X70 1.8 TGDI [ 3 ] ** [13.64%]
Total Votes: 22
Guests cannot vote 

TStyj91
post Jan 2 2025, 10:29 PM, updated a long time ago

40 posts

Hi Sifus and seniors,

I am hoping to get a USED SUV at the budget of <80k.

It is a hard choice for me as my budget is really tight. I am considering X70 because at this price range the age of car is lesser compare to the other 2 cars. Apologies as I am not considering continental cars including Subaru due to my shallow pocket.

My main usage:
1. Mostly travelling in town driving to work, ~20km daily, with slight part of the road with rough terrain (non-tar and potholes)
2. Weekends to outstations - hilly roads but proper

My concern:
1. Power
2. Handling
3. FC
4. Cost of maintenance
5. Spare parts availability

I know I am asking too much. I could not come up to a final decision yet so hope you guys can advise / shoot me.

scorgio
post Jan 2 2025, 11:50 PM

4,631 posts

Subaru Forester SJ 2017 is less than RM50k now.

Most of the mechanicals carried over to the SK.

Value for money. Handling & cost of maintenance confirm better than the 3 u're considering.
acbc
post Jan 2 2025, 11:58 PM

8,828 posts

Soft AWD won't past long.

U need a ladder frame SUV like Pajero Sport or Fortuner or similar. These full blood SUVs can take punishment from bad roads. Ask any Sabahan or Sarawakian.
littlefire
post Jan 3 2025, 10:59 AM

2,486 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Jan 3 2025, 12:50 AM)
Subaru Forester SJ 2017 is less than RM50k now.

Most of the mechanicals carried over to the SK.

Value for money. Handling & cost of maintenance confirm better than the 3 u're considering.
Agree, hilly roads <- this is the best road condition which Subaru AWD shine out most of the competition
littlefire
post Jan 3 2025, 11:02 AM

2,486 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 3 2025, 12:58 AM)
Soft AWD won't past long.

U need a ladder frame SUV like Pajero Sport or Fortuner or similar. These full blood SUVs can take punishment from bad roads. Ask any Sabahan or Sarawakian.
Can take punishment, but comfort & handling really is downside when compare to modern SUV.
Unless TS really travel bad road condition a lot of times.
zuozi
post Jan 3 2025, 11:09 AM

1,201 posts

find those used 80 series land cruiser not prado series is the only vehicle can take all the abuse.

Modern vehicle nowadays where got can take abuse? just slightly langgar bumped here and there bumpers fall here and there .
ktek
post Jan 3 2025, 07:15 PM

拼拼拼多啦
12,878 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jan 3 2025, 11:09 AM)
find those used 80 series land cruiser not prado series is the only vehicle can take all the abuse.

Modern vehicle nowadays where got can take abuse? just slightly langgar bumped here and there bumpers fall here and there .
wheel axle pun can snap out of sudden.
zuozi
post Jan 3 2025, 08:29 PM

1,201 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 3 2025, 07:15 PM)
wheel axle pun can snap out of sudden.
Lol
littlefire
post Jan 6 2025, 02:29 PM

2,486 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ Jan 3 2025, 09:29 PM)
Lol
Cannot name the "fruit" name brand, later kena sue.. laugh.gif
Jason
post Jan 10 2025, 02:21 AM

6,037 posts

QUOTE(tyj91 @ Jan 2 2025, 10:29 PM)
Hi Sifus and seniors,

I am hoping to get a USED SUV at the budget of <80k.

It is a hard choice for me as my budget is really tight. I am considering X70 because at this price range the age of car is lesser compare to the other 2 cars. Apologies as I am not considering continental cars including Subaru due to my shallow pocket.

My main usage:
1. Mostly travelling in town driving to work, ~20km daily, with slight part of the road with rough terrain (non-tar and potholes)
2. Weekends to outstations - hilly roads but proper

My concern:
1. Power
2. Handling
3. FC
4. Cost of maintenance
5. Spare parts availability

I know I am asking too much. I could not come up to a final decision yet so hope you guys can advise / shoot me.

1 and 3 is mutually exclusive. Which one you want? No you cannot have both.

2. SUV talk about handling wtf. Mazda lo

4 x70 don’t talk about cost, parts also don’t have.

Power Honda, handling Mazda, you stupid then go buy x70 over Honda and Mazda.

You want even cheaper and 7 seats get the X-Trail.

Non tar and potholes means can’t go fast, don’t need power. Get the Mazda and chill.
4WD_er
post Jan 10 2025, 08:57 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 10 2025, 02:21 AM)
1 and 3 is mutually exclusive. Which one you want? No you cannot have both.

2. SUV talk about handling wtf. Mazda lo

4 x70 don’t talk about cost, parts also don’t have.

Power Honda, handling Mazda, you stupid then go buy x70 over Honda and Mazda.

You want even cheaper and 7 seats get the X-Trail.

Non tar and potholes means can’t go fast, don’t need power. Get the Mazda and chill.
Not exactly in the case of Diesel SUV, but there aren't too many in the market to choose from. Then the non-subsidised diesel price is discouraging for many too.

However, in longer term if TS is looking at better driving pleasure, less fuel bill and TS also not subject to petrol subsidy when the new mechanism is announced, then can consider a diesel SUV.

My suggestion would be Kia Sportage 2019, FWD with 8 speed AT, this particular car has no DPF and unfortunately not much ADAS features.

I could do consistently 12-14km/L for my previous 7 seats diesel SUV, for my new ride, I can do consistently 15km/L also a 7 seats diesel SUV. Best I achieved when I drove into SG last week, on AYE-MCE-ECP I clocked in 23km/L (my best record for a 30km stretch) as I had to follow the speed limit there, their road surface is super smooth and deliver nice FC.

This post has been edited by 4WD_er: Jan 10 2025, 09:00 AM
Jason
post Jan 10 2025, 01:38 PM

6,037 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ Jan 10 2025, 08:57 AM)
Not exactly in the case of Diesel SUV, but there aren't too many in the market to choose from.  Then the non-subsidised diesel price is discouraging for many too.

However, in longer term if TS is looking at better driving pleasure, less fuel bill and TS also not subject to petrol subsidy when the new mechanism is announced, then can consider a diesel SUV.

My suggestion would be Kia Sportage 2019, FWD with 8 speed AT, this particular car has no DPF and unfortunately not much ADAS features.

I could do consistently 12-14km/L for my previous 7 seats diesel SUV, for my new ride, I can do consistently 15km/L also a 7 seats diesel SUV.  Best I achieved when I drove into SG last week, on AYE-MCE-ECP I clocked in 23km/L (my best record for a 30km stretch) as I had to follow the speed limit there, their road surface is super smooth and deliver nice FC.
You answered yourself. Non subsidized diesel, fuel consumption maybe efficient but ringgit per km not very, which is what TS is asking. Also he only travel 20km daily, which means 10km each way. The engine not even warmed up, sure no DPF but thanks for the unburned hydrocarbons to pollute the environment AND you don’t see any fuel efficiency as well. So again, dumb choice for his use case.

Korean parts cost and availability, won’t be as good as the Japanese. Especially since this model not sold in volumes like the H&M.

Diesel good choice for long distances and high mileages. Go mamak inside taman pakai diesel for what.
4WD_er
post Jan 10 2025, 02:15 PM

536 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 10 2025, 01:38 PM)
You answered yourself. Non subsidized diesel, fuel consumption maybe efficient but ringgit per km not very, which is what TS is asking. Also he only travel 20km daily, which means 10km each way. The engine not even warmed up, sure no DPF but thanks for the unburned hydrocarbons to pollute the environment AND you don’t see any fuel efficiency as well. So again, dumb choice for his use case.

Korean parts cost and availability, won’t be as good as the Japanese. Especially since this model not sold in volumes like the H&M.

Diesel good choice for long distances and high mileages. Go mamak inside taman pakai diesel for what.
I was meant to answer your statement on point 1 and 3 are mutually exclusive, that no SUV is fuel saving. And just info for TS.

You were also right that in TS case of daily driving of 20km, diesel SUV does not make any sense. In fact any SUV for that kind of usage is also unnecessary. a MYVI can do such a good job.

0.0407sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th January 2025 - 02:19 PM