post Jan 27 2025, 03:06 PM, updated 2d ago

1,621 posts

just wondering?
littlefire
post Jan 27 2025, 03:15 PM

2,505 posts

Read your car manual, most car manual only recommend normal wax and not those expensive coating. If your car is exotic or special color maybe still can justify, but normal car with normal color better just do normal wax and after 5~10 years take the savings and do whole car paint respray even better.
Zot
post Jan 27 2025, 03:16 PM

7,794 posts

If coating is tougher than paint, then car manufacturer will just coat it and advertise that their car is chip proof or no need to wash laugh.gif
scorgio
post Jan 27 2025, 03:17 PM

4,642 posts

Yes.
Original paint from factory already got 3-5 coats(layers).
With gloss coat on the outer most layer.

Coating = just add 1 more coat on top of it.

Just that the formula (chemical composition), could dispel water better. Hence trapping less dirt & subsequently looks more shiny.
dwRK
post Jan 27 2025, 03:24 PM

the consummate chartist
5,808 posts

very easy to wash n dry...

littlegamer
post Jan 27 2025, 03:26 PM

648 posts

Coating just another layer added on clear coat. 8n short coating is added sacrificial layer

If u don't Jaga the coat also will marr unevenly, end up look equally shit

Most car paint last long enough for the car lifetime. No amount of care is enough to keep ur car showroom finish if u daily drive it.

A respray and coating cost roughly the same anyway. Why bother
ifourtos
post Jan 27 2025, 03:28 PM

2,183 posts

All car come with coating

And coating on new car still strong

Old car no need coating, better repaint

So, conclusion

Coating new car = retards
sadlyfalways
post Jan 27 2025, 03:35 PM

1,060 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jan 27 2025, 03:28 PM)

So, conclusion

you sounds so ignorant

i have experience with coated and non coated car

after 4 years the non coated look like shyit, no shine all scratch and swirlf, watermark the whole car and paint like become matte

coated car still beautiful, but no maintenance too.

def got difference

maybe not the cheap bs la people normally put

ceramic pro has never failed me
COOLPINK
post Jan 27 2025, 03:49 PM

3,479 posts

Save your money and repaint whole the car every 5 years....
JON97
post Jan 27 2025, 03:58 PM

310 posts

RM 1k+ Prob not, 400 Can consider.

I did mine for RM 299, 3 layers. Overall, the difference is that the car is more shiny, there is no need to wax/polish, washing it does not require so much effort and no stains.

Wax in Malaysia at most only last 6 months (NuPolish).

Just remember ceramic coating does not mean your car is unscratchable and you don't need to wash your car.
JON97
post Jan 27 2025, 04:02 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jan 27 2025, 03:49 PM)
Save your money and repaint whole the car every 5 years....
Repaint cost ~RM 3000. Thats like 1 year RM 600.

Ceramic coating costs ~RM600 but can last 2 to 3 years with proper maintenance.

Also repaint there's good and bad.
- Good - looks new
- Bad - If the bottom paint is not removed its just gonna add weight. If not properly prep. It will crack
TS19 Degree South
post Jan 27 2025, 04:06 PM

1,621 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jan 27 2025, 03:58 PM)
RM 1k+ Prob not, 400 Can consider.

I did mine for RM 299, 3 layers. Overall, the difference is that the car is more shiny, there is no need to wax/polish, washing it does not require so much effort and no stains.

Wax in Malaysia at most only last 6 months (NuPolish).

Just remember ceramic coating does not mean your car is unscratchable and you don't need to wash your car.
299 is cheap. a regular wax and polish also cost in the region of rm 300+ liao.
JON97
post Jan 27 2025, 04:07 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jan 27 2025, 03:28 PM)

So, conclusion

New car is because the dealer helps you to wax the car. 1 year down the road you can see stains here stains there.

Coating new car will protect the paint from discolouring.
COOLPINK
post Jan 27 2025, 04:08 PM

3,479 posts

QUOTE(JON97 @ Jan 27 2025, 04:02 PM)
Repaint cost ~RM 3000. Thats like 1 year RM 600.

Ceramic coating costs ~RM600 but can last 2 to 3 years with proper maintenance.

Also repaint there's good and bad.
  - Good - looks new
  - Bad - If the bottom paint is not removed its just gonna add weight. If not properly prep. It will crack
Tat is assuming your paint did not chip off due to small pebbles while driving and scratches/dents from getting hit by other car door during parking.
JON97
post Jan 27 2025, 04:09 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jan 27 2025, 04:06 PM)
299 is cheap. a regular wax and polish also cost in the region of rm 300+ liao.
Yea.. I got it so that i don't need to wax my car so often biggrin.gif

Most wax and polish car wash use are cheap. The labour is the most expensive.
zuozi
post Jan 27 2025, 04:10 PM

1,216 posts

Need or not is up to you, why metal need paint probably you already know the answer, added extra layer of coating nid or not up to u, imagine your house outdoor metal part add extra coating nothing wrong either they do wear and tear too 365 days under hot sun/rain still rust at the end and eventually replace the whole part just like your car eventually you sell and get the new car is worth all the hassle is your personal choice.

If your hobby/hobby kami mahal want your car more shining and advertising gimmick yes go ahead and do it and is your money no harm to do it either .
Quazacolt
post Jan 27 2025, 05:13 PM

Riding couple
5,325 posts

It's not a gimmick

That said.
The questions?

Wether you can afford it?
Is it feasible for you application?
Do you prefer it?
Do you like/value detailing? (It's an hobby/art, not everyone appreciates)

Do your comparison and priority between:
- factory original paint
- respray
- detailing like wax , sealants or other LSP (last step protection)
- coating
- wrapping
ayamxxx
post Jan 27 2025, 05:46 PM

3,683 posts

Sent wife car for coating back in 2020, for rm1k free 3x maintenance. Thus it look good, yeah, especially the water repellent properties on the body, windscreen and windows. Its kinda make washing easier and once clean, kinda glowing
effect for the body. But at 4th year, no more maintenance, I bought the coating liquid at Mr. Diy, the bottle mentioned made in USA.

Surprisingly same effect as year 1 as when the car back from coating shop, especially the repellent effect and make the color kinda glowing back

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Jan 27 2025, 05:47 PM
ifourtos
post Jan 27 2025, 07:34 PM

2,183 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ Jan 27 2025, 03:35 PM)
you sounds so ignorant

i have experience with coated and non coated car

after 4 years the non coated look like shyit, no shine all scratch and swirlf, watermark the whole car and paint like become matte

coated car still beautiful, but no maintenance too.

def got difference

maybe not the cheap bs la people normally put

ceramic pro has never failed me
Naive

Never actually owner low end car that need extra coating
christ14
post Jan 27 2025, 07:59 PM

1,552 posts

For the price some can reach 2k

For me. More worth to wrap ppf. Minimal care and it actually protects from pc and scratch. Peel of acter 5 years. Still like new

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0154sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th February 2025 - 06:32 AM