saga cvt vs 4 speed auto, blm, fl, flx

TShdbjhn2
post Jan 3 2025, 12:51 AM, updated 6d ago

255 posts

Hi, i'm looking to buy used Saga 1.6.
So, need advise that suits for used/around 10years car.
SO, anyone with knwledge about saga auto or where to find the informations.
Share advise and experience.

Most of the models sold are Cvt models,, only a few are 4 speed auto.

1. WHich is more durable?? are they around the same??
*usually 100k miles,, let's say been driven equally average abuse,
generally,,

The Cvt,, usually scary. Some tahan,, but if dah nak rosak,, mmg payah to recover,,, is this true??
Cause,, i saw in shopee,, there is a shop that provide overhaul package,,RM3k.
BUT, not for the 4-speed auto ?
SO,
The 4-speed auto,, usually not scary like Cvt,, but the one in SAge,, is it reliable?
(i heard Saga uses few 4-speed models, Mitsu, Hyundai,, confusing),,

I DON'T WORRY ABOUT FUEL ECONOMY OR "shiftless" experience,,Jnji boleh jalan everyday.
i don't abuse also but not uncle driver la, brisk type a bit.

If i buy, ofc i will do some major preventive maintenance.
2. But, which will be easier to restore?? parts?
WHICH ONE CAN RESTORE TO CONSIDERABLY HEALTHY LEVEL?
- all being equal,, which one is doable/ease of repair?
Avoid the one that is hard to repair. Nnti foremen *can used this reason to chrge extra extra.

2. Let say once i restore,,, for example, the CVT Auto Clutch Damper,,Clutch Set Friction KIT VT2.
But, for the 4-speed auto,,anything??
Which can be done durably? Is there computer diagnostic??

Some times,, the cost is low,, but,, need frequent chnge.
sometimes the cost is high,, but,, lasts long,, or v long if jaga elok.
but somtimes,, costs too high,,last pun not long. Hmmm.
cvt or 4 speed??

3. I'm well aware,, cvt with clutch,, if sit in jam,, holding brake while in D,, in overheat.
4 speed auto could be better,,
Is the 4 speed auto in the Sage Fl/FLx/Blm 1.6 good enough??

*i pernah ade Wira 1.6 auto,, damn,, that is real ticking time bomb and no way to restore.
My father Babied that thing, early oil chnge, managed to last 10years though,, but,, mileage just 80k,, n, kaput jugak.
After that,, mmg rubbish,, never recover. NIght mare.

GEnerally, i found, very little helpful video,, only bashing videos.
If for Toyota, my father now own 2002 camry, damn, most of things are there on Youtube.
I can even learn about the mechanism.

BUt for Saga,, i couldn't find much
lordgamer3
post Jan 3 2025, 01:00 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(hdbjhn2 @ Jan 3 2025, 12:51 AM)
Hi, i'm looking to buy used Saga 1.6.
So, need advise that suits for used/around 10years car.
SO, anyone with knwledge about saga auto or where to find the informations.
Share advise and experience.

Most of the models sold are Cvt models,, only a few are 4 speed auto.

1. WHich is more durable?? are they around the same??
*usually 100k miles,, let's say been driven equally average abuse,
generally,,

The Cvt,, usually scary. Some tahan,, but if dah nak rosak,, mmg payah to recover,,, is this true??
Cause,, i saw in shopee,, there is a shop that provide overhaul package,,RM3k.
BUT, not for the 4-speed auto ?
SO,
The 4-speed auto,, usually not scary like Cvt,, but the one in SAge,, is it reliable?
(i heard Saga uses few 4-speed models, Mitsu, Hyundai,, confusing),,

I DON'T WORRY ABOUT FUEL ECONOMY OR "shiftless" experience,,Jnji boleh jalan everyday.
i don't abuse also but not uncle driver la, brisk type a bit.

If i buy, ofc i will do some major preventive maintenance.
2. But, which will be easier to restore?? parts?
WHICH ONE CAN RESTORE TO CONSIDERABLY HEALTHY LEVEL?
- all being equal,, which one is doable/ease of repair?
Avoid the one that is hard to repair. Nnti foremen *can used this reason to chrge extra extra.

2. Let say once i restore,,, for example, the CVT Auto Clutch Damper,,Clutch Set Friction KIT VT2.
But, for the 4-speed auto,,anything?? 
Which can be done durably? Is there computer diagnostic??

Some times,, the cost is low,, but,, need frequent chnge.
sometimes the cost is high,, but,, lasts long,, or v long if jaga elok.
but somtimes,, costs too high,,last pun not long. Hmmm.
cvt or 4 speed??

3. I'm well aware,, cvt with clutch,, if sit in jam,, holding brake while in D,, in overheat.
4 speed auto could be better,,
Is the 4 speed auto in the Sage Fl/FLx/Blm 1.6 good enough??

*i pernah ade Wira 1.6 auto,, damn,, that is real ticking time bomb and no way to restore.
My father Babied that thing, early oil chnge, managed to last 10years though,, but,, mileage just 80k,, n, kaput jugak.
After that,, mmg rubbish,, never recover. NIght mare.
GEnerally, i found, very little helpful video,, only bashing videos.
If for Toyota, my father now own 2002 camry, damn, most of things are there on Youtube.
I can even learn about the mechanism.

BUt for Saga,, i couldn't find much
Personal experience driven both.

Cvt can max 120kmh if 140kmh after half to one hour get gearbox light.

Auto new one never owned but when I work in Sarawak I used BLM in Palm oil estate high incline beat the shit damn thing survive. Higher chance AT survive better then CVT garbage. Better give high consideration to AT TS. The damnnthing can really abuse. Saga CVT is ghey and easy piak. Choice is yours.
matrix88
post Jan 3 2025, 01:13 AM

2,233 posts

If wira 1.6 auto also you cannot maintain, better you get a manual.
gokundrz
post Jan 3 2025, 05:49 AM

77 posts

4 AT very reliable
bo093
post Jan 3 2025, 07:22 AM

1,179 posts

I thrash the Saga BLM 4at, it went through a few autocross and touge.
A few with and without oil cooler, with proton atf and with redline d4 atf.
It survived till I swap for manual haha.

BLM/FL = Mitsubishi 4at
VVT = Hyundai & Aisin 4at

Any gearbox don't like heat. That's it.
Good quality oil & cooling is important.
Once the oil have burnt smell. BE ON YOUR TOES.
Acoen
post Jan 3 2025, 08:00 AM

254 posts

Suggest go for saga 4AT version launced in 2019 onwards
littlefire
post Jan 3 2025, 09:29 AM

2,486 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Jan 3 2025, 02:13 AM)
Yes, agree. My dad's previous ride also Wira 1.6 drove 15 years with over 200k on meter still same 4AT gearbox from day 1.
I believe most damage is due to wrong use of ATF oil, abuse & poor maintenance record, as Wira 1.6 is 4 speed need Dextron-IIIH (not normal Dextron-III or II) and my dad change it every 20,000km without miss.
TShdbjhn2
post Jan 3 2025, 09:34 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Jan 3 2025, 01:13 AM)
Manual is stress for jam driving in KL.
As for the Wira, i consider done the best, since i heard so many kong the gearbox withing few years ny.
No matter the maintenance.
ayamxxx
post Jan 3 2025, 09:40 AM

3,645 posts

If u intend to use it for long time, accumulate high mileage, choose 4AT. CVT, u can come visit gb repair shop and ask them, which gb they had more for repair.
TShdbjhn2
post Jan 3 2025, 09:50 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 3 2025, 09:29 AM)
Yes, agree. My dad's previous ride also Wira 1.6 drove 15 years with over 200k on meter still same 4AT gearbox from day 1.
I believe most damage is due to wrong use of ATF oil, abuse & poor maintenance record, as Wira 1.6 is 4 speed need Dextron-IIIH (not normal Dextron-III or II) and my dad change it every 20,000km without miss.
Aeroback or the earliest version?
Well, not to boost, but I think i done more than how average people take cares, been always a lil too gentle(except recently my Kembara haha).

Like i said, my father babied that car, never given hard acceleration from start stop also. Majorly town use though. If highway, 80-90max.
It's just, my house is kinda steep hilly place, daily basis. Still didn't drive at high rpm or too low rpm. Changed oil without miss.
Still stopped shifting from 3rd to 4th.
By comparison, under same situation my Kembara gearbox for the abuse i gave(no choice since it's kinda slow), 160k+, same like first day i get it at 120k.
littlefire
post Jan 3 2025, 10:07 AM

2,486 posts

QUOTE(hdbjhn2 @ Jan 3 2025, 10:50 AM)
Aeroback or the earliest version?
Well, not to boost, but I think i done more than how average people take cares, been always a lil too gentle(except recently my Kembara haha).

Like i said, my father babied that car, never given hard acceleration from start stop also. Majorly town use though. If highway, 80-90max.
It's just, my house is kinda steep hilly place, daily basis. Still didn't drive at high rpm or too low rpm. Changed oil without miss.
Still stopped shifting from 3rd to 4th.
By comparison, under same situation my Kembara gearbox for the abuse i gave(no choice since it's kinda slow), 160k+, same like first day i get it at 120k.
FYI 1996 Wira Sedan 1.6(A)
BTW, he also changed the ATF filter every 40k also.
This also many mechanic will not do if no tell, but actually is quite easy for Wira gearbox as the filter is below it.
SleeplessEyes
post Jan 3 2025, 11:40 AM

2,420 posts

QUOTE(lordgamer3 @ Jan 3 2025, 01:00 AM)

Auto new one never owned but when I work in Sarawak I used BLM in Palm oil estate high incline beat the shit damn thing survive. Higher chance AT survive better then CVT garbage. Better give high consideration to AT TS. The damnnthing can really abuse.  Saga CVT is ghey and easy piak. Choice is yours.
Personal experience here. Driving Exora turbo.
I don't know why your CVT only max out 120 when mine can go on 130-140 for long distance and yet no durian gearbox light. I've even floor the thing until 160 (but just a short distance for safety reasons).
Gone up to Genting many times throughout its lifetime.

This my advice. CVT is a love and hate. Drive it moderately and it will last. Seriously. Mine is already 10yrs old.
It's not for those which wanna floor the accelerator and drive like you stole it. Those who hate it is because they drive very hard and abusive then later break the belt (Honda mostly break. Proton seldom break belts)
Accelerate gently on green light. That's what transmission specialists advice.

4 speed auto is a real gay because it has to go through power loss for each gear change. Screams like a sissy when downshift yet no power. Serious. Cvt may scream like a sissy when downshift but it will pull away better than 4AT
lordgamer3
post Jan 3 2025, 04:24 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jan 3 2025, 11:40 AM)
Personal experience here. Driving Exora turbo.
I don't know why your CVT only max out 120 when mine can go on 130-140 for long distance and yet no durian gearbox light. I've even floor the thing until 160 (but just a short distance for safety reasons).
Gone up to Genting many times throughout its lifetime.

This my advice. CVT is a love and hate. Drive it moderately and it will last. Seriously. Mine is already 10yrs old.
It's not for those which wanna floor the accelerator and drive like you stole it. Those who hate it is because they drive very hard and abusive then later break the belt (Honda mostly break. Proton seldom break belts)
Accelerate gently on green light. That's what transmission specialists advice.

4 speed auto is a real gay because it has to go through power loss for each gear change. Screams like a sissy when downshift yet no power. Serious. Cvt may scream like a sissy when downshift but it will pull away better than 4AT
Different CVT torque capability. I driven both exora and preve turbo never had GB issues .The Saga many company car all after anything above 120 sure the wonderful GB light will pop out and suddenly lose power. Very very scary.

Either go for BLM pre cvt FL saga or the 4AT. CVT Saga's are junk at high speed. If you the type keep max limit 120 then ok

This post has been edited by lordgamer3: Jan 3 2025, 04:26 PM
TShdbjhn2
post Jan 3 2025, 07:14 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(lordgamer3 @ Jan 3 2025, 01:00 AM)

Auto new one never owned but when I work in Sarawak I used BLM in Palm oil estate high incline beat the shit damn thing survive. Higher chance AT survive better then CVT garbage. Better give high consideration to AT TS. The damnnthing can really abuse.  Saga CVT is ghey and easy piak. Choice is yours.
i dun wan geyh gb on my car, noo,, haha.
Anywy, ur advise is hghly noted.

It's just my fear is that, i'm buying used.
Used car, often times, time testing, all can feel good, but internally could be worn out close enough to cause problem later on;
(which i ada doubt if car dealers pndai mask?)
So, if i wanna do repair or early replacement, is parts available for the normal auto? That's why i'm puzzled now.
For Cvt, i saw got lots of repairs shops nowdays.
The cost for Cvt full overhaul, i can bear also, but will it worthy? This is another question lol.
Is there such restoration shop for normal auto?

So, like u said, choice is mine but, in process. Analysing, hehe.

ktek
post Jan 3 2025, 07:22 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,878 posts

4at else pick other vehicle. reliability not favor to p1
lordgamer3
post Jan 3 2025, 07:26 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(hdbjhn2 @ Jan 3 2025, 07:14 PM)
i dun wan geyh gb on my car, noo,, haha.
Anywy, ur advise is hghly noted.

It's just my fear is that, i'm buying used.
Used car, often times, time testing, all can feel good, but internally could be worn out close enough to cause problem later on;
(which i ada doubt if car dealers pndai mask?)
So, if i wanna do repair or early replacement, is parts available for the normal auto? That's why i'm puzzled now.
For Cvt, i saw got lots of repairs shops nowdays.
The cost for Cvt full overhaul, i can bear also, but will it worthy? This is another question lol.
Is there such restoration shop for normal auto?

So, like u said, choice is mine but, in process. Analysing, hehe.
CVT frequent oil change interval compared to AT. Any car with high mileage subject to wear but CVT repairs rule of thumb generally more expensive and complicated.

Fuel efficiency cvt better but AT can hold up to abuse more than cvt. If you drive gentle gentle buy cvt ok la. To the idiot who say AT ghey. Ask the fellow launch his cvt repeatedly against AT see who kaput first.

ktek
post Jan 3 2025, 07:38 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,878 posts

AT gheyness save u moneys. jimat byk way to go bro
TShdbjhn2
post Jan 3 2025, 08:51 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Jan 3 2025, 07:22 AM)
I thrash the Saga BLM 4at, it went through a few autocross and touge.
A few with and without oil cooler, with proton atf and with redline d4 atf.
It survived till I swap for manual haha.

BLM/FL = Mitsubishi 4at
VVT = Hyundai & Aisin 4at

Any gearbox don't like heat. That's it.
Good quality oil & cooling is important.
Once the oil have burnt smell. BE ON YOUR TOES.
The flx?
also mitsu?
Is there anywhere i can know about the gb?
Any other car it's being used mybe,,
TShdbjhn2
post Jan 3 2025, 08:53 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(Acoen @ Jan 3 2025, 08:00 AM)
Suggest go for saga 4AT version launced in 2019 onwards
Can i know the reasons?

TShdbjhn2
post Jan 3 2025, 08:55 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jan 3 2025, 10:07 AM)
FYI 1996 Wira Sedan 1.6(A)
BTW, he also changed the ATF filter every 40k also.
This also many mechanic will not do if no tell, but actually is quite easy for Wira gearbox as the filter is below it.
Wow. the exact car.
Just to ask, still have the car?
any chance for sale,, haha.
Apart from the gb and lack of safety(no airbag or crash prove),
i loved that car compared to any new cars.
From it's feel, handling feels, the driving dynamics is smthing just really so nice.

0.0162sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th January 2025 - 02:49 PM