7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

I'm 30+ years old and obese

sadukarzz
post Feb 6 2025, 10:14 AM

781 posts

QUOTE(Kayziealnatz @ Feb 6 2025, 08:19 AM)
I heard a myth that fats can be turned into muscles? Is it true?
No. Untrue. The composition of muscles and fats are entirely different.

Fats are mainly lipids, while muscles are protein strands.

I think can start with realistic and doable steps.

WEEK 0
1. Cut sugary drinks entirely. Replace with flavored water i.e. Water with lemon slices if you need something flavored. Once you reach step 5, then you can choose to have 1 sugary drinks PER WEEK.
[IMMEDIATE START - MAINTAIN INDEFINITELY]

WEEK 1 - 3 BEFORE ADDITION
2. Do fasting for short periods of time. Start with fasting between 8pm - 8am.
[IMMEDIATE START - THEN CONTINUE FOR 2 WEEKS BEFORE MOVING TO NEXT STEP. MAINTAIN INDEFINITELY]

WEEK 3 - 5 BEFORE ADDITION
3. Swap your regular dinner with healthy one. If eating with family, then cut your rice by half.
[CONTINUE FOR 2 WEEKS - NEXT STEP AFTER 2 WEEKS. MAINTAIN INDEFINITELY]

WEEK 5 - 7 BEFORE ADDITION
4. Then swap your regular lunch with health one. Again, if eating with colleagues or what not, cut carbs (i.e. Rice / Noodle).

WEEK 5 ONWARDS FOR 2 WEEKS BEFORE ADDITION
5. Try to walk 8k steps a day. Then aim to increase that amount by 1k steps per 2 weeks until you can average out at 10k per day.

WEEK 7 ONWARDS FOR 2 WEEKS BEFORE FURTHER ADDITION
6. After that you can introduce more exercises such as your body can handle.
- Weight lifting, start from 5kg weights;
- Pushups, 10 reps per set, 3 sets per day;
- etc
Mr_47
post Feb 6 2025, 10:16 AM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,337 posts

QUOTE(nefashu @ Feb 4 2025, 09:04 PM)
I try protein diet where I consume more protein like meat, chicken and egg plus some vege. low on carb and cut off sugar. I cut 4kg from 105 to 101 in 2 weeks. I also do intermitten fasting for 16 hours. So far this diet work for me and I dont feel tired.

The hard part is to cut sugar and try avoid cheat day. Coz it easy to bounce back once you stop diet
correct

TSKayziealnatz
post Feb 6 2025, 10:22 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Feb 6 2025, 11:14 AM)
No. Untrue. The composition of muscles and fats are entirely different.

Fats are mainly lipids, while muscles are protein strands.

I think can start with realistic and doable steps.

WEEK 0
1. Cut sugary drinks entirely. Replace with flavored water i.e. Water with lemon slices if you need something flavored. Once you reach step 5, then you can choose to have 1 sugary drinks PER WEEK.
[IMMEDIATE START - MAINTAIN INDEFINITELY]

WEEK 1 - 3 BEFORE ADDITION
2. Do fasting for short periods of time. Start with fasting between 8pm - 8am.
[IMMEDIATE START - THEN CONTINUE FOR 2 WEEKS BEFORE MOVING TO NEXT STEP. MAINTAIN INDEFINITELY]

WEEK 3 - 5 BEFORE ADDITION
3. Swap your regular dinner with healthy one. If eating with family, then cut your rice by half.

WEEK 5 - 7 BEFORE ADDITION
4. Then swap your regular lunch with health one. Again, if eating with colleagues or what not, cut carbs (i.e. Rice / Noodle).

WEEK 5 ONWARDS FOR 2 WEEKS BEFORE ADDITION
5. Try to walk 8k steps a day. Then aim to increase that amount by 1k steps per 2 weeks until you can average out at 10k per day.

WEEK 7 ONWARDS FOR 2 WEEKS BEFORE FURTHER ADDITION
6. After that you can introduce more exercises such as your body can handle.
- Weight lifting, start from 5kg weights;
- Pushups, 10 reps per set, 3 sets per day;
- etc
Alright, I will try this routine, thank you.

What are your advices on what fruits and vegetables I should regularly eat?
SupermanLick
post Feb 6 2025, 10:27 AM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,457 posts

QUOTE(Kayziealnatz @ Feb 6 2025, 10:02 AM)
I don't want manboobs sad.gif
U need cool pack on the boobs, so that the boobs can shrink down slowly. Don't hot shower 🚿
TSKayziealnatz
post Feb 6 2025, 10:32 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Feb 6 2025, 11:27 AM)
U need cool pack on the boobs, so that the boobs can shrink down slowly. Don't hot shower 🚿
Alright!
sadukarzz
post Feb 6 2025, 10:33 AM

781 posts

QUOTE(Kayziealnatz @ Feb 6 2025, 10:22 AM)
Alright, I will try this routine, thank you.

Its hard to give proper advice without full details to be honest.

We don't know what are your other readings like i.e. Uric Acid level / other pre-existing conditions.

But fruits wise, maybe can go with higher fiber fruits like Banana / Papaya as opposed to higher sugar content like Watermelon / Grapes.

For vegetable wise, perhaps can try just overall increment to vegetable, reduction in carbs, rather than targeting specific vegetable.

No one specific vegetable will quicken the process. Like what others mention, no easy way out of this.
TSKayziealnatz
post Feb 6 2025, 10:36 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Feb 6 2025, 11:33 AM)
Its hard to give proper advice without full details to be honest.

We don't know what are your other readings like i.e. Uric Acid level / other pre-existing conditions.

But fruits wise, maybe can go with higher fiber fruits like Banana / Papaya as opposed to higher sugar content like Watermelon / Grapes.

For vegetable wise, perhaps can try just overall increment to vegetable, reduction in carbs, rather than targeting specific vegetable.

No one specific vegetable will quicken the process. Like what others mention, no easy way out of this.
Yes I know itd be arduous process. Lemme rephrase my questions. What fruits and vegetables should I eat regularly that stay longer in the stomach to delay hunger?
keong_boy
post Feb 6 2025, 10:43 AM

165 posts

Being fat problem is not necessary a excercise problem, is more of a food problem.
cut unnecessary food/snacks.
eat only 2 or 3 times a day.
throw away all your chocolate and sugary stuff.
your drinks be it mamak or starbucks, all ask for kosong, not less sugar but kosong all the way.
if can do intermitent then go for it, but it's not for everyone. dont just focus on daily calorie deficit, it can be discouraging, but look at your weekly intake instead. you'll slowly realize that your body can actually survive without all those unnecessary meals you take. Also, gradually reduce your meal portion, eat like a fat person, you'll be a fat person, eat like a champ and be a champ. take picture to monitor your progress, and don't try to lie to your self.

gudluck fatty.

COOLPINK
post Feb 6 2025, 10:44 AM

3,658 posts

You need to eventually do vigorous exercise.
Walking for 1 hour per day is not enough to lose weight.

TSKayziealnatz
post Feb 6 2025, 10:46 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(keong_boy @ Feb 6 2025, 11:43 AM)
Being fat problem is not necessary a excercise problem, is more of a food problem.
cut unnecessary food/snacks.
eat only 2 or 3 times a day.
throw away all your chocolate and sugary stuff.
your drinks be it mamak or starbucks, all ask for kosong, not less sugar but kosong all the way.
if can do intermitent then go for it, but it's not for everyone. dont just focus on daily calorie deficit, it can be discouraging, but look at your weekly intake instead. you'll slowly realize that your body can actually survive without all those unnecessary meals you take. Also, gradually reduce your meal portion, eat like a fat person, you'll be a fat person, eat like a champ and be a champ. take picture to monitor your progress, and don't try to lie to your self.

gudluck fatty.
Thank you. I am actually avoiding roti canai regular at mamak now xD
You know what, I'm gonna document my progress to keep myself motivated during the process smile.gif
Savor_Savvy
post Feb 6 2025, 10:47 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(Kayziealnatz @ Feb 6 2025, 07:57 AM)
Eating healthy is a problem for me, I like snagging snacks..

But walking, I can. I daily walk for 2 hours at least per day, 4 hours at most
You need to be in a deficit, and to cut sugar and processed food in order to see a difference.

Remember, 80% is based on your diet/food intake, 20% on your exercise regime.
sadukarzz
post Feb 6 2025, 10:54 AM

781 posts

QUOTE(Kayziealnatz @ Feb 6 2025, 10:36 AM)
Yes I know itd be arduous process. Lemme rephrase my questions. What fruits and vegetables should I eat regularly that stay longer in the stomach to delay hunger?
For myself, I replaced my lunch with boiled rolled oats and papaya / banana / occasionally add grapes if cheap.

Usually lasts me good time till dinner.

While dinner I generally go with cabbage / choy sum / broccoli / cauliflower / asparagus / celery; eat normally with 1/4 serving of rice or none; proteins consume as usual but with preference towards chicken / fish.
cawan
post Feb 6 2025, 10:55 AM

404 posts

QUOTE(Kayziealnatz @ Feb 4 2025, 08:57 PM)
Could anyone guide me how to get excellent BMI.

My height is 169cm, weighing 105kg...

How do I erase my big belly and waist.

Can I reduce my weight to 65kg while building lean muscle body within one year?
i know u got cheat days. put your cheat day on 20th days.

not like cheat day every weekend (7 days).

make it 20th days. hold it longer.
TSKayziealnatz
post Feb 6 2025, 11:08 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(cawan @ Feb 6 2025, 11:55 AM)
i know u got cheat days. put your cheat day on 20th days.

not like cheat day every weekend (7 days).

make it 20th days. hold it longer.
Affirmative
TSKayziealnatz
post Feb 6 2025, 11:09 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(sadukarzz @ Feb 6 2025, 11:54 AM)
For myself, I replaced my lunch with boiled rolled oats and papaya / banana / occasionally add grapes if cheap.

Usually lasts me good time till dinner.

While dinner I generally go with cabbage / choy sum / broccoli / cauliflower / asparagus / celery; eat normally with 1/4 serving of rice or none; proteins consume as usual but with preference towards chicken / fish.
I liked Celery and Brocoli!
I've been eating papaya
TSKayziealnatz
post Feb 6 2025, 11:10 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Feb 6 2025, 11:47 AM)
You need to be in a deficit, and to cut sugar and processed food in order to see a difference.

Remember, 80% is based on your diet/food intake, 20% on your exercise regime.
This is going to be really hard. But I will do my best
MAGAMan-X
post Feb 9 2025, 03:08 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(Kayziealnatz @ Feb 4 2025, 08:57 PM)
Could anyone guide me how to get excellent BMI.

My height is 169cm, weighing 105kg...

How do I erase my big belly and waist.

Can I reduce my weight to 65kg while building lean muscle body within one year?
Honestly speaking, it don't matter what people guide you if you're not committed.

First things first. Do you know how you became obese in the first place? (hint: it's not calories in, calories out)

Secondly, what is your relationship with food? if you're the munchy/snacky type, you're going to have a big challenge ahead of you.

Thirdly, you clearly did not become obese overnight. When was the last time you recall being of a "normal" size? If it was 10 years ago, are you willing to commit 5-10 years getting back there?

Lastly, what is your objective of reducing weight? Do you want to look good, or do you want to be healthy? Those 2 are not mutually inclusive. If you don't fix the first 3 above, you're not likely to hit that 65 kg target, and even if you can, you're going to put it back on.
TSKayziealnatz
post Feb 9 2025, 03:17 AM

178 posts

QUOTE(MAGAMan-X @ Feb 9 2025, 04:08 AM)
Honestly speaking, it don't matter what people guide you if you're not committed.
I am commited, otherwise, I wouldn't be making this thread biggrin.gif

QUOTE(MAGAMan-X @ Feb 9 2025, 04:08 AM)

First things first. Do you know how you became obese in the first place? (hint: it's not calories in, calories out)

Secondly, what is your relationship with food? if you're the munchy/snacky type, you're going to have a big challenge ahead of you.

Thirdly, you clearly did not become obese overnight. When was the last time you recall being of a "normal" size? If it was 10 years ago, are you willing to commit 5-10 years getting back there?

Lastly, what is your objective of reducing weight? Do you want to look good, or do you want to be healthy? Those 2 are not mutually inclusive. If you don't fix the first 3 above, you're not likely to hit that 65 kg target, and even if you can, you're going to put it back on.
I want to reduce my weight because I wanna look good, and land a job.

MAGAMan-X
post Feb 9 2025, 03:19 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(Kayziealnatz @ Feb 6 2025, 10:22 AM)

I'm not that guy, but I can answer you this.

You don't need to eat fruits nor vegetables. You can, but you don't need to.

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Feb 6 2025, 10:47 AM)
Calories in, calories out (CICO) is an outdated model. A calorie is the energy necessary to raise 1 gram of water by 1 Celcius, ie heat. Your body doesn't use calories. It uses chemical energy via a process called the citric acid cycle. It just so happen that a by-product of using that chemical energy releases heat, which your body discards, because it doesn't use calories. When I was in my weight loss journey, I consume over 2500 Calories a day, but I'm losing weight. I ask CICO proponents to explain why that is, and none can answer, because the human body doesn't use calories.

I know someone is going to say "but the law of thermodynamics" at some point, and i'll just stop that right now and say the human body (and any living being's body) is NOT a closed system, so the laws of thermodynamics do not apply.

Food is not calories. Food is information for your body.
MAGAMan-X
post Feb 9 2025, 03:34 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(Kayziealnatz @ Feb 9 2025, 03:17 AM)
I am commited, otherwise, I wouldn't be making this thread biggrin.gif
I want to reduce my weight because I wanna look good, and land a job.
Reducing weight might not land you a job, it might make you look good though, and if looking good is what lands you that job, then good.

If you're committed, then the first thing you need to do is unlearn whatever you think you know about health and nutrition, and start afresh with an open mind. So here goes.

1) How does the human body become fat? (hint: again, it's NOT calories in calories out)
2) Why does the body become fat?
3) How do you get the body to use that fat?

Don't worry I'll answer you.
1) The body becomes fat because you gave it information that tells it to store fat. So how does the body does it? Through a hormone called insulin (there are other hormones involved as well but right now let's stick with dietary causes). So what you need to do, is give the body information that says "this is substrate, but don't trigger the insulin".

2) Carbohydrates trigger insulin release because your body can only have a narrow range of blood sugar at any given moment. If blood sugar spikes, it will trigger insulin, telling the cells to open up and soak up the glucose to prevent high blood sugar (conversely, a blood sugar drop will trigger cortisol, which tells the body to raise blood sugar). Chronically triggering high insulin levels will result in net energy storage, and over the course of years/decades, make you fat/sick. If you use what is called a Continuous Glucose Monitor, you will very quickly learn what types of food triggers insulin.

3) Many health "experts" will tell you glucose (or carbs) is the preferred choice of energy source. This is only partially true. Your body uses glucose because IT HAS TO to prevent your blood from becoming hyperglycemic. If you don't feed it carbs, it will learn how to use an alternative form of fuel, in the case of animals, fatty acids, ie. ketogenic metabolism. As long as you are eating carbs, your body will NEVER access the fat stores, because you will always be triggering insulin, which stops your cells from using stored fats for energy.

That said, not all cells are equal. Some cells WILL prefer one type of fuel over the other... The brain, for example, uses glucose for energy, and the heart uses fatty acid for energy. So how do you get glucose in your body if you don't consume carbs? There's a process called gluconeogenesis, which means creating new glucose. It basically reverses the process of creating fats from the excessive carb intake.

Hopefully you understand all that above, and when you start taking in nutrition advice, you can evaluate whether or not those "advice" makes sense.

This post has been edited by MAGAMan-X: Feb 9 2025, 03:40 AM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:03 PM