TShdbjhn2
post Jan 3 2025, 09:10 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 3 2025, 07:22 PM)
4at else pick other vehicle. reliability not favor to p1
Any suggestion around 10k?
i saw altis 1.6,12k, but when i read about it's engine,, unusual of Tyta's,, i seem to have lots problem
and complicated/lots minor repairs. Not sure though.
Thn, i saw Satria Neo,, despite being my favor,,is Cps engine parts still being produced?
Thn i saw Accord 2.0 lol,, i like it,, but,, 1430kg car,, idk it's fuel consumption.
Also, i checked it's spare parts,, things like engine mounting, absorber,, all lil2 thing,,
actually,,not to far off Saga. But my father said,,"wouldn’t touch them with a ten foot pole" basically,, he said,,
headache cause,, "once start full time job,, can't bear to spend time fixing the car,, and this old cars just don't think of it he said".
He uses Camry 2.0,,2000,, touchwood, 600k dy,, still going strong,, he too pernah said,, it's really good n reliable.
I too been with it when repairing or replacing some items,,so far engine and gb,, still ori,, only oil replacements.
BUt,, when i ask if "i take camry(also Rm10k ade)",,,he said,, no no,, leceh,,
i said,, "it's ok,,once i buy,, i use carefuly(since that car don't break down terus,, tolernce is good,, durable),,then slowly i replace parts and restore it.
Yet,,, without discussion,, he said,, just go for saga,, parts banyak(But,,on my head,, Proton vs Toyota,, even on Shopee,, ori parts Toyo lots more,, and,, price,, i won't say Saga is that cheap also).

But honestly,, i like that Accord 2.0 2004. dual arms(upper and lower), 5 speed auto,, k20 eco with square ratio piston(86 by 86),,

My parents alwys rush decisions during last mins, ending up making regretfull decision.
So,, i'm thinking still,,,

Do you have any suggestion?
around 10k for the car only.
TShdbjhn2
post Jan 3 2025, 09:13 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 3 2025, 07:22 PM)
4at else pick other vehicle. reliability not favor to p1
Why?
really problem ke?
i mean, minor prob like air con ke pwr windows ke lol,,
i tk kisah la,,
but, body, power train.
do share.
TShdbjhn2
post Jan 3 2025, 09:14 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(lordgamer3 @ Jan 3 2025, 07:26 PM)
CVT frequent oil change interval compared to AT. Any car with high mileage subject to wear but CVT repairs rule of thumb generally more expensive and complicated.

Fuel efficiency cvt better but AT can hold up to abuse more than cvt. If you drive gentle gentle buy cvt ok la. To the idiot who say AT ghey. Ask the fellow launch his cvt repeatedly against AT see who kaput first.
haha, noted but relaxs,, tk nk start war here. haha.
ktek
post Jan 3 2025, 10:18 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,878 posts

QUOTE(hdbjhn2 @ Jan 3 2025, 09:10 PM)
i saw altis 1.6,12k, but when i read about it's engine,, unusual of Tyta's,, i seem to have lots problem
Thn, i saw Satria Neo,, despite being my favor,,is Cps engine parts still being produced?
Thn i saw Accord 2.0 lol,, i like it,, but,, 1430kg car,, idk it's fuel consumption.
Also, i checked it's spare parts,, things like engine mounting, absorber,, all lil2 thing,,
actually,,not to far off Saga. But my father said,,"wouldn’t touch them with a ten foot pole" basically,, he said,,
headache cause,, "once start full time job,, can't bear to spend time fixing the car,, and this old cars just don't think of it he said".
He uses Camry 2.0,,2000,, touchwood, 600k dy,, still going strong,, he too pernah said,, it's really good n reliable.
I too been with it when repairing or replacing some items,,so far engine and gb,, still ori,, only oil replacements.
i said,, "it's ok,,once i buy,, i use carefuly(since that car don't break down terus,, tolernce is good,, durable),,then slowly i replace parts and restore it.
Yet,,, without discussion,, he said,, just go for saga,, parts banyak(But,,on my head,, Proton vs Toyota,, even on Shopee,, ori parts Toyo lots more,, and,, price,, i won't say Saga is that cheap also).
But honestly,, i like that Accord 2.0 2004. dual arms(upper and lower), 5 speed auto,, k20 eco with square ratio piston(86 by 86),,
My parents alwys rush decisions during last mins,  ending up making regretfull decision.

similar ideas. i was looking at camry at that price, worry high chances of getting taxi/ grab/ airport limo.
accord that era, looks nice oso. need a lump sump for suspension refresh

since my budget is even lower than urs. end up buying naza bestari 1.6 with manual gearbox.
ex owner help with minor repairing, i spent for used tyre & thats all.
dont bother to repair big things

naza forte kinda ok, plenty otr. provided u found a korean specialist shop nearby
lawrencesha
post Jan 3 2025, 10:20 PM

873 posts

Which Saga got 1.6L?
ktek
post Jan 3 2025, 10:27 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,878 posts

QUOTE(lawrencesha @ Jan 3 2025, 10:20 PM)
Which Saga got 1.6L?
se & taxi
bo093
post Jan 4 2025, 01:24 AM

1,179 posts

QUOTE(hdbjhn2 @ Jan 3 2025, 08:51 PM)
The flx?
also mitsu?
Is there anywhere i can know about the gb?
Any other car it's being used mybe,,
flx = cvt

side note, blm/fl 4at filter change requires to remove and open the gearbox.
arza04
post Jan 4 2025, 05:28 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(hdbjhn2 @ Jan 3 2025, 12:51 AM)
Hi, i'm looking to buy used Saga 1.6.

1.6 saga only comes with Manual / CVT

Manual (2009-2011)
Flx se 1.6 (2011-2016)
TShdbjhn2
post Jan 4 2025, 10:23 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 3 2025, 10:27 PM)
se & taxi
I saw mudah got sell normal car 1.6 also,
taxi car ? how do i check?
TShdbjhn2
post Jan 4 2025, 10:24 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(arza04 @ Jan 4 2025, 05:28 AM)

Manual (2009-2011)
Flx se 1.6 (2011-2016)
but i do saw some sold on mudah as 4at speed, 2013,,
trustworthy tak?
arza04
post Jan 5 2025, 01:48 AM

297 posts

QUOTE(hdbjhn2 @ Jan 4 2025, 10:24 PM)
but i do saw some sold on mudah as 4at speed, 2013,,
trustworthy tak?
the 4at should be 1.3, not 1.6. Unless owner already change engine
bo093
post Jan 5 2025, 06:46 PM

1,179 posts

QUOTE(arza04 @ Jan 4 2025, 05:28 AM)

Manual (2009-2011)
Flx se 1.6 (2011-2016)
you forgot saga fl 1.6 se is 4at
Balanced
post Jan 6 2025, 12:58 AM

833 posts

QUOTE(hdbjhn2 @ Jan 3 2025, 09:10 PM)

My parents alwys rush decisions during last mins,  ending up making regretfull decision.

Find civic ET 2.0 2003-2004.
Its with the reliable and reasonably powerful k20a3 engine with 5 AT gearbox.

I have the civic ES 2001 basically same body, but i modded by transplanting the k20a type r engine and 6 speed manual gearbox into it and soup it up to 260hp. Body parts are aplenty.
littlefire
post Jan 6 2025, 09:03 AM

2,486 posts

QUOTE(hdbjhn2 @ Jan 3 2025, 09:55 PM)
Wow. the exact car.
Just to ask, still have the car?
any chance for sale,, haha.
Apart from the gb and lack of safety(no airbag or crash prove),
i loved that car compared to any new cars.
From it's feel, handling feels, the driving dynamics is smthing just really so nice.
He drove for 15 year means already sold off.
littlefire
post Jan 6 2025, 09:11 AM

2,486 posts

QUOTE(hdbjhn2 @ Jan 3 2025, 10:10 PM)

Used Toyota dont buy the low spec. version, always aim for the higher spec. like Altis go for 1.8G or 2.0V as Toyota only provide better safety features on higher spec. Altis (TRC - Traction Control, VSC + some 2.0V got 6-air bags). Those 1.6e really damn bare spec. only like got 2 air-bags + ABS only and used car value between the 2 not much difference. (Not worth picking the lower spec.)

Most important is get a reputable mechanic to check on the car, as nowadays a lot of flood or accident car. If high mileage and got good service records no issue, as my mechanic got customer already way over 500~600k km on speedometer still in good condition. It all come down on the previous owner if he/she got really maintain it. If anything happen plenty of spare parts, new/used/half-cut for Toyota in our local market, no need worries.
Deja Vu
post Jan 6 2025, 10:36 AM

1,856 posts

There were 3 variants of d 1.6L BLM-gen Saga.
1. B-line 1.6 manual (with d original smaller headlamps) that only came in red n front-only power windows so its likely specially for taxi operators
2. 1.6 FL Executive (sharing d facelifted 1.3L FLX headlamps and rear lamps with 2 front airbags). Available from factory only in white n paired to a 4AT. Probably d rarest of d Sagas of this generation coz it was quickly superseded by d FLX SE
3. 1.6 FLX SE same engine as d FL Exec but paired to d Punch CVT and came in red or white with body kit. Back then some said it was Proton's answer to d 1.5L Myvi.

IMHO with 10K budget (frankly that's not a lot esp when u consider cars at this price are either high milleage, old, or 'cold' cars and u still need to factor in initial repair costs apart from long term maintenance).

For me assuming u would wan to own for a least another 5yrs as a daily car, it would be down to 3 cars
1. 1.3 Myvi (heard that older 1s r likely to need a new aircon compressor and transmission but otherwise its an easy to maintain and wallet friendly)

2. 1st gen Altis. As said by littlefire, skip d 1.6 n get d 1.8 for VSC as price should be d same. High mileage (>160K) is expected but find a well maintained 1 and with some repairs to keep it in decent condition it should still serve plenty of miles. Last I checked, tis gen is prone to dashboard 'skin' bubbling and cosmetic discoloration on d steering wheel n gear knob.

3. 1st gen FL Vios G-spec. Again high mileage is expected but find a good 1 and with some TLC it will continue to serve faithfully. Most drivetrain parts still used in 2014 Vios.

Bonus #4, Avanza. Tough and basic (hence less to go wrong). Only niggle I have against it drives a bit like a truck/van due to d ladder platform n can't remember if dual airbags (or even ABS) is only available in d newer and more expensive 1.5G.
ayamxxx
post Jan 6 2025, 12:15 PM

3,645 posts

If it me with that budget, any Proton car with campro cps, either Waja cps or Gen2 cps. Saw last time from FB marketplace, waja Cps manual at rm6.5k.

That engine is reliable free same with the GB, either manual or 4 gear auto that are miles better than Punch CVT
TShdbjhn2
post Jan 6 2025, 10:07 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jan 6 2025, 12:58 AM)
Find civic ET 2.0 2003-2004.
Its with the reliable and reasonably powerful k20a3 engine with 5 AT gearbox.

I have the civic ES 2001 basically same body, but i modded by transplanting the k20a type r engine and 6 speed manual gearbox into it and soup it up to 260hp. Body parts are aplenty.
That is exactly very much wat i really want by heart and my reptillian brain lol.
Reliable i hope so. But the thing is,,
1. very few being sold.
2. price also,, 16k. out of my comfort range. not including spending for it's maintenance later on, which brings to point 3,
3. For all other Toyota or Saga,, i can find lots of part being sold, Oem and Ori supplies, price still reasonable.
But for this CIvic,, not only parts hard to get,, things like engine mounting, etc,, ada pun OEM only,, i couldn't fine ori parts,, all Thai or Oem Japan.
SO,, i'm scared. Lagi2, that K20a,, i don't know if mechanics will ramp the price.

DOes Honda Sell it's part still?

SO, by desire, i nk that car. but, logic brain says,,, it's so risky at that price.
If Saga all, i will still have money left that i burn for car.

For me, if i can get one in good condition,, 16-17k,,i won't transplant,, but will try to fully restore hbis,,
ori parts, proper mechanics that really knows,, not the one that just jnji pasang sudah.
And that,, i will take a good care, that car should be a nice and reliable.
BUt,,i don't how is reality.

Just, mybe i will have slightly lowered spring. Sporty absorber. Same size wheel thought.
The steering still hydraulic right?

BUt u said, u already did type R swap. How was ur experience,, who knows i can try in near future,,hehe.
Is the type R engine much heavier?? uses same mounting??
How about spring and arm and absorber? All same or different??
And the 6 speed manual,, clutch ,, hows the price?
TShdbjhn2
post Jan 6 2025, 10:10 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 6 2025, 09:11 AM)
Used Toyota dont buy the low spec. version, always aim for the higher spec. like Altis go for 1.8G or 2.0V as Toyota only provide better safety features on higher spec. Altis (TRC - Traction Control, VSC + some 2.0V got 6-air bags). Those 1.6e really damn bare spec. only like got 2 air-bags + ABS only and used car value between the 2 not much difference. (Not worth picking the lower spec.)

Most important is get a reputable mechanic to check on the car, as nowadays a lot of flood or accident car. If high mileage and got good service records no issue, as my mechanic got customer already way over 500~600k km on speedometer still in good condition. It all come down on the previous owner if he/she got really maintain it. If anything happen plenty of spare parts, new/used/half-cut for Toyota in our local market, no need worries.
Thank you, noted.
How about parts and maintenance later on, 1.6 vs 1.8/2.0 ?

TShdbjhn2
post Jan 6 2025, 10:26 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Deja Vu @ Jan 6 2025, 10:36 AM)
There were 3 variants of d 1.6L BLM-gen Saga.
1. B-line 1.6 manual (with d original smaller headlamps) that only came in red n front-only power windows so its likely specially for taxi operators
2. 1.6 FL Executive (sharing d facelifted 1.3L FLX headlamps and rear lamps with 2 front airbags). Available from factory only in white n paired to a 4AT. Probably d rarest of d Sagas of this generation coz it was quickly superseded by d FLX SE
3. 1.6 FLX SE same engine as d FL Exec but paired to d Punch CVT and came in red or white with body kit. Back then some said it was Proton's answer to d 1.5L Myvi.

IMHO with 10K budget (frankly that's not a lot esp when u consider cars at this price are either high milleage, old, or 'cold' cars and u still need to factor in initial repair costs apart from long term maintenance).

For me assuming u would wan to own for a least another 5yrs as a daily car, it would be down to 3 cars
1. 1.3 Myvi (heard that older 1s r likely to need a new aircon compressor and transmission but otherwise its an easy to maintain and wallet friendly)

2. 1st gen Altis. As said by littlefire, skip d 1.6 n get d 1.8 for VSC as price should be d same. High mileage (>160K) is expected but find a well maintained 1 and with some repairs to keep it in decent condition it should still serve plenty of miles. Last I checked, tis gen is prone to dashboard 'skin' bubbling and cosmetic discoloration on d steering wheel n gear knob.

3. 1st gen FL Vios G-spec. Again high mileage is expected but find a good 1 and with some TLC it will continue to serve faithfully. Most drivetrain parts still used in 2014 Vios.

Bonus #4, Avanza. Tough and basic (hence less to go wrong). Only niggle I have against it drives a bit like a truck/van due to d ladder platform n can't remember if dual airbags (or even ABS) is only available in d newer and more expensive 1.5G.
https://www.mudah.my/2011-proton-saga-1-6-f...n-106018915.htm
is this ok?

about myvi,, good cond,, most above 15k,, below that,, usually too old or hgh mileage or questionable cond.
Also,,, i mmg tk mahu myviiii,, haha,, too sad,,, nooooooo.

2. 1st gen altis, yeap, ok. was my first choice. But, i hv to get someone to check first. The gearbox and engine is main.
Interior all, i can live with it,, no issue, hehe.

3. Vios,, basically same price like Altis also,, though part were a lil more cheaper. Hmm.
+ i like altis more. seeking that.
But since u said,, most drivetrain used still in 2014 vios, means,, i won't have to worry much in future.
How about altis?

Avanza,, kinda heavy and not necessary for me. i generally tak suka tall, suv, boxy vehicles, haha.

Anyway, thanks for sharing. will look more into this.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0171sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th January 2025 - 03:59 PM