Carousell, Question

TShellfried
post Dec 28 2024, 10:36 AM, updated 12 months ago

436 posts

How safe is it buying on the Carousell app? I am looking at an item priced at 6K so wanted to hear from others about their experience.
ryansxs
post Dec 28 2024, 10:38 AM

2,378 posts

QUOTE(hellfried @ Dec 28 2024, 10:36 AM)
How safe is it buying on the Carousell app? I am looking at an item priced at 6K so wanted to hear from others about their experience.
Always COD.

During COD, check the item thoroughly.
dylan_chng
post Dec 28 2024, 10:46 AM

693 posts

In addition to cash on delivery (COD), can opt for Carousell Buy feature (formerly known as Carousell Protection) which should support COD. Carousell holds the money between buyer and seller in case of dispute.

giftfre
post Dec 28 2024, 10:46 AM

Control Macho
683 posts

Yes always COD
TShellfried
post Dec 28 2024, 11:00 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(dylan_chng @ Dec 28 2024, 10:46 AM)
In addition to cash on delivery (COD), can opt for Carousell Buy feature (formerly known as Carousell Protection) which should support COD. Carousell holds the money between buyer and seller in case of dispute.
Well the said item has Buyer's protection apparently.
KcX35
post Dec 28 2024, 11:21 AM

ㄨㄨ
2,364 posts

check the seller's rating & review as well
evangelion
post Dec 28 2024, 12:15 PM

The Ancient Ones
1,057 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Dec 28 2024, 10:38 AM)
Always COD.

During COD, check the item thoroughly.
QUOTE(dylan_chng @ Dec 28 2024, 10:46 AM)
QUOTE(giftfre @ Dec 28 2024, 10:46 AM)
Yes always COD
QUOTE(KcX35 @ Dec 28 2024, 11:21 AM)
check the seller's rating & review as well
I thought with “buyers protect”, it will be safe for delivery? No?

This post has been edited by evangelion: Dec 28 2024, 12:15 PM
Chanwsan
post Dec 28 2024, 12:15 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

COD or get seller to activate carousell protection if must postage
gashout
post Dec 28 2024, 12:26 PM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

Maybe let us know what you intend to buy so we can advice more specific for you.

Buying a 6k leather chair is different from a 6k handphoke or a 6k 3rd hand car..
ycs
post Dec 28 2024, 12:56 PM

4,232 posts

if no COD, i'll skip it
GTA5
post Dec 28 2024, 01:03 PM

1,412 posts

If you are the buyer, COD

If you are the seller, once the fella paid, then shkhkd be ok
jack2
post Dec 28 2024, 01:09 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Why Carousell has a lot of scammers? And nothing is done to avoid that by the platform until now?
bigduck
post Dec 28 2024, 01:19 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(evangelion @ Dec 28 2024, 12:15 PM)
i never buy/sell by mail even with 'buyers protection'

the other party always looks damn sus

This post has been edited by bigduck: Dec 28 2024, 01:19 PM
KenM
post Dec 28 2024, 01:19 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Dec 28 2024, 12:09 PM)
Why Carousell has a lot of scammers? And nothing is done to avoid that by the platform until now?
all online platforms have their good and bad…personally carousell is reasonably ok… read reviews ( though not necessarily true).. best option is to meet, check and pay/collect…
for vehicles, i have yet to find a solution… but for a few hundred ringgit purchase, 90% are genuine
KcX35
post Dec 28 2024, 01:33 PM

ㄨㄨ
2,364 posts

QUOTE(evangelion @ Dec 28 2024, 12:15 PM)
yes but the majority still prefer COD cause it is faster
HumanExtinction
post Dec 28 2024, 01:51 PM

364 posts

I rarely cod, usually like to postage due to privacy issue.. but been on carousell for years selling and buying so far no issue at all... just need to check reviews of each individual
Chrix
post Dec 28 2024, 02:09 PM

1,187 posts

It is just a platform to advertise (ignoring their payment feature)

Its up to person to perform due diligence when dealing with another human.

I buy tens of thousands ringgit price things in FB, again its just a advert, thereafter is all your own.
Sha91
post Dec 28 2024, 04:09 PM

236 posts

Either COD or please buy via Carousell protection for postage. If you would like to save and take risk, look at the reviews. Have doubt if there are too many numbers in their username. Click on the reviewers profile, and look at their reviews as well.

I sometimes DM the buyers just to be sure especially for thousands transaction.
Thebestscammer
post Dec 28 2024, 04:18 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(HumanExtinction @ Dec 28 2024, 01:51 PM)
I rarely cod, usually like to postage due to privacy issue.. but been on carousell for years selling and buying so far no issue at all... just need to check reviews of each individual
how is postage providing more privacy? you need to put a return address which is ur address and ur name in writing and phone number also
cod just show up at a public place and be done with it

to OP
for high item like 6k, if its electronic their usually have an official shop to purchase from, if its car parts or wtv then idk la but for 2nd hand electronics 6k might as well go buy from official shop
but cod is the best method, go there, test all you need then exchange money then sau pei and dont bother the seller

i recently sold a relatively high priced item, did it via cod and the guy insist on cash when i want bank in, maybe he also dont want reveal name or something then we just deal, i didnt check if each note is real or not so i might be fucked lol
HumanExtinction
post Dec 28 2024, 04:24 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Thebestscammer @ Dec 28 2024, 04:18 PM)
how is postage providing more privacy? you need to put a return address which is ur address and ur name in writing and phone number also
cod just show up at a public place and be done with it

to OP
for high item like 6k, if its electronic their usually have an official shop to purchase from, if its car parts or wtv then idk la but for 2nd hand electronics 6k might as well go buy from official shop
but cod is the best method, go there, test all you need then exchange money then sau pei and dont bother the seller

i recently sold a relatively high priced item, did it via cod and the guy insist on cash when i want bank in, maybe he also dont want reveal name or something then we just deal, i didnt check if each note is real or not so i might be fucked lol
face problem

0.0182sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:26 PM