Myvi G3 oil filter

TSdrmundo
post Jan 8 2025, 12:32 PM, updated 12 months ago

17 posts

Dear All sifu, Yesterday, I sent my Myvi G3 to the workshop for servicing. I noticed they used an oil filter meant for the older generation Myvi. The filter used by the G3 is shorter, but the foreman said the old model filter can be used. Can anyone confirm this?
MrBaba
post Jan 8 2025, 01:04 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(drmundo @ Jan 8 2025, 12:32 PM)
Dear All sifu, Yesterday, I sent my Myvi G3 to the workshop for servicing. I noticed they used an oil filter meant for the older generation Myvi. The filter used by the G3 is shorter, but the foreman said the old model filter can be used. Can anyone confirm this?
Oil filter technology is as old like stone age the shape looks different saja the content is the same one .
Chanwsan
post Jan 8 2025, 01:33 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Practically, if it fits, it sits. Unless the old model filter somehow uses inferior filter medium, or protrudes significantly from oil sump, if they can screw in without screw up, personally I wouldn't be too worried.

Just check for any leakage to be safe
MR_alien
post Jan 8 2025, 02:06 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

just check for leakage after driving say 500KM
no leakage no problem

another thing is...your engine also will react if the filter is wrong...it won't be able to start after some time
i have a car where the workshop put a wrong filter on it and the car refuse to start after 1 month of oil change(the service center say using wrong filter mess around the pressure)
SourLemons
post Jan 8 2025, 02:39 PM

223 posts

for peace of mind i guess either u bring ur own filter or go to other workshop if he insist on using diff filter

at the end of the day it's your car n money spent to buy the car

foreman wouldn't know the long term effects of using different filter correct? and if your car got issue after 100k km , he's not gonna buy you a replacement car

This post has been edited by SourLemons: Jan 8 2025, 02:41 PM
marvinben
post Jan 8 2025, 03:48 PM

249 posts

It's fine, just check for leakage often and keep lookout for low oil pressure error dashboard light.
TSdrmundo
post Jan 9 2025, 08:39 AM

17 posts

Thank you, Sifu, for all your replies. I was quite worried since this is the first time I’ve taken my car to a non-Perodua workshop for servicing. I’ll check the bottom of the car for any signs of leaking after a month or 500 km. To be honest, this car is rarely driven. It’s about six years old, and the mileage is still 30,000 km.
MR_alien
post Jan 9 2025, 10:10 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(drmundo @ Jan 9 2025, 08:39 AM)
Thank you, Sifu, for all your replies. I was quite worried since this is the first time I’ve taken my car to a non-Perodua workshop for servicing. I’ll check the bottom of the car for any signs of leaking after a month or 500 km. To be honest, this car is rarely driven. It’s about six years old, and the mileage is still 30,000 km.
if you're scared, just buy a few quality filter from shopee and take to that workshop next time
they use compatible oil filter because they don't have the correct oil filter in stock

0.0128sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:17 AM