Oil & Gas Careers V14 - Upstream & Downstream, Year 2025, Petronas ggwp? Or not? 😔
ben3003
Apr 1 2025, 03:43 PM
Hi, anyone worked with McDermott specifically in Qatar? Mind to share what is the package like(onboarding, relocation allowances, bonus etc). I passed their interview and the manager said waiting client approval. Hopefully all goes well.
ben3003
Apr 7 2025, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(MEngineer @ Apr 4 2025, 07:23 PM) Maybe you can share what position, your experience level etc. Then folks can help you with better quality answers. The position is Senior Commissioning Engineer, my experience also mechanical commissioning engineer now working for BSP under manpower supply. Wanna know whoever worked in middle east esp Qatar can share some experience. Wanna know how is the working environment in McDermott also Thanks! This post has been edited by ben3003: Apr 7 2025, 07:52 PM
ben3003
Apr 16 2025, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 7 2025, 07:52 PM) The position is Senior Commissioning Engineer, my experience also mechanical commissioning engineer now working for BSP under manpower supply. Wanna know whoever worked in middle east esp Qatar can share some experience. Wanna know how is the working environment in McDermott also Thanks! Nobody ever work with McDermott before ka? Really would love to hear from you guys.. or experience working in Qatar also can share. Today just attended interview with client NOC. Hopefully all goes well.
ben3003
Apr 17 2025, 08:14 AM
QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Apr 17 2025, 07:56 AM) Many...mostly are indians.. Qatar I have never worked before.... How is your understanding of offshore platforms, T&I? i see.. my experience is mechanical commissioning and start up of greenfield or brownfield projects, wellhead platform, pumps etc. based on my interview with NOC, seems like is for Ruya Field develepment project. This post has been edited by ben3003: Apr 17 2025, 08:17 AM
ben3003
Apr 17 2025, 12:03 PM
QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Apr 17 2025, 11:59 AM) You are joining NOC or McDermott qatar? McDermott but client is NOC. went thru mcdermott interview and they submit for client approval, Subsequently NOC called for interview probably they need to also screen through candidate. NOC side mostly like just to check if i really can explain all the work they expect me to do. from the interview sounds positive but finger crossed, no see offer/confirmation letter means not yet confirm lol. This post has been edited by ben3003: Apr 17 2025, 12:04 PM
ben3003
Apr 17 2025, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Apr 17 2025, 12:10 PM) Should be OK - NOC is a good paymaster huhu but not for your case since under Mcd. there are few malaysian locals based in Korea, India, Oman for their ongoing EPCC projects (Offshore) haha too bad not NOC, definitely client side sure damn high pay. but what mcdermott verbally offered is better than what im getting in Brunei so bersyukur lah. U mean McDermott Qatar? would really love to know how is their working environment, benefits, work life balance stuff etc. If i join them i will be also outstation at McDermott china for the fabrication. seems like this Ruya field development is damn big project. This post has been edited by ben3003: Apr 17 2025, 12:23 PM
ben3003
Apr 29 2025, 03:28 PM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 17 2025, 12:22 PM) haha too bad not NOC, definitely client side sure damn high pay. but what mcdermott verbally offered is better than what im getting in Brunei so bersyukur lah. U mean McDermott Qatar? would really love to know how is their working environment, benefits, work life balance stuff etc. If i join them i will be also outstation at McDermott china for the fabrication. seems like this Ruya field development is damn big project. Update on my job: manage to get official letter from McDermott Qatar. around 30% more than my current offer. quite anxious but should be good experience to be able to work in Qatar. now hopefully medical visa all pass then able to go over and share my experience here. if there are any ppl here working in Qatar do hola me ya. good to be able to meet fellow Malaysian outside
ben3003
May 8 2025, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(CertifiedHomphobe @ May 5 2025, 10:48 PM) Wahhhh Congratulations!!!!! Share tips! Hope to be able to go MENA/META too one day , too bad not enough experience and in the technical-commercial line..... sigh looking gloomy nowadays , local industry slowing down and looks like its halting to a stop  anyways just going to keep grinding in this industry that I love . Posts like these gives me hope to not give up yet. they approached me in the first place actually. probably i applied for some position like few years back. My experience is that, once u hit like 10years+ experience in the field, ppl may start looking for u here and there. im getting like email and message to ask me to submit CV for review, but whether you get shortlisted is another story, and to excel in interview is another story as well. ME is booming now, all the projects are in ME, malaysia there are projects here and there but maybe 2030 onwards things gonna decline. It will be good to work on gas related projects, oil demand could peak but gas is irreplaceable due to power generation and is the cleanest fossil fuel as transition to renewable energy.
ben3003
Jun 13 2025, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(zuhairabakar @ Jun 13 2025, 06:57 PM) ME or staying in NOC. What say you? ME is better prospect? Local is good. Closer to family  get out of comfort zone.
ben3003
Jun 25 2025, 03:22 AM
QUOTE(langstrasse @ Jun 24 2025, 04:29 AM) Reading news about Iranian missiles over Qatar, anyone based there right now can share what's the impact to work ? 1 day WFH, then Return to normal. Heard from my friend they freeze newcomer reporting duty for now.
ben3003
Jul 3 2025, 01:46 AM
QUOTE(lock_82 @ Jun 30 2025, 09:41 PM) Didnt Wood just won some extension contract in Brunei? Jon security is scarce these days. not extension but new brownfield epc contract joint venture with local company. Much smaller scale
ben3003
Jul 29 2025, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(dragonsuy @ Jul 29 2025, 05:47 PM) anyone have experience interview with Qatar Energy? whats the expected salary range for senior engineer? I know someone offered 1200riyal/day. Day rate contract Day rate only count day u work. This post has been edited by ben3003: Jul 29 2025, 07:45 PM
ben3003
Jul 30 2025, 02:22 AM
Wanna ask, is Doha a better place or UAE? Im looking that Qatar is mainly gas producing which have a better future compare to majority oil producing UAE. Heard from colleagues that Dubai transportation toll and traffic is nightmare(heavy jam). If given a better offer and package, will u guys move from Doha to UAE?
They said work life more balance in UAE compare to Doha, seems like Doha everybody is chasing for work.
This post has been edited by ben3003: Jul 30 2025, 02:22 AM
ben3003
Aug 24 2025, 02:59 PM
Recently quite a few Malaysians joining McDermott Qatar. I heard this is due to restriction placed on whole Qatar for South Asian nationality on Work Permit allocation.
my manager told me even Malaysian with Indian name will be hard to get permit approved as well.
ben3003
Aug 25 2025, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(lock_82 @ Aug 25 2025, 11:51 PM) I heard this as well. It is prudent to diversify their expat nationalities instead of just relying on India only. DEI? I think more than 70% of the country immigrant is of indian ethnicity. Not being racist but everyone should have equal opportunity. Qatari doesnt take up job as contractor anyway
ben3003
Oct 28 2025, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Oct 28 2025, 01:48 PM) yes..mostly EPCIC / Onshore EPCC projects are losing money huhuh The thing is they quoted too low during bidding lol.