honda vario 160 oil service question, 4th service for oil

WH4CockcooBird
post Feb 1 2025, 08:52 AM

194 posts

The recommended service interval in the book is every 6000km.

Workshop here been living in the old kapzai era asking you to do unnecessary oil change every 1000km ~ 2000km. This is for bike with wet gearbox that uses the same lube for engine and gearbox.

Your scooter is dry gearbox.

However, by around 3000-4000km your engine will feel a bit heavy but does not mean the oil is bad. Changing oil around this mark will "lighten" up the engine.
WH4CockcooBird
post Feb 1 2025, 10:08 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Feb 1 2025, 09:47 AM)
as mention by user above, even Honda Authorize Workshop still live in old kapcai era. recommend service 1000 or 2000 km.
i show the book and PDF from honda website, they did not want to follow.
no way im going for 3 months/2000km once to service.
as my scooter did not use daily, im going for either 9 months or 12 months.
still 23XX km right now.

edit: to get that 6000 km, need to use full synthetic. Honda only provide semi.  doh.gif
No need fully synthetic to go 6000km. It's not specified in the booklet.

Recommend you to do unnecessary servicing = more revenue.

Wait till you show them you can use normal car's engine oil for your scooter.

Also a big scooter group using diesel engine lube for their scooter and swear by it. Those scooters reportedly done over 50,000km servicing only on Shell Rimula X.

Is there anything wrong? No, not at all. Only those living in gua tempurung will feel it's wrong.

Modern lube is usable for both petrol and diesel engine (higher heat, more exhaust particle to "hold" in the lube). Look for API SN/CF, one example.

WH4CockcooBird
post Feb 1 2025, 11:23 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Feb 1 2025, 11:05 AM)
i cant remember where i read, but the engine oil type wrote there is fully synthetic.
yeah, dont waste money following whatever workshop "recommend".
I can't find it anywhere on owner's manual.

Some cars do have the word "synthetic" baked into their owners manual, but not for Vario / ADV160 / ADV350.
WH4CockcooBird
post Feb 1 2025, 01:28 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Feb 1 2025, 12:21 PM)
for daily usage the recommended mileages before change oil is how much?

Same like I mentioned above.
WH4CockcooBird
post Feb 2 2025, 10:26 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Feb 2 2025, 10:16 AM)

10W-30 is fully synthetic right?
10W-30 is viscosity rating i.e. how "thick" (in layman term) is the oil.

It's nothing about mineral or synthetic.

This post has been edited by WH4CockcooBird: Feb 2 2025, 10:27 AM
WH4CockcooBird
post Feb 2 2025, 02:36 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Feb 2 2025, 01:23 PM)
If your bike is still under warranty period, U have no choice but to comply to their "terms".. like mine. the Adv160 which bought in Mar 2013. sad.gif After the warranty periods end, stick to the manual (5k km service intervals).
Not true. Handbook is the one to be followed on warranty related matter.

My first 1000km service I asked for mineral oil, BigWing SA say huh, this one only 1000km need to service again.

I said just use lah, show them handbook, they kept quiet but still say next service is 2000km, with a sticker which I throw away.

1.5 liter lube with oil filter (ADV350).

Current mileage 3,500km, check oil on dip stick, still good. Engine does not feel heavy.

Now I wait for some ktards to tag me as can't afford synthetic and can't afford to maintain big bike.
tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
WH4CockcooBird
post Feb 3 2025, 07:23 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Feb 2 2025, 08:06 PM)
from honda bottle of AT 10W-30, it show as fully synthetic.
im going to impian. but not regularly. not gonna follow the sticker too.
There are both mineral and synthetic version of Honda MB lube 10W-30.

WH4CockcooBird
post Feb 3 2025, 10:29 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(awol @ Feb 3 2025, 09:05 AM)
i see. only saw the synthetic one. that also, impian X did not keep in their stock.
Got to be the Impian X you went to.

The Impian X I went had both to offer. That's when I was running my ADV150 / AV160.

0.0160sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:36 PM