Forum Announcement

Forum access limited to local IP addresses only until further notice.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

OPPO Oppo Find X8

TSLeongFW
post Feb 9 2025, 02:09 AM, updated 11 months ago

50 posts

Would like to upgrade my phone from S22+, after compare a round, thinking to buy oppo find x8, any user can share your experience or colour os? I never use oppo before.
SNHY693
post Feb 9 2025, 04:10 PM

174 posts

Coming from a old poco phone, recently got the regular Find X8, just my 2cts

Pro
+ one of the more affordable flagships currently (around rm2700) with a usable camera
+ flat screen, easier to find tempered glass
+ battery life generally can last whole day, didn't measure the screen on time
+ Color OS is smooth so far didnt encounter any bugs but generally nothing novel/exciting
+ pictures are clear and vibrant (not a pro photographer, so it basically looks good on the eyes)
+ comes with fast charger in the box
+ gaming tested on genshin with minimal heat even after 30 mins
+ 4 yr OS + 6 yr security updates

Cons
- can't seem to find a widget for direct dial (had to use a workaround by long pressing the phone app to create this shortcut)
- cannot remove the google discover page even after turning it off (can disable and enable google app to remove it but have to redo this each time it restart)
- cannot set default homepage (eg cant set 2nd or 3rd page as default homescreen)
- some may dislike the photos from the default mode (heavily processed /ai/ overexposed) but it does come with a master mode without these ai processing
- for some reason if i disable banner notifications on Whatsapp, the screen call page to receive or reject calls wont appear when i receive Whatsapp calls
- can set double press volume button to open camera (but this function cannot be used when opening any media apps eg youtube/spotify)
- fingerprint sensor location is quite low for my liking
- lockscreen text transferred from my previous phone unable to be removed unless you reset the phone/setup as new.. (so if ur transferring from the old phone and doesnt want the text, better remove it first before transfer)
- minor issues: not sure whether it supports wifi 7 (cant find in their official page specs list), no usb video output
- notification delay when screen off sometimes (solved after disable sleep standby optimisation in settings)

Generally not bad for day to day use, some minor annoyances, customisation wise might not be as extensive as miui or one ui but considering the price is an ok trade off
TSLeongFW
post Feb 9 2025, 09:04 PM

50 posts

QUOTE(SNHY693 @ Feb 9 2025, 04:10 PM)

Pro
+ one of the more affordable flagships currently (around rm2700) with a usable camera
+ Color OS is smooth so far didnt encounter any bugs but generally nothing novel/exciting
+ pictures are clear and vibrant (not a pro photographer, so it basically looks good on the eyes)

Cons
- can't seem to find a widget for direct dial (had to use a workaround by long pressing the phone app to create this shortcut)
- cannot remove the google discover page even after turning it off (can disable and enable google app to remove it but have to redo this each time it restart)
- cannot set default homepage (eg cant set 2nd or 3rd page as default homescreen)
- some may dislike the photos from the default mode (heavily processed /ai/ overexposed) but it does come with a master mode without these ai processing
- for some reason if i disable banner notifications on Whatsapp, the screen call page to receive or reject calls wont appear when i receive Whatsapp calls
- can set double press volume button to open camera (but this function cannot be used when opening any media apps eg youtube/spotify)
- lockscreen text transferred from my previous phone unable to be removed unless you reset the phone/setup as new.. (so if ur transferring from the old phone and doesnt want the text, better remove it first before transfer)
- minor issues: not sure whether it supports wifi 7 (cant find in their official page specs list), no usb video output
- notification delay when screen off sometimes (solved after disable sleep standby optimisation in settings)

Generally not bad for day to day use, some minor annoyances, customisation wise might not be as extensive as miui or one ui but considering the price is an ok trade off
Thanks for sharing 🙏
jenern84
post Feb 9 2025, 10:32 PM

Morphling
751 posts

Pro

Cons

Are you using CNset or international set?
SNHY693
post Feb 9 2025, 11:00 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(jenern84 @ Feb 9 2025, 10:32 PM)
Are you using CNset or international set?
Msia set
shinichi31
post Feb 10 2025, 08:26 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(SNHY693 @ Feb 9 2025, 11:00 PM)
Msia set
so cheap! where you buy it? got promo?
SNHY693
post Feb 10 2025, 09:27 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(shinichi31 @ Feb 10 2025, 08:26 PM)
so cheap! where you buy it? got promo?
Hi, maybe i was mistaken, I checked back and the lowest it went to RM2800 last month on Shopee.

It was rm2798 for local set regular find x8
cms
post Feb 11 2025, 09:10 PM

763 posts

I was using old F3. Looked high and low for a replacement.

Considered X8 and x200. During short testing found x8 to be smoother and longer support.

But finally i went ahead with i16pro.

SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 13 2025, 04:10 PM

Dupe!? Who what dupe? I'm a Senior Member now DUDE!
3,112 posts

Malaysia set is really too pricey else I would have buy. Dunno why Oppo Malaysia set always pricey
vhs1
post Feb 23 2025, 12:27 PM

2,836 posts

Cons
-

What is lock screen text from previous phone?
what is Google discover page?
Don't Troll me!
post Feb 23 2025, 03:49 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Feb 13 2025, 04:10 PM)
Malaysia set is really too pricey else I would have buy. Dunno why Oppo Malaysia set always pricey
In import business.

exchange rate + sst + duty tax + sirim fee + delivery fee
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 23 2025, 05:02 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Don't Troll me! @ Feb 23 2025, 03:49 PM)
In import business.

exchange rate + sst + duty tax + sirim fee + delivery fee
Really chaotic isn't it, 1 simple item so many process
Don't Troll me!
post Feb 23 2025, 05:29 PM

201 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Feb 23 2025, 05:02 PM)
Really chaotic isn't it, 1 simple item so many process
I quoted with the importer who brought in the devices legally. Many of those China set resellers don't go through this process. Then you understand why they still can sell in cheaper price.

All the Bluetooth/wireless devices have to have SIRIM approval and be checked if you import them legally.
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Feb 23 2025, 05:36 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(Don't Troll me! @ Feb 23 2025, 05:29 PM)
I quoted with the importer who brought in the devices legally. Many of those China set resellers don't go through this process. Then you understand why they still can sell in cheaper price.

All the Bluetooth/wireless devices have to have SIRIM approval and be checked if you import them legally.
That's why I buy CN ROM Fons it's much cheaper than official MY sets
Savor_Savvy
post Feb 27 2025, 10:14 AM

2,776 posts

Color OS is by far one of the best OS that I have ever used
vhs1
post Feb 28 2025, 10:30 AM

2,836 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Feb 27 2025, 10:14 AM)
Color OS is by far one of the best OS that I have ever used
I think I'll move to oppo & go color OS
vhs1
post Mar 2 2025, 08:36 PM

2,836 posts

Ayam just go check, ayam like it's IR UI

penguinno1
post Mar 3 2025, 10:04 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(SNHY693 @ Feb 10 2025, 09:27 PM)
Hi, maybe i was mistaken, I checked back and the lowest it went to RM2800 last month on Shopee.

It was rm2798 for local set regular find x8
Wonder if you can share which shop you bought it from? currently looking at shopee but the lowest i can find is around 2.9k unsure.gif
lkoky
post Mar 4 2025, 04:17 PM

1,128 posts

is there a Always On Display feature in x8? cant find it inside settings.
SUSSyok Your Mom
post Mar 4 2025, 04:29 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(lkoky @ Mar 4 2025, 04:17 PM)
is there a Always On Display feature in x8? cant find it inside settings.
It's inside,

Settings> Wallpapers & style

On my Color OS 15 Oppo Find X6 Pro, the AOD can be turned on whole day or follow timing like Samsung Galaxy AOD

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:24 PM