gif
Actually, dollar cost averaging has to be practised long term for it to work.
It is not averaging down on your price, but it is actually lowering your average cost AGAINST the market average cost during the same period.
You can look for an agent and they will explain to you with diagrams, so it'll be easier for you to learn smile.gif
Jordy
post Dec 9 2007, 08:33 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 9 2007, 06:55 AM)
I read a book at Borders regarding Value Averaging and the book said that Dollar Cost Averaging isn't the best method for long term.
Of course it isn't the best, there are always other methods available.
But this is good enough for being as passive as it is smile.gif
Jordy
post Dec 14 2007, 12:54 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

Really record breaking for PM, way to go rclxms.gif
Jordy
post Dec 15 2007, 08:37 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(mr_ashraf @ Dec 14 2007, 10:50 PM)
i have noob question here...

i got a pm fund and wanted to switch to this fund. so i need to initially open this fund (put 1k there) or just can switch to this.. please somebody help me????
If you switch using the switching form, then you do not need to have an existing account in this fund.
If you are switching using telemutual, then you need an account first smile.gif

QUOTE(kokanchai @ Dec 15 2007, 01:20 AM)
hey..
i hv notice tis few day..Itik Fund.
alwis dropped..
havent seem it raise before..

isit the fund..not stable yet still..
It is not that the fund is unstable. It is mainly because global equity markets are on a downtrend.
Jordy
post Jan 25 2008, 10:33 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(kokanchai @ Jan 25 2008, 08:21 AM)
will it be dropped until low rate?

will my money investment to this fund will gone case??

wat is the maximum rate,it will dropped until,i saw some fund with dropped until 1.888 on it.

when it will be raise up again.

oh my,i am worried abt it
One thing for sure is, your investment won't be obsolute smile.gif
Currently, we're experiencing some volatility, so we should bear with it.
It is not something that will go on forever, and I'm sure before you invest in any funds, your agent would advise you for at least the medium term.
When will the fund appreciate, it is a matter of time. It will depend on the market itself.

0.0221sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:56 AM