[2025]iPhone 16E Discussion Thread | V1

TongCN
post Feb 24 2025, 01:55 PM

Look ma, I have lots stars :D
6,593 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Feb 24 2025, 01:53 PM)
The one thing in my mind is the screen, dunno the screen quality good or not since at this price point, apple might cut corners to save costs
It's about same like iphone 16 with lower peak brightness 800 ~ 1200 as compare to 1000~2000

others remain quite same, OLED, 460ppi , resolution almost identical
no dynamic island and remain 60hz
TongCN
post Feb 24 2025, 02:10 PM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Feb 24 2025, 01:58 PM)
Wow thanks if like this 16e is on my wishlist. Totally Unexpected that apple will unleashed a 2999 brand new iPhone for sale
Main thing that they removed as compare to iphone 16 are:

1) Magsafe
2) A18 (shave edition) with lesser cores
3) no UWB
4) no ultra-wide lens (but they fuse wide and telephoto together)
5) 3 gram of weight
6) price tag $100 (lesser)
7) multi color variant
TongCN
post Feb 24 2025, 04:08 PM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Feb 24 2025, 03:41 PM)
But 16e specs compared to previous SE specs very far apart right. Yes 2999 can buy OnePlus 13 with 8 Elite dy , so consider quite pricey too
But experience is differ.

iOS vs Android
TongCN
post Feb 24 2025, 05:03 PM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Feb 24 2025, 04:11 PM)
Agreed. But if only use Facebook Whatsapp socmed apps, the difference won't be noticed right.
Whatsapp will feel differ cause the UI is different between Android and IOS
I dun like Android cause many things like to be on top and the "EDIT" is top right there "..." only can access

While IOS just hold the chat and instantly u can see "edit" button on floating pop-out

There are quite few different things that need you to experience specially UI of each app.
TongCN
post Feb 25 2025, 08:31 AM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Feb 24 2025, 05:07 PM)
Will try spend few minutes with the demo set see if I like it or not
Oh wow. Means Whatsapp on iOS is better & more user friendly than Android? I didn't know about this before. Thanks
Yea, certain app definitely iOS presentation and icon placement are better which you can just one hand operate.

I own iPhone and Samsung phone for almost 12 years d (2 phone holders) and yet iphone experience always better than android as in operation.

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Feb 24 2025, 05:53 PM)
I've decided getting ip16e 128gb for my wife as hari raya gift

But only white and black available

Previously thinking to get either ip14, 14 plus or 15
Thank god this thread makes me decide the right choice
Can i be your temp wife? Haha

TongCN
post Feb 25 2025, 08:56 AM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(Syok Your Mom @ Feb 25 2025, 08:35 AM)
That's because iOS is no.1 in USA, apple is no.1 over there, most apps maker also from there, so they focus more on iOS than Android.
Actually iphone only like very minimal "amount" of models , hence not need too much of R&D

While androids too many variants with differ specs.

But the UI in iOS definitely better but not sure why in android needs to be "different"

Such as bottom in iOS but in android, they place it on top :\
* ouch my thumbs

Example Safari link in iOS is bottom while Chrome in android still on top
Bottom definitely easier to reach

This post has been edited by TongCN: Feb 25 2025, 08:57 AM
TongCN
post Feb 25 2025, 10:40 AM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Feb 25 2025, 10:09 AM)
Get an iPhone then divorce? It just like touch and go maa
icon_idea.gif whistling.gif

But i still need to endure till iphone 17 pro then only decide to change
TongCN
post Mar 5 2025, 01:11 PM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Mar 4 2025, 01:59 PM)
if u look closely, iphone 15 has a slimmer screen bezel than 16e.  laugh.gif

I dun really mind the bezel actually, once you slap a case, the bezel feel also will like eliminated XD

Everytime when i take off casing from iPhone 14 pro, i feels like wanna go naked but end up no.
Cause the bezel with and without casing big differ
TongCN
post Mar 6 2025, 11:56 AM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(adrive @ Mar 6 2025, 11:30 AM)
I feel secondary phone need to be as cheap phone as possible lo.
My secondary is S23FE while main still iphone 14 pro, lol ..

TongCN
post Mar 6 2025, 01:08 PM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(adrive @ Mar 6 2025, 12:27 PM)
Mine just Nokia banana phone.. lol
Wait 17 pro first (after 6 months) XD
TongCN
post Mar 10 2025, 03:50 PM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 6 2025, 03:48 PM)
not necessary. My 2nd phone is a s24u. Main is Ip15pm

15pm
For daily use, banking, eco system with iPad Pro, Apple Watch 2 ultra  and MacBook and etc, iCloud , apple music

s24u
Camera need the zoom sometimes, less secure apps , Samsung pay for rewards point, some apps that not found in app stores, data transfer between windows or file management, control my samsung tv as a remote, check on my samsung tag locations, spare phone, Dual sim, Dual apps like WhatsApp, e-sim for samsung watch ultra with tune talk

Both also have their pros and cons (another issue is iOS to android WhatsApp its headache)
time to add on Apple TV STB and use ur iphone as remote tongue.gif

I basically all go to Apple Home setup now too which recently change to those matter supported IOT

This post has been edited by TongCN: Mar 10 2025, 03:51 PM
TongCN
post Mar 11 2025, 08:26 AM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 10 2025, 03:54 PM)
I using samsung TV with Apple TV app.
Can I control it from my iPhone?

Can I know is it worth to even buy Apple Home? I already have an android box.
Google home vs Apple home has their own benefit
But Apple Home doesn't has much integration previously and now i'm solely rely on those "matter" integration (which require hardware upgrade)

What i like about apple home is everything can be done smoothly in Apple Home App if compare to Google Home app's messy UI.

However, Siri needs some improvement (i'm using non-Apple AI supported device now) cause it's really stupid sometime.
TongCN
post Mar 11 2025, 09:12 AM

6,593 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Mar 11 2025, 08:44 AM)
I am trying to justify why is it worth buying apple home?
Can I install any apps from Apple Store? Is it because of the UI animation?

For me Samsung Tizen UI already serve its purpose.
You have to try it yourself maybe?
Try check "smarthome" thread - https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3554748

TongCN
post Mar 13 2025, 01:43 PM

6,593 posts

my wife still iphone 13, maybe still can fight for another 3 years before i gift her upgrade

0.0167sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:41 PM