Kansai car paint, paint after accident

TSgedebe
post Jan 7 2025, 03:08 PM, updated 12 months ago

1,650 posts

Hi, I believe there are different quality for different brand of car paint, my workshop is using Kansai brand, but after some years, the fading of polish and paint is really great, refer pic. What brand of paint do workshop use that is better, of course they will try to buy the cheaper one but we want brand with reasonable quality and price

ihm11
post Jan 7 2025, 03:13 PM

62 posts

the exact brand & no of the factory paint used shud b inscripted on a metal plate in the engine bay along with the engine/chassis no etc

if it's the paint peeling it's prolly cos the workshop din use primer, jus directly spray paint then lacquer to save $
fantasy1989
post Jan 7 2025, 03:14 PM

4,707 posts

cheap thing no good ; good thing wont cheap

and new paint no matter how also cannot be as good as factory paint

edges sure will peel or fade
TSgedebe
post Jan 7 2025, 03:15 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(ihm11 @ Jan 7 2025, 03:13 PM)
the exact brand & no of the factory paint used shud b inscripted on a metal plate in the engine bay along with the engine/chassis no etc

if it's the paint peeling it's prolly cos the workshop din use primer, jus directly spray paint then lacquer to save $
I know the inscribed paint spec but for me I can't expect a normal workshop to use the original paint which should be expensive, but at least give me a reasonable price and quality paint
anakkk
post Jan 7 2025, 03:18 PM

2,115 posts

need to spray a clear coat on top of paint, probably the workshop no good :X

I saw this poon auto body and paints from youtube, dono good or not
bigmac999
post Jan 7 2025, 03:18 PM

685 posts

kansai is an ok Brand for car paint

but ofc the shop probably did not do the painting properly and rushed the job
police_pipupipu
post Jan 7 2025, 03:20 PM

105 posts

Cheapo clear coat (quick dry)
BOTAK_WAI
post Jan 7 2025, 03:23 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,162 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Jan 7 2025, 03:08 PM)
Hi, I believe there are different quality for different brand of car paint, my workshop is using Kansai brand, but after some years, the fading of polish and paint is really great, refer pic.  What brand of paint do workshop use that is better, of course they will try to buy the cheaper one but we want brand with reasonable quality and price

AdisonMak
post Jan 7 2025, 03:51 PM

168 posts

i'm curious, issit possible to make it matte finish paint?

Not fond of the lapik plastik type to make it matte coz sekali scratched, the whole layer kena replace which is not the best buck. Maybe i am wrong on this.

This post has been edited by AdisonMak: Jan 7 2025, 03:53 PM
MR_alien
post Jan 7 2025, 04:11 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

if u ask me, it's not the paint...it's the clear coat

if got money, use glasurit high solid(if not wrong the highest u can get)
more2teayap
post Jan 7 2025, 04:19 PM

(づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
2,746 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Jan 7 2025, 03:08 PM)
Hi, I believe there are different quality for different brand of car paint, my workshop is using Kansai brand, but after some years, the fading of polish and paint is really great, refer pic.  What brand of paint do workshop use that is better, of course they will try to buy the cheaper one but we want brand with reasonable quality and price

You can't rely just the paint quality, the result of a paint job also depends on how skillful is the painter. Did they prepare the surface properly? Did they spray evenly? Did they allow the paint dry in a proper environment?

BOTAK_WAI
post Jan 7 2025, 04:22 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,162 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 7 2025, 04:11 PM)
if u ask me, it's not the paint...it's the clear coat

if got money, use glasurit high solid(if not wrong the highest u can get)
Boom Mortar
post Jan 7 2025, 04:25 PM

227 posts

Go kedai logam buy Anchor ⚓ spray paint,amik no.1
TSgedebe
post Jan 7 2025, 04:47 PM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 7 2025, 04:22 PM)
and i thought this is cap ayam/parrot!
terradrive
post Jan 7 2025, 04:50 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

or they didn't follow proper overcoating period on the paint's technical data sheet, bad chemical bonding and only rely on mechanical bonding between layers
netmatrix
post Jan 7 2025, 05:02 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Even if they used aikka, if the blend is not correct, and the layer not enough will happen one. High quality paint is also cheap. But good workmanship hard to find.
andrekua2
post Jan 7 2025, 05:12 PM

13,478 posts

Workmanship is more important than paint.

I remembered I had an accident in my mom's car and after repair, both door which had repaint start to show sanding marks. At first I blame the dog but then I cant feel anything even when running my nails over it. Some said its because of the putty they used to level everything.
TSgedebe
post Jan 8 2025, 02:22 AM

1,650 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Jan 7 2025, 05:02 PM)
Even if they used aikka, if the blend is not correct, and the layer not enough will happen one. High quality paint is also cheap. But good workmanship hard to find.
quality paint cheap? Painting cost easily more than half of the cost for dent repair rather ketuk body is not expensive
sakaic
post Jan 8 2025, 02:37 AM

936 posts

A lot of ppl dunno this and spray painter use this shortcut to save cost. All the paint on plastic bumper falling off first

0.0187sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:14 AM