Amazon JP why no import fee deposit?, Anyone been ordering from there lately?

TSfailed.hashcheck
post Feb 8 2025, 04:11 AM, updated 11 months ago

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,096 posts

Usually when I bought things that subject to duty from Amazon.com it will list out how much import fee deposit in subtotal right? and the item just arrive at my doorstep without any friction with custom.
But today is my first time ordering something that exceeding duty threshold from Amazon JP.

I ordered RM2100 worth item from Amazon JP, Item is fulfilled and shipped by Amazon JP; but there is no import deposit hmm.gif ? (only shipping fee)
Is that mean:
1. Item will sangkut at border? (business as usual)
2. Deposit is already absorbed into list price? (as in case with EU customers)

Anyone that ordered high value items from Amazon JP recently, got idea on how this going to work out?

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Feb 8 2025, 07:31 PM
SUSifourtos
post Feb 8 2025, 09:08 AM

2,256 posts

Wat item?

Example watch are import tax free, phone also,
Computer parts also...

TSfailed.hashcheck
post Feb 8 2025, 09:38 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Feb 8 2025, 09:08 AM)
Wat item?

Example watch are import tax free, phone also,
Computer parts also...
It's 20% item.

a13solut3
post Feb 8 2025, 10:12 AM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

You will get your answer when it arrive at kastam later
evangelion
post Feb 8 2025, 11:38 AM

The Ancient Ones
1,057 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Feb 8 2025, 04:11 AM)
Usually when I bought such things from Amazon.com it will list out how much import fee deposit in subtotal right? and the item just arrive at my doorstep without any friction with custom.
But today is my first time ordering something that exceeding duty threshold from Amazon JP.

I ordered RM2100 worth item from Amazon JP, Item is fulfilled and shipped by Amazon JP; but there is no import deposit hmm.gif ? (only shipping fee)
Is that mean:
1. Item will sangkut at border? (business as usual)
2. Deposit is already absorbed into list price? (as in case with EU customers)
Anyone that ordered high value items from Amazon JP recently, got idea on how this going to work out?
How do you deal with warranties? sweat.gif
TSfailed.hashcheck
post Feb 8 2025, 11:55 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(evangelion @ Feb 8 2025, 11:38 AM)
How do you deal with warranties? sweat.gif
As with any oversea shopping, its a buyer beware market.

For me I only buy from reputable brands that makes it worth the effort buying oversea.
- Clearly defined international warranty/repair procedure.
- Got authorized dealer in MY, SG or JP.
- Quality reputation that you unlikely need warranty in first place.
marvinben
post Feb 8 2025, 01:33 PM

249 posts

Some item the import tax already priced in. You dont have to worry. I don't know how this works but I never had amazon JP sangkut.

Edit: I don't buy high risk sangkut items such as those containing wifi chip, Bluetooth, anything with wording "IT".

This post has been edited by marvinben: Feb 8 2025, 01:34 PM
sakuraboo
post Feb 8 2025, 01:54 PM

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

I'm not 100% certain but I got a feeling it's factored into the price

Because when I set different location, the price is different

Even when they say it's free shipping, often times it's factored in, especially with Amazon prime. You thought you had free shipping with Amazon prime but actually nope, it's factored in
TSfailed.hashcheck
post Feb 8 2025, 02:11 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(marvinben @ Feb 8 2025, 01:33 PM)
Some item the import tax already priced in. You dont have to worry. I don't know how this works but I never had amazon JP sangkut.

Edit: I don't buy high risk sangkut items such as those containing wifi chip, Bluetooth, anything with wording "IT".
Im hoping thats the case, but the math its suspiciously too good to be true and doesn't tally with any trade logic that I'm aware of lol
The item at amazon jp is already rm200 lower than amazon.com, with 16% point promo summore. And its not even a sale price.

For rm2100 item, the madani cut would be rm650~ (20% ++10%)

The same item at amazon.com, not only rm200 more expensive, with 'usual' duty calculation, even with free shipping would total for rm3000+ at border.
And the item is actually made by US company that is imported to japan first.
TSfailed.hashcheck
post Feb 8 2025, 02:15 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Feb 8 2025, 01:54 PM)
I'm not 100% certain but I got a feeling it's factored into the price

Because when I set different location, the price is different

Even when they say it's free shipping, often times it's factored in, especially with Amazon prime. You thought you had free shipping with Amazon prime but actually nope, it's factored in
Amazon JP doesn't offer any form of free international shipping unlike Amazon.com

The shipping is there around rm150 which sounds right.
But it somehow didnt include rm600+ duty as Amazon.com do.
red streak
post Feb 8 2025, 05:47 PM

Doto 2 Pinoy Slayer
1,594 posts

My experience is that it will kena tahan. Then you will need to go to POS office to setel or get an agent to do it for you.
Patent
post Feb 8 2025, 07:31 PM

(⌐■_■)
2,003 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Feb 8 2025, 05:47 PM)
My experience is that it will kena tahan. Then you will need to go to POS office to setel or get an agent to do it for you.
This was my experience on buying things from oversea. You will get email from pos about your delivery is on hold.
Just pay the agent and it will continue the delivery.

TSfailed.hashcheck
post Feb 8 2025, 07:47 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Feb 8 2025, 05:47 PM)
Amazon JP?

QUOTE(Patent @ Feb 8 2025, 07:31 PM)
This was my experience on buying things from oversea. You will get email from pos about your delivery is on hold.
Just pay the agent and it will continue the delivery.
Depends on retailer.
For big retailer like Amazon , they take DDP (delivered duty paid) approach. If you shop high value item in Amazon (fulfilled and ship by Amazon), you will notice that there is import fee deposit clearly stated. They already know your country and have integrated HS database for the item you purchase so estimate can be made. The estimate is usually correct but they will refund excess.
Small retailers just do it DDU (delivered duty unpaid), this is the case when your items stuck at customs for duty.

MY issue is Amazon JP (different entity than Amazon.com) does not collect the deposit like Amazon.com.
If you are EU customer, this is normal as its already absorbed into list price.

I asked around the internet since last night, but everyone giving different answers and saying it so confidently rclxub.gif
Shinka
post Feb 8 2025, 08:20 PM

464 posts

Bought a high value item from Amazon JP before (RM6K+)

Got stuck at customs, and had to print out the item invoice and go to the pos hub near KLIA to clear the item and to pay taxes.

0.0195sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:49 AM