Oil & Gas Careers V14 - Upstream & Downstream, Year 2025, Petronas ggwp? Or not? 😔

lock_82
post Jun 25 2025, 02:21 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(kockroach2 @ Jun 23 2025, 01:33 PM)
Can be Total, SBM, or even the Chinese yard. Haha
True, Technip for topside, SBM for vessel, while fabrication can happen in china yards. Of course Total, if they need a company rep locally..

Congrat.. huge project..
lock_82
post Jun 30 2025, 09:41 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ZZMsia @ Jun 30 2025, 10:01 AM)
Wood group closed down their office in KL / 1 big division doing Engineering (previously FW)
Didnt Wood just won some extension contract in Brunei?
Jon security is scarce these days.
lock_82
post Jul 30 2025, 03:41 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jul 30 2025, 02:22 AM)
Wanna ask, is Doha a better place or UAE? Im looking that Qatar is mainly gas producing which have a better future compare to majority oil producing UAE. Heard from colleagues that Dubai transportation toll and traffic is nightmare(heavy jam). If given a better offer and package, will u guys move from Doha to UAE?

They said work life more balance in UAE compare to Doha, seems like Doha everybody is chasing for work.
I think it will be hard to generalize and give a good pro n con between 2 different cities. Better to compare the specific job role or employer if you ask me. I have friends working in both places and generally good feedback especially compared to Malaysia. UAE will be more expensive, more open and more companies to work for (it depends you working for operators or EPCs as well). in QE, there is only 3 upstream operating companies now if not mistaken..

lock_82
post Aug 6 2025, 07:37 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(CertifiedHomphobe @ Aug 6 2025, 12:33 AM)
M ghost town no chance for any global fpso projects.

wind says parent company gonna give a handout (fpso) due to having the only dry dock whistling.gif

something something buy fpso fruit

bumi gonna suffer the most here .
announcement by end of the year? bagus lar.. Msian need projects..
end up all Msian suffer also..
lock_82
post Aug 11 2025, 07:00 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 11 2025, 09:04 AM)
Upstream says 4 companies are bidding for Kikeh. Which are these?
I think I saw from LI, should be
MISC
Sharpoorji
HBA
sub of Yinson?

lock_82
post Aug 16 2025, 01:20 PM

535 posts

Macam default MISC.saja.. seen hiring recently
lock_82
post Aug 16 2025, 03:48 PM

535 posts

GLC mar..
If good, would have been conpeting with Seatrium..
lock_82
post Aug 22 2025, 03:09 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(dragonsuy @ Aug 19 2025, 11:12 PM)
anyone working at Totalenergies Malaysia? can give review if good place to work? i dunno that many people from such company..
ex SapuraOMV folks.. hard to review work place.. usually MNC wont be too bad in term of general benefit and all.
lock_82
post Aug 25 2025, 11:51 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 24 2025, 02:59 PM)
Recently quite a few Malaysians joining McDermott Qatar. I heard this is due to restriction placed on whole Qatar for South Asian nationality on Work Permit allocation.

my manager told me even Malaysian with Indian name will be hard to get permit approved as well.
I heard this as well. It is prudent to diversify their expat nationalities instead of just relying on India only. DEI?
lock_82
post Sep 21 2025, 09:13 PM

535 posts

these days most has back to office, except few.. Shell, SBM.. who are still enjoying 2days of WFH..
lock_82
post Sep 29 2025, 04:49 PM

535 posts

Shell recently finished Rosmari but it isnt such a big development.

Saw T7 alposted hiring for FPSO/FPU pmt. Anyone knows what project?
lock_82
post Oct 7 2025, 06:29 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(NewBodOnTheBlock @ Oct 6 2025, 02:51 PM)
Yinson management stand by their model of having three FPSO jobs on the go at the time. Last I heard was that they were optimistic re Tangkulo
Tangkulo still in FEED kan? Still some time before the go ahead .
lock_82
post Oct 9 2025, 06:19 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(NewBodOnTheBlock @ Oct 8 2025, 04:28 PM)
Updated - a colleague said he thinks both Yinson and Bumi Armada have been issued with limited notices to proceed on Tangkulo FPSO
Should be competitive FEED + bidding..

This post has been edited by lock_82: Oct 9 2025, 06:19 PM
lock_82
post Oct 24 2025, 07:36 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(CertifiedHomphobe @ Oct 23 2025, 06:06 PM)
petrofac terminated from 2GW programme

major restructuring as well.

Really pity all those that just joined from PET and Sapura . One crisis to another......
Gosh this is big news.. thought MMHE has one platform to be fabrication.. wondering if that changes now.
lock_82
post Oct 25 2025, 10:17 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(CertifiedHomphobe @ Oct 24 2025, 10:47 AM)
2 Sister Platforms IJVA and NW1

MMHE in shock but prayers answered la hahaha.... Still, uncertainty is a big topic now

Petrofac has been a horrible maincon to them.

Either ways Petrofac just did a round of mass hirings for the programme in MMHE . Feels bad man
A friend's friend got hired, suppose to onboard soon.. heard they were paying very attractive package but heck it goes up smoke now.
lock_82
post Oct 25 2025, 10:18 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(CertifiedHomphobe @ Oct 24 2025, 10:47 AM)
2 Sister Platforms IJVA and NW1

MMHE in shock but prayers answered la hahaha.... Still, uncertainty is a big topic now

Petrofac has been a horrible maincon to them.

Either ways Petrofac just did a round of mass hirings for the programme in MMHE . Feels bad man
Do you think whoever taking over will maintain MMHE as subcon?
lock_82
post Oct 26 2025, 12:55 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(CertifiedHomphobe @ Oct 25 2025, 10:25 PM)
The wind says L&T whistling.gif

you heard here first
MMHE works? Damn.. india takes everything? Sad day for Msians
lock_82
post Oct 27 2025, 07:35 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(merajey @ Oct 26 2025, 06:40 PM)
Can L&T really deliver? I bet they will have hiccup in the future. They already have some big portfolio in hand
Can subcon to others.. no issue. Haha.. it is good time for L&T to build that portfolio.

L&T and COOEC been Asia tiger in EPC these days.
lock_82
post Oct 27 2025, 07:36 AM

535 posts

QUOTE(Helpmeplis @ Oct 27 2025, 04:08 AM)
The Monsoon says Seatrium whistling.gif

you heard it here first
Since Seatrium is current EPC for same project, i suspect likely Seatrium will get some if not all of Petrofac scope
lock_82
post Oct 27 2025, 09:30 PM

535 posts

EPC is tough business...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0398sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:48 PM